We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Giessen
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I travel a great deal on business and I am usually wary of cheap hotels. The Eishaus was a very pleasant surprise. Despite being lower cost than my usual hotels it was very clean and comfortable. The room had a balcony overlooking the river. Sitting in the sun all I could hear was birdsong and not traffic. The breakfast was varied enough for me to find something I liked. A must is to eat in the restaurant. Following the waitress advise I skipped the starter ands went for one of the house specials. It was great, well presented and tasty.
I have added this hotel to my list of places to stay when in Giessen

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a one night stay at this charming hotel on the banks of the Lahn river. It is, as it's name suggests, a converted ice house. Each room came complete with a flower filled, window-boxed balcony, that was small but made up for it's size by being lovely. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was a large one featuring both hot and cold items as well as what I have come to think of as "the German sandwich breakfast" the room had a wonderful ambiance, and was filled with antiques. Breakfast could also be taken out onto the riverside terrace. It was one of the least expensive hotels during our trip - bonus! If we return to Giessen, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fivenewyorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I washed up (literally- it'd been raining a lot and I was on a rented motorbike) unannounced but even in my dishevelled state I was made very welcome and found a clean, functional, single room via the elevator on the third floor of this interesting conversion on the way out of town, with decent, off street parking. The room had a walk in wardrobe, shower/WC room, TV, hairdrier, mirror, towels, soap, desk, chest of drawers, comfortable enough bed and (a nice touch) its own balcony. What a nice surprise to then go down to the bar/restaurant area, featuring a wealth of interesting period features associated with its former use and find a terrace overlooking the banks of a tranquil river, rife with bird song and rowers, on which to soak up some welcome late afternoon sun and enjoy a couple of beers. Down side was that although I later ordered some food from what transpired was a pretty popular restaurant, I had to wait a whole hour for it to arrive- I had only asked for one course and there was no explanation or apology for the delay- black mark. Buffet breakfast especially good- the usual cold cuts spread with a reasonable hot offer too. B&B 52 Euros plus tax- very good value. I loved my beers on the tranquil terrace but would probably make other arrangements for evening meal if I ever visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank christian5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bayerinschwaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altes_Eishaus, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank aszygulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartmund S, Manager at Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank neuhesse1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartmund S, Manager at Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giessen hotels
0.6 mi away
Residenz Hotel Giessen
Residenz Hotel Giessen
#5 of 13 in Giessen
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Steinsgarten
1.4 mi away
Parkhotel Sletz
Parkhotel Sletz
#2 of 13 in Giessen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alt Giessen
Hotel Alt Giessen
#6 of 13 in Giessen
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel am Ludwigsplatz
Hotel am Ludwigsplatz
#9 of 13 in Giessen
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tandreas
Hotel Tandreas
#3 of 13 in Giessen
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus

Address: Wissmarer Weg 45, 35396 Giessen, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Giessen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Giessen
Price Range: £59 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Altes Eishaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing