We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and all the good things on top of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Westerhof Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tegernsee
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“View and all the good things on top of it”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You can't beat the view. We've been there in April, kind of in a middle of seasons, but it was beautiful even then. Perfect access to hiking (including the hike to brewery in the city downtown :)). Breakfast on a terrace is a must. Plus extremely, extremely helpful staff - made our stay really beautiful. Oh, and back t the view - even from sauna it is absolutely great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renatmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    35
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
77
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is such a lovely hotel. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which made our stay completely perfect. However even with a less glamorous room this hotel would be worth the 5* review.

The views are amazing and the gardens are beautiful. The staff are really helpful and friendly. They also speak English fluently which helps if you're an ignorant Englishman with
only limited German phrases.

The breakfast offers a good range of options, including plenty for veggies, and they have very good coffee.

It's a long way up the mountain and the walk isn't for the faint hearted but they do offer a shuttle service from the station.

We'll definitely be going back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hard_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guests,

thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay and thank you for your wonderful words. To say that “you loved it” means that you really must have enjoyed your stay at the "Hotel Der Westerhof” and it is such a lovely sentiment.

I am so glad, we were able to make you feel so comfortable. Indeed, with our shuttle service, we are trying to shorten distances, but “amazing views and beautiful gardens” are not so easy to find at the station or at other places further down.

I am deeply humbled by your enthusiasm on behalf of our staff members.

Thank you again and I am happy to read that you will definitely be coming back for a visit.
We hope to see you again pretty soon.

Warm regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwetzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

i was there in a business meeting, rooms and catering were just great. with the calm, convenient location and the great views over Tegernsee this is a must be location for offsite meetings. i had a large room,which actually was a suite with a living room and a bedroom and a bath.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlPopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. So happy to have exceeded all your expectations during your stay and your business meeting with us.
Looking forward to welcome you back pretty soon and provide a memorable, phenomenal stay again.

Yours sincerely
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It has an amazing look of Tegernsee. Even though getting there is a bit complicated, you have to be careful in the road.

Service is great! Breakfast is totally worth it, for other meals try to go somewhere else cause their meals are expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zairux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for choosing the Hotel Der Westerhof during your stay in Tegernsee and we appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your experience.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the amazing look over the wonderful lake.

Looking forward seeing you again when you are back in the area.

Kind regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel itself is set up in the hillside with splendid views over Tegernsee. Our room was very comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the view. The downside was being told by reception that the restaurant was fully booked even though we had arrived early to check in? He advised us to eat at the restaurant down the road (200 metres away). When I checked the prices of the restaurant, I was glad we had to eat elsewhere, €50 a head without any drinks!

Another plus is the breakfast buffet, well stocked and plenty of variety.

Overall a nice place to stay but their dinner menu is ridiculously priced and poorly catered for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is in a stunning location and has a lovely person feel

I had a stunning view from my room and felt as the staff all enjoyed working here and nothing was a problem for them.

Even had someone come and dig my car out the morning after heavy snow, this just happened didn't have to struggle or ask.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ME_aw_165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your wonderful review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location 180 meters high above Lake Tegernsee.

We really appreciate the positive comments on behalf of the hotel staff.
Personality and individuality in guest service is our utmost goal, even during heavy snowfalls.

Maybe there is a chance to return in Summer and you´ll be thrilled again by the beautiful landscape around the hotel.

Thanks a lot and looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Hotel Der Westerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

I have nothing to complain about this hotel and can only recommend to stay here. It is about one hour drive from Munich, they will also pick upfront the train station. Stayed here several times and will stay again, to relax work go skiing, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgier24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for staying with us once again, for your loyalty and the wonderful review.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Kind regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Hotel Der Westerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegernsee
0.2 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seehotel Luitpold
Seehotel Luitpold
#2 of 9 in Tegernsee
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Leeberghof
Hotel Leeberghof
#4 of 9 in Tegernsee
45 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ledererhof
Hotel Ledererhof
#5 of 9 in Tegernsee
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bachmair Hotel am See
Bachmair Hotel am See
#9 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Westerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Westerhof Hotel

Property: Der Westerhof Hotel
Address: Olaf-Gulbransson-Str. 19, 83684 Tegernsee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Tegernsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tegernsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Westerhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Westerhof, formerly part of the Tegernsee monastery, is set in a sunny location in the traditional Tegernsee Tal valley approx. 180m above the lake. The old Bavarian farmhouse hosts a family-run hotel with tastefully equipped rooms. Sunbathing terrace in the park, south-facing balconies with stunning views of the Alpine foothills and the valley. Numerous hiking trails and ski slopes nearby. A playground for your kids, library and conference rooms with internet access also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Der Westerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing