We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost basic room, but absolutely clean, food fantastic, brilliant value”
Review of Gelder Dyck

Gelder Dyck
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gelder Dyck
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kevelaer
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Almost basic room, but absolutely clean, food fantastic, brilliant value”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We usually stay 4*, but nothing in the vicinity, so we picked this to try for a short break. If you accept this as a bar/restaurant with rooms it's very good indeed. Room and bathroom fine size, comfy beds, spotless as was everywhere.
Great location 5 mins to town, 1 minute out through the back, for the airport bus. little town itself is quite interesting/pretty and a few nice shops.
The Gelder Dyck's great strength is it's food. It's way above average, for anywhere, including some 4*'s. Breakfast lovely quality and range, and we stayed for dinner which was not just usual German food.
Disadvantages, not a lot of chat as my German's rubbish, but they were very helpful.
I'm not sure but there might still be smokers allowed in the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seixal, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here for a few days and everything was fine. The rooms are excellent, the hotel is 200m from the city center, it has free wifi and the staff is super helpful. In August is very hard to find a room here because there are a lot of religion meetings and processions. Some weekends have 10000 visitants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmindoMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drachten
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Second time we stay here!!! Great location: Close to the Weeze airport shuttle bus stop (2 min walking), town center and train station. We had an early flight to Tenerie, so we came around 5 pm. checked in, walked around the center of the town and had a very nice dinner in the restaurant from the hotel. Very cozy. The owner was very nice and allowed us to park the car for free in their parking lot during our 1 week trip. The dinner was good. The room was big, we got the waterbed room!!! nice and very clean. Bathroom is very clean. We didn’t had breakfast because we left very early. The ride with the shuttle to Weeze airport is less than 15 min and the ticket costs around 8 euros.

In the pretty nearby center they have a miraculous image of Virgin Mary, "Afflictorum Consolatrix", or "Comforter of the Afflicted" and lots of stores for pilgrims. So also nice to walk around...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed one night to take a flight the following morning in the airport at Weeze. I payed 39 euros for a single room. And that was what I got. Clean simple single room to spend the night. Location was very convenient if you have to take a flight in Weeze. The hotel is 2 min walking to the shuttle stop.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

good location, just round corner from rail station and the stop for shuttle bus ( hourly) to and from weeze airport. also only a couple of minutes to main street leading to basilica.

the gelder dyck provided just what i was looking for and expected. a friendly local pub/restaurant with clean rooms.
there are only 6 rooms available, and rooms overlooking the street might prove a bit noisy, though they did seem a bit better finished. all rooms are set up and priced for 2 person occupancy, which makes them well priced for couples, but maybe a bit overpriced for singles.
approach to the rooms is via a rather unattractive staircase. rooms are of a decent size,and like the ensuite bathrooms, very clean. bedroom furniture is a bit basic and old fashioned, but does the job perfectly well. the t.v was very small, and right across the room from the bed
.
breakfast was a reasonable mix of prepacked buffet items, and fresh bread/rolls with a plate of cold cuts. a good start to the day, and sensibly priced at 6 euros.
the wednesday summer grill supper was very nice and excellent value at only 9.80 euros. the
smoked trout steaks were amazing ( and that from a non-fish lover ). the full menu also looked good and reasonably priced.
staff and locals unfailing friendly and helpful.
all in all a good characterful base for visiting a really pretty small town with its incredible pilgrim heritage, that is worth a good look even by hardened non-believers..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The place is near the station and bus stops for and to the airport. The staff is very friendly, the room was modern, large, clean and cosy, good food and very very reasonable price. This is not a luxury hotel: no fridge or big tv, but for such a low price it was way more than I expected. I slept very well. Internet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea_S1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larnaca
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I was looking for somewhere to go for a few days on a short break with my Spouse to relax but at the same time see something differant, i chose this town /village as it was near to the airport Weeze where Ryan air fly into. the town is 15 by Airport Shuttle bus & drops you 3 minutes walk from the Inn which is well sign posted so very easy to find. Very pleasant owner, they don't speak much English but we got by. The Inn was built around 1882 but has been renevated several times. were were offered the largest room which had a waterbed, very comfortable. breakfast was fine as there aer only 6 rooms it's normaly made for you at the time you request apart from Sundays were they have buffet. the town is very quiet but pictureques, the train station is just behind the hotel, we went into Dusseldorf which cost us around 35 euro's return & took the hop on hop off trip around the city. the tourist information office is on the opposite side of the road when you come out of the train station, you can get trip tickets from there. it's good for 3-4 days but no more. the weather was good & people freindly.

Room Tip: it's all about luck as there are only 6 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kevelaer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klostergarten
Hotel Klostergarten
#1 of 5 in Kevelaer
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Apfel
Hotel Goldener Apfel
#5 of 5 in Kevelaer
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel zur Bruecke
Hotel zur Bruecke
#3 of 5 in Kevelaer
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland
3.9 mi away
Hotel Jagerhof
Hotel Jagerhof
#1 of 1 in Weeze
173 reviews
5.0 mi away
See Park Janssen
See Park Janssen
#1 of 1 in Geldern
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelder Dyck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelder Dyck

Property: Gelder Dyck
Address: Gelderner Str. 43, 47623 Kevelaer, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Kevelaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kevelaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gelder Dyck 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gelder Dyck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing