We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical of a Small Rhine River Town B&B”
Review of Hotel Sonnenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonnenhof
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Typical of a Small Rhine River Town B&B”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Sonnenhof is typical of small B&Bs I have visited along the Rhine River. The proprietress is very friendly. The rooms are oddly configured as the ancient architecture was adapted to modern sensibilities requiring in-room toilet and bathing facilities. Obviously, at the prices charged it does not include air conditioning. I am not sure if wifi is included or not--a sign in the room promised "free WI LAN," but although my iToy could see the signal, I could never get it to connect. It wasn't so critical to me that I bothered to pursue it further.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

During late August 2013 I stayed at Hotel Sonnenhof in Boppard for four nights. The hotel is located one half kilometer from the Bahnhof and just two short blocks from the Marktplatz. My small single room was one of the newly renovated rooms, but very clean, comfortable and reasonable in price. The breakfast buffet was excellent and well presented with cereals, breads, jams, cheeses, meats and even scrambled eggs. I had one dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent. Frau Ullmann was a very gracious hostess and saw to all my needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Carmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Having read previous reviews, I do think some people expect far too much for what is a very reasonable price. We picked this hotel for proximity to the train station and town, as a stopover point on a train holiday to points further east. We were warmly welcomed, found our rooms comfortable and slept well before departing onward. It is true the rooms are not huge compared to many German hotels but were perfectly adequate and our beds were very comfortable. There is some train noise but it did not bother us. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening- the service was good, the food was quite adequate for the price.
We wanted a stopover again on our return two weeks later and because of the first good experience decided to book again. We once again had a warm welcome, and the manager immediately agreed to our request for breakfast ten minutes early so we could catch a train. We ate elsewhere on the evening this time for a change. Boppard is a very pleasant, relaxing and compact town on the Rhine, with great views from the waterfront.

Room Tip: If train noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the railway end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidanddeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We were on a driving trip through Germany and found ourselves in need of a hotel somewhere between Koblenz and Bingen. The more moderately priced hotels in Koblenz were booked, so we took a minute and looked for hotels in the area. Hotel Sonnenhof popped up on Bookings.com, price was right so we booked it. We drove to Boppard and after navigating the narrow streets with our GPS constantly advising "Recalculating..." we arrived at the hotel about 6 pm. The front desk area was closed but we rang the bell and were promptly and warmly greeted, and given the keys to our room. There was no elevator so we schlepped our bags upstairs to a typical tourist class european hotel, Room neat and clean but small.

The weather at the time was warm, so we opened the window. As our room faced the street the noise from the railway and the clang of the bells at the church made for a noisy night.
All in all very comfortable, met our needs for a place to crash while on the road. We arrived late and left early the next morning for Bingen for a day cruise on the Rhine from Bingen to Koblenz.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joetul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here in Oct. 2010. Our room was pretty small and the bathroom was compact -to say the least. There is a big step up/down into the shower. Bathroom was a bit old fashioned, I would say. The t.v. was on the bedside table, which meant you couldn't really watch it while lying in bed. A lot of stairs to climb to get to our room. However, the breakfasts were very good and the owner, Sylvia, was very pleasant. The hotel is right in the centre and everything can be reached on foot, so you don't need a car. It is close to the railway line, so if your window is open, you will hear the trains.
We dined here one evening and the food was good. There are lots of other good eateries in the town.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first as there will be better ones than we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonnenhof, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thanks for the review. As your arriving is now a year ago, I would like to write that the room was completely remodeled in winter 2010/11. We are the owner from hotel sonnenhof since 2007. Every winter we work for remodeling and renovation. Unfortunately, it is both temporally and financially impossible to finish everything at once, so it probably needs a few more years, until everything is to our own satisfaction. In the newly created comfort double room you can see what ideas we want to realize you.

Sincerely,
Sylvia Ullman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel at 3:30 PM, and no one was about, so parked the car in P1 (Free). Went back at 5:30 and met Sylvia. Our room was small, clean and very noisy due to the proximity to the railway line (Had to keep the window open due to the heat as small aircon unit was ineffective). However, despite this the comfy bed made for a very good nights sleep. As we had to manhandle the cases up to the 2nd floor via narrow stairs I would not recommend for the less able bodied.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for four nights, 2 couples, 2 motorbikes. Friendly, family run hotel, we were immediately given use of a garage. The hotel is clean and comfortable if a little dated and excellent value for money....we paid 60 Euros per room per night B & B. Nicely appointed breakfast room, the buffet breakfast had an excellent selection including bacon and scrambled eggs. The Sonnenhof is a 5 minute walk from the train station, 2 minutes from the town square and 5 mins from the Rhine, so is a great location from which to explore Boppard and Rheinland! Negatives...rooms alittle dated and small but comfortable. Our friends' room was slightly larger, but the bathroom had limited head room as they were in the attic rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenrobo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boppard hotels
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#1 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rheinhotel Lilie
Rheinhotel Lilie
#3 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
#4 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Guenther
Hotel Garni Guenther
#10 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
#11 of 19 in Boppard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rheinhotel Zur Krone
Rheinhotel Zur Krone
#14 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenhof

Property: Hotel Sonnenhof
Address: Kirchgasse 8, 56154 Boppard, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Boppard
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonnenhof 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonnenhof Boppard, Germany, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing