We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Staff but very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hameln
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hameln
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Staff but very basic”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I expected a lot more from this hotel, so was a bit disappointed, I have to say!
The lobby and dining area was very nice, but the rooms were more than basic!

We did not even have a carpet in our room and there was no fridge either!
The room could have also been a bit cleaner!

The view was very good though, our room was on the 6th floor, overlooking the Buergergarten and we could not fault the breakfast!

Free WIFI was also very welcome, but I would not stay again, even though the staff were all very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iona-Luing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    130
    38
    13
    4
See reviews for
25
96
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July 2013. Our room was on the first floor, it faced the park, not much of a view, but at least it was shady. During our stay, it was very warm, and since there was no air conditioning, we kept the door to the small patio open while in the room. I wasn't overly impressed with the room itself, from the non-functioning air conditioning, to a small non-functioning refrigerator (the electrical cord had been cut), and no in-room safe, but it was clean. On the plus side, the location is an easy walk to the Altstadt (old town), with its shopping and colorful characters (watch out for the Pied Piper), and there is a huge park in front of the hotel for relaxing, strolling and small playground for children. And the free internet was a nice bonus as well. We did enjoy the Mercure's pool during our stay because my 9-year old niece, who was traveling with us, loves to swim. With the pool noodles (for her), and complimentary bathrobes (for us), the pool was a nice alternative, from all of the shopping and sight seeing. Parking is limited to about 10 spots right outside of the hotel, so ask about alternative parking before you think about parking overnight on the street, and get a ticket like we did. Oh well, live and learn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanilla_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Typical hotel room, clean and decorated well - could compare to a Marriott type hotel. Evening meal outstanding, expect hotel prices, children able to chose from adult menu but half priced, half sized portions. Breakfast superb with great service and huge choice. Free parking available and five minutes walk to the beautiful centre of Hameln. Great perk - they make you a coffee to take away with you on your journey. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband, my elderly father and I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013 to coincide with the staging of the Pied Piper of Hameln outdoor play (every Sunday from May to Septembert).

The hotel is located just a short stroll from the Altstadt (old town). We managed to park in a disabled parking space directly outside the hotel entrance.

The hotel lobby is very spacious with a statue of the Pied Piper of Hameln in the reception area. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and provided us with a map of Hameln. They also have free fruit on the reception desk for guests and even went to the trouble to ring through to the chef to ask him to bring a banana for my father.

Our room on the 6th floor overlooked a park area and looked towards the Altstadt (old town). The room was laid out like a suite with the main bedroom and secondary bedroom slightly offset from one another with the bathroom in the middle. The room size was OK, but could have been bigger and the decor needs updating as the paintwork looked rather "tired". However, there is balcony overlooking the park area.

The bathroom was OK in size, though could have been bigger. It had an over-bath shower which is fine for younger guests, but could do with updating to a walk in shower. However, it had plenty of towels and a hairdryer.

In the main bedroom there was a socket near a long mirror, which I used when drying my hair with my own hairdryer.

There was a wardroom with plenty of hanging space and hangers.

The hotel has its own dining room which was very busy but we decided to choose our meal from the buffet and there was plenty of choice and availability, despite the fact that the hotel was very busy with some coach parties. The waiting staff were very good and attentive and the service was very efficient and friendly. Surprisingly for a hotel, the cost of dinner was very reasonable for 3 of us.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent, with a wide choice and the chef was happy to cook omelettes, fried eggs, mushrooms, etc. for us.

The hotel has a pool, although we did not use it during our stay.

All in all it is a good hotel in a great location with friendly helpful staff, though the rooms do need updating. However, despite the fact that the hotel seemed full, the hotel was very quiet with no guest or traffic noise. Also, one of the two lifts was not operating during our stay, though this did not seem to cause too much of problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Easy to find on the inner ring road and a short walk to town center.
Modern hotel, OK rooms, a good breakfast and free internet.
Bring your swim gear; there is a large indoor pool and the lobby provides bathrobes etc

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hameln hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Christinenhof
Hotel Christinenhof
#1 of 12 in Hameln
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Krone
Hotel Zur Krone
#7 of 12 in Hameln
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Hameln
Hotel Stadt Hameln
#9 of 12 in Hameln
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel An der Altstadt
Hotel An der Altstadt
#4 of 12 in Hameln
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Boerse
Hotel Zur Boerse
#10 of 12 in Hameln
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#5 of 12 in Hameln
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hameln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hameln

Property: Mercure Hotel Hameln
Address: 164er Ring 3, 31785 Hameln, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hameln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hameln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hameln 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4 star Mercure Hotel Hameln has 105 rooms and is located in the city centre, adjacent to the Buergergarten park and a two minute walk from the historic town centre. The hotel features WLAN, a restaurant with a summer terrace, a cosy bar and8 conference rooms for up to 500 people. The hotel also offers a swimming pool on the 1st floor and solarium, steam bath and sauna on the top floor offering a panoramic view of the old town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hameln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Hameln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing