We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sauerland Stern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Loft Hotel(Willingen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
37
83
55
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
83
55
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference hotelswimming poollobby areabreakfast buffetparking spacenice poollong weekenddining roomsummersterngermanysauerlandsaunasnowbalconiesdiscotown
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I would love to thank the very accommodating, service-oriented staff for an absolutely wonderful conference experience in Germany. It was our first such experience in Germany and we hope to return. Our rooms were very spacious, filled with natural light and clean. There was plenty of closet space to unpack for a week-long stay. Views from the hotel are absolutely beautiful, as well. A real highlight is the food! Without a doubt, the food at Sauerland Stern Hotel was the best "conference food" we have ever experienced.... and the service at mealtime was exceptional.

The little village of Willingen is charming and has lots of shops and restaurants of all varieties. This village is within a 10 minute walk of the hotel, as are many other amenities to meet any need a visitor may have.

Take note: There is no air-conditioning or internet in hotel guest rooms. Bring a fan if you will be there in hot weather, as we were and did! Also, the internet is available in the lobby area, but is not always accessible without a long wait.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the central hall. The noise seems to travel upwards when children are playing, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfcmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Saurerland Stern hotel is an excellent facility for conferences. Staff are competent, friendly, and service-oriented. There are many restaurant locations in the hotel that provide excellent food based on your budget. They offer many conference rooms and break out rooms with multiple configurations. Rooms are clean and comfortable, most with balconies that overlook the town or the mountains. Beds are great. In-room internet is not free; you can buy by the hour, day, or week and it is passable, not fast.

There are many good strolls available: in the lovely village of Willingen, in the hills behind the hotel, or up the gondola / ski lift.

Some reviewers say that it feels a bit dated. Maybe, but what mattered more to me was that it as an effective facility with staff that knew what they were doing. All in all, this made a great location for an effective business conference.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A beautiful and terrific hotel surrounded by mountains on all sides, tremendous view from every window I looked out of, a 1000 miles away from India it was a relief to see a Punjabi girl right at the reception greeting us without actually knowing even a word of Hindi. We had gone there to attend a business conference at Dusseldorf and as we stayed at this hotel, we wanted to try out skiing too as it was the perfect weather but this year because of the weather conditions skiing was closed at the peak time. Nonetheless, the view and comfort of the hotel made up for the things that were missing, the service was excellent , the food served was great but not very apt for Indian taste. This hotel would be a heavenly experience for people who enjoy drinking with 50 types of Beer and other alcoholic drinks served.

All in all, a great hotel with a perfect escape from the summers in India and superb scenic beauty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side should be chosen to enjoy the scenic view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

POSITIVES:

Very well organized, efficient reception

Good conference facilities

Big room with balcony and wonderful view

Efficient mini fridge…prices ok

Good seating, mirrors and storage

Breakfast ok ( although unimaginative)

Room service –only took 20 mins at peak time

Wonderful location

NEGATIVES

Room hadn’t been swept

Bathroom very small…additional space was used by huge entrance/dressing area

Towels small

Cheap toilet paper and toiletries

Very old tv

Expensive internet

Room service food ruined by pickled veg leaking onto everything

Plastic sheet over mattress..YUK!

Musty smell

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A hotel of time(period) former(old) room(chamber), typical bar, on the other hand very beautiful view, magnificent dining room and very well situated, the food is average...
I the advice(council) for its value for money but disadvise him(it) for every persons liking the recent...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nantais1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews