We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger bang for your buck”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lighthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lighthouse Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bensheim
Singapore
2 reviews
“Bigger bang for your buck”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Every odd week or so it seems that Frankfurt is crammed with visitors for a congress or fair. Thus, accommodation prices soar as high as EUR 350 per night. As a budget-conscious freelancer I got for above mentioned amount four nights including breakfast at the Mercure Bensheim, with a slightly increased commute of 48 minutes by rail to Frankfurt downtown. Trains operate reliable and depart three times per hour to Frankfurt.

GOOD: Helpful and friendly staff, moderate prices (I was entertaining friends and we had a decent bottle of Merlot plus four Hennessy at the bar, the bill totalled EUR 50 including EUR 7 tip); housekeeping was up to its task. Hot water in the shower at rush hours.
AVERAGE: Outdated furniture, tapestry, dead plants in the public areas
BAD: The ubiquitous TV - flat screen, dolby, LED - failed rendering anything worth to watch due to artefacts and sound echoes. Better Accor renews the cable contract.
ODD: Housekeeping never collected the One-Euro-Coin I placed on the pillow every morning I left the room. I pretty much doubt that the housemaid was member of a religious sect that considers tip as an insult, so what did they want telling me by refusing the globally understandable equivalent to a personal handshake and a "Thank you"? Does a housekeeper in Bensheim earn that much?

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    65
    48
    33
See reviews for
18
47
12
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bensheim, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is the most awful hotel I have ever stayed in. It is dirty, stained carpets, rooms smell, dated decoration, dead plants in the corridors, rude staff not in uniform, terrible food service in the restaurant, no hot drinks available in the rooms, next to a railway line, no decaffeinated coffee available, bedding and towels smell ..... The list is endless. A letter is being sent to the chief executive of the mercure group. Good job only staying for one night. Can't wait to leave. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bensheim hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Mercure Bensheim in July2013, as part of a tour group. We are a family of 4.
There were several things that were not good - firstly, we had dinner at the place, and the spread was not good at all - we are vegetarians and part of a tour group with many vegetarians. While there was vegetarian food, the variety and taste was not good. At the end of a long day of travel, this was disappointing.
b) Further, the breakfast next day was a huge disappointment. There were very few items, and several people in our tour group hardly had any breakfast. My wife found the bread to be stale, and we wrote a complaint to the hotel.
c) The staff were somewhat rude, and we got the impression that they were not used to addressing customer requests.
d) In many of our friends room, the water heating did not work, and some people were unable to bathe, since the water was very cold.
I also made a written complaint, informing the hotel about several deficiencies in service. There was no response from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kannan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerut, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Nice Location on the Highway next to SuperStore
Cool Interiors,best part is Most Spacious Rooms stayed in entire Europe
Breakfast was nice but with limited supply
Staff not very friendly
Regret Old TV,Complicated Door Locks,weak wifi
Liked Spacious Room & Bathroom
Overall not bad

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talib J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Very quite hotel and area, rooms are clean. The staff is very kind and warm. Excellent breakfast, there is a great restaurant in the hotel with amazing steaks(you will feel like in Argentina).
I was there a couple of times and will definitely return in my next business trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the best location near the train station, spacious rooms , renovated , the breakfast was great , the staff was very nice and conciderete , early and late checkout were available without extra charge , the dinner at the steakhouse was the main event of our stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ykutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bensheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bacchus
Hotel Bacchus
#3 of 10 in Bensheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkhotel Krone
1.4 mi away
Tobbaccon Hotel
Tobbaccon Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bensheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Felix Hotel-Restaurant
#4 of 10 in Bensheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Seeblick
Hotel Seeblick
#6 of 10 in Bensheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Boarding House
#8 of 10 in Bensheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Hotel

Property: Lighthouse Hotel
Address: Wormser Str. 14, 64625 Bensheim, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Bensheim)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Bensheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bensheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing