We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, value for money and atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Breitbach
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Ratingen
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, value for money and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First of all I was really impressed by the restaurant of this hotel - its newly renovated, it has character and the food is excellent! When I visited the owners were also dining in the restaurant and engaged with several of the guests to inquire of our stay, this really made it feel like a family run place where people care! As a single female traveller, I felt comfortable dining by myself which makes a big difference to me.
The rooms are good value for money, as I understand from the staff they are going to be renovated soon which will be another reason for me to come back.
Location is excellent with close proximity to Ratingen city centre, parking is free and if you are visiting a trade show the hotel staff even offer to take you there with their shuttle (if you pre-order). Lovely place, can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    47
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
22
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We went for an overnight stay to this hotel. Extremely friendly staff and decent and very clean room with nice facilities large enough to sleep 2 adults, our 5 yr old son and 2 yr old baby.

The highlight was the absolutely wonderful breakfast spread... Rivalling and probably better than any 5* restaurant!

Can definitely recommend this place!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PreetiDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This hotel ticks a lot of boxes on location - 30 min tram ride into Central Duesseldorf, 5 minutes walk into the Centre of Ratingen, 15 minutes bus ride to Kaiserwerth - side of Rhine with ferry crossing (Michelin * Restaurant and some good bars/ other restaurants)
Rate is also very good - €60-70 or thereabouts should be the target
For British travellers unusually it currently has BBC1 BBC2, CBBC ITV1 etc on the room TV at no extra charge
As previous reviewers have mentioned watch out for small single rooms + rooms facing front of hotel (traffic lights and bus stop can make for a bad combination)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter, generally also the higher up the hotel you go the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I chose this hotel because it was jut 300 m away from downtown ratingen and had parking. The rate was very good and for business it looked like a good option. Good things: very friendly staff, excellent breakfast for a 3 stars (superior as it says in the entrance) and the staff told me there are plans for renovating the rooms. wifi is free, same as parking and you have coffee and tea in the room. Regarding cleanliness, it was ok, nothing to say. In this part of Ratingen, I could not listen the planes, be aware that the airport is close and there are other hotels, with more stars and equal price, were the planes noise is constant!

Bad things: there are no black-out curtains nor jalousies so if you want to sleep longer, take your plane eye mask. If you get a room facing the main street you might also need your ear plugs.
The room size was not great, but since I had a double room it was easier to move around and open the luggage in the no-door/open cupboard. I've seen some single rooms and they are small, so you better ask the room size before booking, specially if you suffer from claustrophobia.
I had no problem with parking, either outside or inside but if you have a big car, the inside parking might be tight.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Not facing the main street, paying an upgrade might be worthwhile for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GG_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed visiting nearby friends. Ideally suited for the town centre and Dusseldorf. Very convenient 712 tram stop adjacent. Breakfast plentiful, but slow replenishment weekdays. Rooms are too hot, but fan provided. Rooms noisy from traffic at front of hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Most understand English. Priced a little high for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Very nice friendly hotel with. The hotel is well positioned for Ratingen and Dusseldorf airport. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished. The TV has all international and English programmes and video options. Just one issue there is no air conditioning in them , although they do provide a fan. Rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy. The check in was easy and with small complimentary cakes on offer. Again check was easy, quick and efficient.
All in all my stay was comfortable and the price is very good

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandIMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip travelling to Germany by car. Hotel is immediately surrounded by residential flats overlooking your room.

Rooms were too hot compared to the rest of the hoteI. I couldn't get to sleep until past 0100am and was tired for work the next day. There is no airconditioning. The cause was the heat being pumped out by the minibar which I could not disconnect from the electricity as it is built into the wall with the desk.

The parking bays are cramped in the basement and at the back. It is nearly impossible to get into the underground parking without damaging your car .. if renting take a Group A car only (Opel Corsa size). Once full, there is no other place to park.

Ratingen town center is walking distance from the hotel and there is a great choice of places to eat for all tastes.

Staff and breakfast at hotel were extremely helpful, efficient, and curteous ... it's just a shame about the building they work in ;-(

In short, I would consider staying here again if the temperature is -20celcius outside and I am travelling by train.

  • Liked — Location is walking distance from Ratingen town center
  • Disliked — Parking bays are terrible and you are likely to damage your car
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoboNl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ratingen
0.7 mi away
Tryp Duesseldorf Airport Hotel
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
1.3 mi away
Relexa Hotel Airport Dusseldorf-Ratingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dusseldorf Airport
4.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Hotel Dusseldorf-Ratingen
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Breitbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Breitbach

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Breitbach
Address: Stadionring 1, 40878 Ratingen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Ratingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Ratingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Breitbach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers on-site parking and free Wi-Fi. Just a 5-minute walk from Ratingen's historic town centre, it is a 10-minute drive from Dusseldorf Airport and the Dusseldorf Exhibition Centre.All rooms at Hotel Breitbach come with satellite TV, a minibar, tea/coffee-making facilities and a private bathroom.A rich breakfast buffet is served daily in the hotel restaurant. A selection of traditional and modern cuisine is also offered at the hotel's Restaurant Fritz.Hotel Breitbach has an outdoor car park as well as an underground parking garage, which guests can use free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Breitbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing