We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hanselewirt
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Das Ruebezahl(Schwangau)
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Landhotel Huberhof(Schwangau)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maximilian(Schwangau)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Helmerhof(Schwangau)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
41
56
15
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
56
15
3
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were visiting the area and the castles and found this hotel on booking.com and got quite a good deal.
The welcome was friendly and the rooms were comfortable and very clean.
They have a roof top restaurant / bar with great views of the castle. The food was excellent - despite the huge portions.
We had a room over the front door and there were street cleaners/rubbish removal early and they are noisy....
The only let down was the internet. You need to sign in and the provider sends a text with a pass number to your mobile... if you don't have a mobile that works in German you can't get online....
I would definitely recommend it if you are exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Nestled beneath Neuschwanstein castle, the hotel hanselewirt was quaint and quintessential German. Cows outside outside your front door and castle views from your window!! The food was very good and service excellent!! Expect a few locals in the restaurant. Walking distance to the castle, great spot to launch your castle tours

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The room has a great view of Neuschwanstein castle. Room is large with lots of windows. Excellent internet service. Beds are comfortable. The staff has been great. Dinner was such a pleasant surprise. You have to try to cheese dumplings with grilled onions and any salad with the sour cherry dressing. Be AWARE, you will be served too much very good food. We feel very lucky to have found this hotel. Our thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Room 3 is large upstairs room with excellent view of the castle and balcony. Bathroom is very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Everett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here without a reservation and the staff were nice. Our room was very small but served our needs. It snowed the entire time visiting and this didn't affect service in the least. We ate twice in the pub and it was pleasant. Breakfast was typically European though we enjoyed having boiled egg as an option. The shower was tiny and bed was pretty hard but all else met expectations.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsNomadicSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This was one of the best 100 euro hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was large, modern and very clean. This hotel is really secondary to the restaurant below which is large and popular, serving mostly locals. The food excellent and has things different from your usual German food. In September we had fresh cepes [mushrooms]--a special, not on the menu. We ate there both nights and that is something we seldom do. The castles are a five minute drive away and the Wies church is 20 kms. We loved it and wanted to stay another day but the hotel was booked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews