We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic building with a great historic presence...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Konigswinter
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Went to visit with family. Unfortunately as we drove up - it was in cloud. We toured around the hotel and then went for coffee (the potato soup was amazing). The cloud lifted and the views were amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JReevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

I knew the Steinberger before but hadn't been in this particular one and didnt have time to check it out before the trip either. It was a bit difficult to reach as there was no taxi at the train station initially but well, I finally I found one and got to the hotel. Had a glass of wine and went to sleep and everything was nice. Bed was comfortable and breakfast good and there is a free WIFI option now. The conference was lovely and the food was good but honestly, the first day I could not figure out, why we were in this particular hotel. Well, the second day the sun came out and all of a sudden it became clear. Indeed, we were on the hill-top and the views are stunning. But I was kind of wandering, had the second day been bad weather too, I would have probably left with a little disappointment. So check out the weather before deciding for this hotel. Even if you stay inside only, without views it feels totally different.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivar_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

On a recent Tauck river cruise, we were takento this most luxurious looking hotel, high on the hill overlooking the river. The drive up the mountain was lovely, with all the trees in full autumn glory. We were ushered into the grand dining room which had been set up like a wedding reception. The sun was shining and the waiters were very efficient. Unfortunately the food was very very ordinary. Such a shame, as we had expected five star food the matchthe five star dining room. The highlight is a visit to the toilets! Amazing!! Huge.
It was a classy experience except for the food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stunning location. Ideal for getaways and seminars. Historical location.
Great breakfast buffet.
My room was very clean however urgently needs refurbishment. Tiny bed and tv set from late 90s.
You can get a better deal for EUR 140 in Bonn.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissRalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Here for a work event, lucky enough to be in a suite which was very impressive, huge and with beautiful views. Food was good, though getting to the buffet lunch towards the end seemed to mean that a lot of stuff had been eaten and wasn't replenished. Decor in bedrooms was rather dated, but everything very clean. Main issue was no hot water for showers in the morning, it warmed up a bit later in the day but not fantastic. Used the pool, which was tiny but nice, and again very clean. Service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

first of all I like to say it is a wonderful hotel, very kind staff, lovely rooms en delicious dinner.
However, there are a few things to be mentioned: the door of the shower fell down and with great effort I could prevent it from falling into Thousand pieces. It was fixed though immediately after our complaint. When we had drinks in the bar, I ordered a Chardonnay white wine (price was € 4,50). The barman gave me a glass and when we had to pay, it seemed to be € 9....he had poored out a double portion without asking me! We did not make fuss about it, as we had a nice weekend out, but it was beyond manners! Next day we wanted to pay the bill and the bill was not complete. No breakfast on it and no dinner, so we mentioned this. The kind lady added the breakfast and gave us the bill. Again, we mentioned we had to pay for our dinner......funny that this was not in the administration, we gave our room number correctly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the church are nice, higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Was here for work event which meant i got yo enjoy the full sumptiousness of the grand hall all dressed for the evening. The hotel is large, rambling and i enjoyed the trek to the restaurant. The room i was in was held in a 70s timewarp...all plastic fitted wardrobes...but i have a soft spot for design of that era so loved the feelung of being out of time. Views were stunning...of the rhine and catching glumpses of the building itself from different angles. Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyw321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Konigswinter
1.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
#2 of 17 in Konigswinter
351 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#5 of 79 in Bonn
1,007 reviews
19.5 mi away
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensb...
#1 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baynunah Hotel Drachenfels
Baynunah Hotel Drachenfels
#15 of 17 in Konigswinter
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
1.9 mi away
Villa Godesberg
Villa Godesberg
#2 of 79 in Bonn
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg

Address: Petersberg 1, 53639 Konigswinter, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Konigswinter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Konigswinter
Price Range: £114 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its history as the guest house of the Federal Republic of Germany the Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg nowadays still welcomes guests by classical elegance and comfort on the highest standard, as well as the legendary view over the idyllic Rhine valley. In the middle of Germany's oldest nature reserve you may take a deep breath of the clear, fresh air and calm down from any daily stress. The magnificent architecture of the hotel's exterior is reflected in the exclusive elegance of its interior. The thoughtfully chosen furnishings and hand-picked details lend a unique atmosphere to every one of our 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg Hotel
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg königswinter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing