We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Konigswinter
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Coming up the winding roads I didn't know what to expect but under poring rain and a very grey sky the hotel still looked beautiful and I'm sure the view would have been fantastic over Bonn in better weather conditions We only stayed a few hours for some lunch which was very nice(pricey)The staff was very busy so the service was a bit slow but it was all served with a smile. Very nice toilet's :)

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    305
    137
    48
    18
See reviews for
127
339
27
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Großraum Ulm
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Definitely no 5 star hotel any longer. If you like vintage it is ok, but for me it was too much vintage: small room with ugly mint green walls, small bed, old carpets, small bathroom (partly with green flaggings again). Also strange smell in the room...
The "spa" was also a kind of joke (pool was a better bath tub) and the size of the gym and its equipment you should better not mention.
Positive is the location up on the hill and the nice view over the whole valley and the Rhine river. Breakfast buffet and catering throughout the whole day was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preischaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed two nights with our dog.
It was beautiful view from every where from the hotel.
They provide the nice facilities like swimming pool and sauna.
We could walk and enjyoed the property well and TV is flat screen and the rooms provides very modern ways. The breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aicha1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is situated in a beautiful part of Germany. It is full of hills, forests, castles and located nearby the Rhine. It looks impressive from the outside, however the inside of the hotel is outdated. The furniture and decoration in the rooms, but also in the public area looks like from the 60's. The room we got was quite big and had a nice view on the park. The quality of the breakfast was disappointing, and for a 5-star hotel you definitely expect much more better. The quality of the food in the Bistro was awful (very salty goulash soup and an extreme simple salad with only a slice of goat cheese on top). While it should be for free in my opinion, Internet Access/WIFI was very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagelsBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrassa, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Okay, so the Steigenberger Grandhotel looks majestuous upon a hill and the first impression I got was of big magnificience. The sensation lasted until I got to my room. I have no idea if this hotel was first the summer or winter residence of any German King (somehow it looks like that), but if that's the case, the room I got assigned surely was from the staff of that time. Very small room, a single bed, tiny, and by tiny I mean really, really, tiny bathroom. At least the views from the room were nice enough.

Breakfast was very good, I must admit, a very huge variety of foods, juices, coffee, teas... but the place where we had breakfast was pretty small, I went to the hotel on a congress and sometimes we had to wait to have breakfast because the room was crowded.

Also, restaurant offered quite good dished for dinner, but pretty expensive, and considering that the hotel is at the top of a small hill, if you don't have a car, your options to go out to have dinner are quite limited.

Also, internet connection was very expensive (22€/day) and it didn't always worked perfectly...

All in all, I don't think this hotel meets the 5 star standards, they are living up to their own past glory.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

5 star hotel, 5 star services, 5 star accommodation.
this place is huge, awesome, and really brings you thru a centenary history of Germany and the rest of the world - from a young queen Elizabeth II to Churchill, or the former and famous US presidents.
We've been there for a meeting and the service was all 5 star.
Rooms are full of every comfort and no need to describe food or staff...everything in line for a 5 star hotel.
The location is awesome also from an architectural point of view....the building is completely hidden into a lush vegetation on the top of a hill where to admire the Rhein and Bonn cityline

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

A hotel that promises much, and prices itself as a 5 star hotel (though plenty of good deals out of season on the room rates). It is comfortable, and the rooms are fairly good - better than the Maritim and other large hotels in the area. onsite sauna/spa and lots of convention rooms. However, it felt really empty (a la "The Shining"), which is probably an indicator that they have their pricing and marketing wrong. Whilst the rooms rates were very reasonable, the restaurant was overpriced - the food was fairly good, aimed at fine dining style, however the menu choice was limited - heavy or heavy food - not much inspiration, and execution was a little off in places (e.g. over salting, over cooking, presentation) which you expect to be far better for the price. Breakfast was not worth 26 euros. If you don't travel there by car, then you will find it difficult to get anywhere local without taxis. Great views at night though, looking down over the river and Bonn skyline.
It feels like this hotel is still living off of it's acclaimed history, rather than putting in the effort right now to make the stay as good as it should be.
Go if you are travelling by car for either business or pleasure, though factor in the extra costs of the restaurant and bar etc.
Don't go if you want to be close to the local attractions/people/etc, or if you are on a budget

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Konigswinter
1.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
#3 of 16 in Konigswinter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#3 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
19.5 mi away
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensb...
#1 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
1.1 mi away
Rheinhotel Loreley
Rheinhotel Loreley
#2 of 16 in Konigswinter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg

Property: Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Address: Petersberg 1, 53639 Konigswinter, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Konigswinter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Konigswinter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its history as the guest house of the Federal Republic of Germany the Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg nowadays still welcomes guests by classical elegance and comfort on the highest standard, as well as the legendary view over the idyllic Rhine valley. In the middle of Germany's oldest nature reserve you may take a deep breath of the clear, fresh air and calm down from any daily stress. The magnificent architecture of the hotel's exterior is reflected in the exclusive elegance of its interior. The thoughtfully chosen furnishings and hand-picked details lend a unique atmosphere to every one of our 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg Hotel
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg königswinter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing