We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously restored Art Deco oasis set back from the beach”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Usedom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Baltic Sea has yet to be discovered by those beyond Germany it seems. The resort of Heringsdorf, Usedom began in the 1880's as an outpost for Berlin's elite bankers and industrialists. This elegant town has now been brought back to its former glory with German precision. The Hotel Oasis is one of only a handful of beach-fronted/promenaded-front villas still in its original size, with 15 stylishly appointed rooms--no brown plastic sofas or overstuffed old furniture.It is surrounded by tall pines and much greenery, including gorgeous rhododendrons all over. The in-house restaurant, Rossini, is a destination restaurant and well worth the visit. We ate here twice, enjoying excellent wines, service and food to die for. The second restaurant at garden/promenade level is a Thai outdoor patio offering good fresh fish dishes but otherwise I would pass on the more typical fried Thai offerings--had to ask for a fish knife, an extra plate for bones etc so it was not staffed by experienced people; however, we enjoyed sitting here having a gin and tonic after a long day on the fine, white sandy beach. Miles and miles of walking along the long, deep flat beach and seawater at 21 degrees so very nice to swim and jump small waves.
If you are visiting in the height of summer, as we did, ask for a room on the first floor as those on the second floor are very hot, even when the air is cool outside. Overhead ceiling fans would be a great help to allow air to circulate more. Prices are at the top end compared to other hotels in Heringsdorf but this property is truly unique in the way it has been carefully restored and furnished so pleasantly.
Fly to Berlin and drive northeast 3.5 hours or Rostock (Germany) or Stettin (Poland) would be even closer , or take the train as you really do not need a car once you arrive; this hotel and others rent bicycles by the day. German Wings flies directly to a small airport only a few miles away from Heringsdorf. Great golf is also available close by.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor can be very hot, unless you have one with a roof terrace. Standing tower f...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2007

Hotel Oasis on the strand in Heringsdorf was a magical place. We reserved a room with balcony and sea-view and had a charming (if smallish) room with large balcony (almost as big as the room) that overlooked the promenade and the Ostsee. The attention by the staff and management was refined and impeccable. We were greeted with fresh fruit and
champagne and an offer of taking tea in the outside bistro. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and welcoming. The house itself is a Jugenstil dream with incredible woodwork. (N.B.: there is no elevator, so the sea-view from the top floor comes at the price of climbing three flights of stairs, which we gladly did.) The champagne breakfast buffet was expansive and delicious, and individual orders for cooked egg plates were also taken. There is no internet acccess in the rooms, but wireless was available on the first floor, including the library, where I sat with my laptop and enjoyed the solitude and beautiful decor. At night, sherry and port are put out in the library for guests' enjoyment, and I
took advantage. We rented bicylces from the Hotel and biked along the strand, enjoying the gorgeous surroundings.
We ate dinner one night at the Hotel's bistro, seated outside where the chef was grilling local fish and other entrees. The hotel rate includes afternoon tea in the bistro, which consisted of coffee or tea and cake, which we enjoyed. The weather was too chilly for bathing, but the Hotel is a few yards from the beautiful beach and beach chairs are rented at the hotel. We did not eat at the Hotel restaurant, although the menu was attractive, because we wanted to explore other places on the island during our short stay.
Had I known Hotel Oasis would be so wonderful I would have planned ahead to stay several more days in our sea-view room, even though it was relatively pricey for us. There was real atmosphere of refinement and comfort and relaxation that I've not experienced before. This was one of the best experiences we had on our entire month-long German holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gallivant69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer auf der oberen Etage an den Ecken haben eine Terrasse nach vorn.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deffa010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Soellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Passagierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer im Haupthaus buchen, wenn man Wert legt auf das Flair der Villa im Seebadstil!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Berti_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usedom
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel and Spa
Steigenberger Grandhotel and Spa
#1 of 27 in Seebad Heringsdorf
1,866 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travel Charme Strandhotel Bansin
Travel Charme Strandhotel Bansin
#6 of 17 in Seebad Bansin
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kastell
Hotel Kastell
#2 of 6 in Usedom
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Balmer See
Balmer See
#1 of 1 in Balm
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
SEETELHOTEL Ahlbecker Hof
SEETELHOTEL Ahlbecker Hof
#1 of 13 in Seebad Ahlbeck
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travel Charme Strandidyll Heringsdorf
Travel Charme Strandidyll Hering...
#3 of 27 in Seebad Heringsdorf
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Strandpromenade - Puschkinstrasse 10 | Heringsdorf, 17424 Usedom, Usedom Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Usedom Island > Usedom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Usedom
Price Range: £132 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing