We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great theme hotel with a few dissapointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heide Park Abenteuerhotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Soltau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My 3 year old, my husband and I stayed at Port Royal for one night. The rooms where great and stayed very true to the pirate theme.
The special entrance to the park was great.
The quality of the evening buffet was okay, but quite chaotic. Desserts where nice. Only one pirate visited the evening buffet and only talked to a few tables - dissappointing!
The breakfast was quite nice, but against only one stuffed animal dropped by and talked to thèrese tables. And please get an automatik juicer for orange juice, which every guest had to producere manually and the line for Thisted was very long.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sinnekold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a "Captains Cabin". The room was really big, and the bamboo tub in the Room was a quite nice (what the mirror on the ceiling above it might be for?... ;) ) I would recommend washing the the tub a bit before letting water run in though... wood is apparently not the easiest material to sanitize, considering the color and texture...
The decoration is really nice, and the bed time story on the pillow was also a nice touch.

The breakfast is varied and very good, there was also an evening show that was entertaining.

This is the only hotel I've seen so far, where the Buffet Dinner is a lot better and varied than the "A la carte" Restaurant. The only reason to eat A la carte would be the cost (it is about half the buffet dinner).

Room Tip: The captains cabin is very nice if traveling without children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryLittleGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went to Heide Park and stayed in Port Royal Hotel.
The Hotel has a nice theming, the looby, corridors and rooms are decorated in a way that bring us to the pirate period. The theming of the room's bathroms is particular good and funny.

The breakfast is very good, nice selections of breaad, cheese, cold meats, fruit and cold dishes like sausagesm fried bacon, fied eggs.

The staff was helpfull and kind.

The Hotel has direct access to Heide Park wich is very useful, especially in the morning when main entrance of resort is little bit overcrowded.

I Booked online in the Heide Park webpage and had a exelent deal of 25%off, includind the day pass for the park

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telmo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went for a weekend away at Heide Park and stayed at Port Royal. Arrived late on Friday and were greeted very quickly despite the time, very swift service. The buffet was fantastic and plentiful with a selection for most, and we were made to feel at home.

The evening entertainment was second to none and the acrobat show was superb. My only issue was with the clown who quite frankly was weird at best. The food during the show was fantastic and again plentiful and the drinks selection was small but of good quality.

We will defiantly recommend and will be going back soon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joss_Gamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

German quality at it's best!
Very attractive interiors and clean big enough rooms with good attempt to decorate them in "pirate" style. "Wooden" bathrooms are especially good.
Buffett is more then Ok, good choice of meals for youngsters.
Staff is helpful and not annoying.
Wi-fi spot in lobby required daily re-activation procedure but otherwise worked stable.
Direct access to Heide Park from hotel lobby is very useful, especially in the morning when main entrance of resort is little bit overcrowded.
Will certainly return when kids grow up for age and height restrictions to be lifted-off :)

Room Tip: Choose one with Heide Park view, other side is too boring :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleksii K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is the official hotel for Heide Park. It has its own entrance into the park which can be very helpful dealing with crowds in the morning and makes it easy to go to/from the park hotel throughout the day.

The hotel is pirate themed and done very well. The bathrooms are especially noteworthy. Large rooms for European standards, typical no A/C but the weather has been cool enough on several of our visits here that an open window was sufficient.

This was our second stay at the hotel and I feel that it improved from our last stay in 2008. Many more staff spoke English, the park entrance worked better, and the buffet had a giant variety.

The dinner buffet includes unlimited beer, wine, and soft drinks. It also has two cook to order stations, a cute children's area, chocolate fountain, and a make your own waffle dessert area.

Breakfast buffet was similar in variety and good. If you're coming to Heide Park I would absolutely stay here. If you were just passing through the area and needed a place to stay I would consider this hotel if you had children for sure.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank ThemeParkReviewTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

On our trip to heide park we stay there for few nights . We had very nice room in pirate style specialy bathroom was very interesting . Room was big clean and the view was on Heide park . Breakfast was very good and dinner has a lot of choice . We will be back soon .Personal was o.k. and kind and they have every evening very nice shows .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RethymnoCreteElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soltau
1.8 mi away
Wolterdinger Hof
Wolterdinger Hof
#7 of 14 in Soltau
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Park Soltau
Hotel Park Soltau
#2 of 14 in Soltau
67 reviews
6.3 mi away
Center Parcs Bispinger Heide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Heidehotel Soltauer Hof
Heidehotel Soltauer Hof
#5 of 14 in Soltau
32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel HeideParadies
Hotel HeideParadies
#11 of 14 in Soltau
19 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Am Boehmepark
Hotel Am Boehmepark
#4 of 14 in Soltau
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heide Park Abenteuerhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heide Park Abenteuerhotel

Address: Heide-Park 1, 29614 Soltau, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Hotel Port Royal)
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Soltau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Soltau
Price Range: £101 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heide Park Abenteuerhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heide Park Abenteuerhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Hotel
Heide Park Abenteuerhotel Germany/Soltau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing