We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, beautiful days at sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Trafalgar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We, two couples, had three wonderful days and nights in days at sea. And while our partners were golfing, we had the chance to get some beauty- treatement and massages- hmmmmmmm, feels like heaven.
Super breakfast, lunch(on our order we got some small dishes) and excellent dinner.
I am vegetarien, they took care!!!! Specials for me - not a problem.

Room Tip: Honeymoon-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Great that you took the time to write this nice review. The whole DAS team is proud and grateful for your support. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Days at Sea in Trafalgar SA !!
The location is great, with a full view of the Ocean from our terrace and to the pool in the garden.
We loved the interior of the rooms and public area's.
Simply beautiful with great staff, a elicious breakfast and superb diner, for sure 5 stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oanejansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is a pleasure to have guests like you who understand the philosophy of Days At Sea. We hope to welcome you again soon. Our team will always try to make your stay unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I spent some days with my mother at this beautiful place and we both enjoyed it so much. The view is fantastico and the food as well. We were happy with the Service also and we found the rooms extraordinairy.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinakenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

The whole team is very happy about your nice words. We heard that you booked again and we all will try to make your stay a wonderful one again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay here. After browsing through many pictures and seeing the 5 star grading we thought this would be the perfect place for us as we enjoy the finer things in life. This lodge did not meet any of our expectations and was disappointing to say the least. We requested an early breakfast at 6 30am on Saturday morning before our game of golf. When we were up and ready to have a bite to eat and head off there was no one to be seen. No breakfast, nothing. For a 5 star lodge this is unacceptable. Please note there was also no apology. If you are looking for a 3 star lodge, then this would be a great option for you. 5 star seekers stay away!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul4325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We are very sorry that you apparently did not enjoy your stay because your breakfast was not prepared in time. You are right: you wanted to have your breakfast at 6.30 am, you left the Lodge though at 6.00 am triggering the alarm. A whole team was ready at 6.10 am to serve the breakfast for you when they found out that you left already. Our assistant manager tried to talk and apologized in the afternoon, but you did not even listen. On the second morning you left the Lodge again early without settling your final invoice and leaving the keys outside in the parking area. By the way: we have a "service button" on our telephone system to call the staff at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This place could e fabulous, but feel in need of a little refurb, the food in the evening was great and the wine list good, however our room was not, we had a fab terrace and view but that was where it ended, the room was damp, humid needed a complete change of furnishing, get rid of the fabrics and bring in shutters and materials that don't react to the humidity. Unfortunately during our stay we had a fitness fanatic in the room above who woke us every morning on the terrace at 6am, am sure if we had brought this matter to the attention of the management they would have done something, but felt they were having enough problems with her without us adding to them!

Loved the ethos of the DAS but you really do need to get some decent beds, my sons beds in the theirs halls of residence at University were better, did mention this on leaving.

All said we had a good time and the views and public areas were excellent, you should think about putting in a lift from the car park, which was a bit tight but I am not a good parker need a very big area!

Give DAS a try just don't expect 5 stars in some aspects, shabby but not chic, great pool deck and pool.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms, and not the one off the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay. We appreciate that you liked the location and the views, the dinners and wines and the "public" areas. Your critical remarks about the rooms will be followed up by ourselves in detail. But I must put some points right. It was never my intention to build a "chic" place. DAS is a 100 year old fisherman's house on the most beautiful spot with breathtaking views. We did not want to change this flair and it should stay what it was. i did not want to build a chic 5 star hotel with a lift and extensive parking, bathrooms like in Ritz Carlton and brand new furniture from the shelf like in normal hotels with all rooms looking the same. We feel really sorry that you did not find what you were looking for and recommend to choose chic places.We do not give us the stars which are not important for us, it is done by a grading council .
DAS should be a place of relaxed holidays where you forget about chic buildings but find something for your soul by art and music, wine and food. Each year we do major renovations in all areas, but we do it our way as designers.
We will test "your" bed personally for a night. It is a custom made Decor Selection bed with a "Superba" mattress. So, we would have liked that you left with a broad smile like +- 800 guests do per year and we feel pity that we could not in your case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I have once again spent a beautiful break enjoying the elegance of this lovely resort.
The attention to detail and the excellent wine selection makes it a pleasure. Combined with all the stunning golf courses in the area, this is one of our favorite stops and were very glad to once again be welcomed as friends and to escape the European Winter !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierrepienaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Please come back soon !
Best regards from the whole team of Days At Sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotels view and location is beautiful and very private. We found the dining room staff very friendly and had exceptional appreciation for small details. . The hotels menu and wine selection is superb. The hotel management was very professional and did do effort to accommodate us.

Despite the plus points we had the following bad experiences;

- Our room allocation was changed without notification or an explanation
- Our suite was spacious but we were disappointed that our bathroom only had an shower no bath
- The floors are not carpeted and paper-thin, we could here all the noise from the rooms on top of us. (Walking, opening and closing of doors, even the sweeping of the cleaning staff!)
- Due to the noise disturbances we needed sleeping tablets to go to bed at night
- We were disappointed to find the hotel allowed children, during our stay we had very active kids that disturbed the ambiance of the resort
- For the duration of our stay the pool was green and not usable
- We found the parking very restrictive and would imagine large SUV’s would not find it practical
- The hotel needs general maintenance and looks tired. (Our bed was broken and we had issues with our doors lock, inter-leading doorway in our room was covered with a sheet!)

We unfortunately were so disappointed with the hotel that we checked out half-way into our stay. The 5 star grading did not feel justified with the poor bathroom and parking arrangements. Hopefully our experience was an isolated case and I am sure guest would under different circumstances find the establishment appropriate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aydonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your review and for describing the Lodge's view and location so nicely. It is also good to hear that you loved the dining experience at Days At Sea.
Regarding your critic points let me please make some remarks. DAS does not accept children under the age of 14 years of age. The guests who stayed above you were 14 and 18 years old. You could have told the management about any issues and we would have been happy to sort this out for you.
Our bathrooms have no baths but showers. It is not mentioned on our website that there are any baths?
All floors are done with hand-painted screed in watercolors and for hygienic reasons we find carpets not suitable for a hotel on the beach.
We will be at DAS shortly to check the maintenance point by point which does not mean that we change the design. Days At Sea is basically a100 year old fisherman's house which was converted into the Lodge. My idea was to keep the driftwood look in combination with clear modern lines. The proposal you made to our manager to varnish the wood for maintenance reasons is unfortunately not a proposal that works for us. We are sanding the whole balau wood twice a year by hand to keep it as light grey as it is.
Our pool is white and the light reflection gives it a turquoise green color which you can even see on the professional photos and videos of our website. We run the pool at a low chlorine level to avoid eye and skin irritation and the water was treated on the same day. To describe it as unusable is not correct. Top Billing filmed the Lodge shortly before with Olympic swimmer Charl Crous in our pool. He loved it :-)
Nobody ever complained about the parking situation. All guest can park inside and our managers are happy to park your car if you feel not able to park yourself. The property is on a very steep location which we cannot change. So of course the space is limited by nature.
There is nothing we could find wrong with your bed which is not even a year old and custom made. It would have been helpful to show us the problem while you were at the Lodge.
Our doors have german Haefele locks which are working electronically and with tags instead of keys. Apparently the one door lock did not work and we will have to send it to JHB for repair, but especially this room has another entrance door just 2 m away, so I do not understand your problem.
We thank you nonetheless for your first review on this platform.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafalgar
1.1 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
245 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nakai Beach Homestay
Nakai Beach Homestay
#1 of 2 in Trafalgar
2 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albatross Guesthouse
Albatross Guesthouse
#10 of 11 in Southbroom
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days At Sea Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days At Sea Beach Lodge

Address: 39 Effingham Parade, Trafalgar 4275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Trafalgar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trafalgar
Price Range: £116 - £648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Days At Sea Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days at Sea. Entrance to a vision. Days At Sea is a place of luxury, privacy and peace. We are proud to have a platinum awarded wine cellar by Diners International, a private French style restaurant as well as a Chill Out Lounge with Cafe Del Mar Music for your sundowner. Days At Sea has been rated 9 to 10 by British Airways Horizon Magazine and is published in the Hideaways Hotels Klocke 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 ,2013,2014 and 2015 as one of the 100 most beautiful hideaway hotels of the world. It is a place full of art and lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Days At Sea Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing