We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Splendid Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Trafalgar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Splendid Hideaway”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Guido & Annette are delightful and engaging hosts, genuinely warm and with a taste for the better things in life. They have created a luxury guest lodge with an 'edge', underpinned with designer chic. Luxury yes but a contemporary luxury, not a deep sumptuous luxury. They are ably supported by Taylor and Thys. We spent 5 lovely nights in this idyllic part of the world surrounded by banana and cane plantations and endless beaches. Thys as Chef excelled himself with a variety of dishes, cooked to perfection. Committed to using fresh produce, a discussion early in the day will result in something special being prepared for that evening. This in the main works well although it cannot really substitute for an a la Carte selection in a restaurant. The Rooms / Suites are spacious and furnished to a high standard with king size beds although we would have preferred a king size duvet as well as opposed to two singles. The coffee machine was particularly welcome. Each room has its own balcony with glorious views over the Indian Ocean to enjoy over breakfast or whenever. Not a place for the less able, Days At Sea has much to commend it and you would not choose to stay anywhere else in the area if you were in search of a luxury lodge. The lodge is also quite isolated and I would prefer a little more security to be evident.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Judith and Tony- you were lovely guests! Thank you for the good advices and your lovely review. We are always eager to follow well traveled guests' opinion and try to get the best out of it for the Lodge. When we went to Hartford House last Sunday, we discussed the a la carte menu with Jackie Cameron ( one of the top 10 chefs in SA). She is practically doing what we do. They are serving lovely 5 course set menus. They cater for 30 guests plus some from outside, we only have maximum 12. As we are trying to work with market fresh products only, it is impossible to cook an a la carte menu without using frozen and tinned food or you have to throw away all not used products which in my opinion is irresponsible. Most of our guests love to be guided through our world of tastes and love the proposed compositions. You know that we change courses when somebody does not like it. It is always interesting to have competent guests like you and we enjoyed the time you spent with us and Judith's birthday in particular.
Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    7
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
84
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My Best experience of the last 12 months was last weekend at Days at Sea !! What an amazing place, the views, the gardens, the hospitality and the restaurant was an Absolute Michelin 3 Star experience. The 2 days trip turned out to feel like a 2 weeks holiday.
My Compliments to the Staff, management and to the Owners of this great place that I will for sure book again soon !

Ciao from Istanbul....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushara, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for the exellent review. We are very happy that you had a good time. Hopefully we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed for about 5 days to get away and have a relaxed time. Massages were great, food was wonderful and the walk on the beach indeed superb. After two days went to dive at Aliwal Shoal which was a great experience aswell and not too far away. The place is very romantic and was sorry I went on my own because this is a great place for couples especially if you want to go for long walks on a beach were you basically see no one else. Good to gather your thoughts and empty the head. One of the reasons I found it so relaxing. The people there were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful stay and I will defintely come back to this place. South africa is a wonderful country and Days at sea surely one of the gems.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Manager at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
What a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay so much. It was a bit early for the Sardine Run, now they are coming. You see plenty humpback whales at present and our guests are watching them every day from their terraces or our Gazebos. The whole team thanks you so much for your generosity and kind attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We arrived at the Days at Sea to a warm welcome from the staff and a view that takes your breath away. The location is amazing. You wake in the morning to views of the ocean, it's so beautiful. The staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and well taken care of. The main hotel has 4 individually decorated guest suites and we were 4 couples so it was perfect. The gardens are so spectacular as well as the walk to the beach. The hotel has a top stocked wine cellar and that together with a great cook, we really enjoyed our dinners on the terrace as the sun went down. There are 3 fabulously beautiful golf courses close by that offer a challenge, antelopes, monkeys and a view. The owners welcomed us as well and we spent time with us making us feel at home and we enjoyed every minute. We will never forget it and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patzimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushara, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. We are proud and grateful for your kind feed back. You were wonderful guests and the whole team will keep you in good memory. We hope to have you back soon to enjoy our little spot of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

What an amazing hideaway! Days At Sea is one of these unique experiences one always searches for and rarely finds. It's a truly private lodge that offers privacy, hospitality and stimulation of all senses.
We have spent 3 days and nights, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and the never ending noise of the sea. I have slept like a baby - though it's almost a shame not to watch the moon's light play on the waves at night.
The rooms are special, all but standard hotel rooms. Much rather you can sense in every detail the ideas that the owners have brought into that place.
We almost did not want to leave the lodge during the day, but if you decide to do so, you can walk for hours on the beach just in front of the lodge. You you go playing golf. There are dozens of spectacular golf courses just around the corner.
We have been travelling all over South Africa already, but Days At Sea has indeed added an unexpected dimension again. It's a place for pure relaxation - just hang out there and enjoy the scenery and the outstanding food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t-lo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you very much for your gentle review. It was a pleasure for the team to have you at DAYS AT SEA. We hope you could take some inspiration back home and that we stay in good memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinneberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had the most perfect midweek break. 3 days of lying at the pool, eating the super food and enjoying the friendly staff and service. The rooms are unique and each one different with lovely relax areas. We stayed in Inkawu and the morning views over the ocean was bliss. We will for sure be back on our next SA Visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Jasmin, we are very delighted that you enjoyed DAYS AT SEA so much. The staff loved you and your kind generosity. The whole team wants to thank you once again of having been here. Maybe now back in the cold Germany you still are dreaming about your daily beach walks and our Tortilla Espagnola with the Caviar?
You are always welcome with your friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I just have to share my experience of this wonderful seaside paradise with everyone.

Days at Sea is magical and unique property where I spent 4 days in a spacious suite while enjoying spectacular views. I have to mention that the food was excellent with service that was very friendly.

When one sits on the vast terrace which overlooks a "private beach" while listening to a carefully compiled playlist, one can only savor the music, food, wine and concede that this is a special paradise.

An absolute must for anyone in South Africa!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinPaulJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Justin, we were proud having you at our place. Thank you for the very kind words. We heard you had tons of fun and enjoyed the Lounge and the Bar. To hear from you being the Manager of Cape Town's no.1 place is an honor. We hope you keep your promise to come again later this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafalgar
1.1 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#3 of 4 in Port Edward
235 reviews
8.3 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
303 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 25 in Margate
134 reviews
20.3 mi away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days At Sea Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days At Sea Beach Lodge

Property: Days At Sea Beach Lodge
Address: 39 Effingham Parade, Trafalgar 4275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Trafalgar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trafalgar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Days At Sea Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days at Sea. Entrance to a vision. Days At Sea is a place of luxury, privacy and peace. We are proud to have a platinum awarded wine cellar by Diners International, a private French style restaurant as well as a Chill Out Lounge with Cafe Del Mar Music for your sundowner. Days At Sea has been rated 9 to 10 by British Airways Horizon Magazine and is published in the Hideaways Hotels Klocke 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 ,2013,2014 and 2015 as one of the 100 most beautiful hideaway hotels of the world. It is a place full of art and lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Days At Sea Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing