We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jakobsberg Hotel- & Golfresort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonnenhof(Boppard)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ebertor(Boppard)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
87
101
40
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
101
40
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstuffed animalsnice golf courserhine valleyspa facilitiesrooms are spaciousthree nightshariboerapity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We just stopped by to break up a journey but liked it so much we ended up going back the following night. The hotel has a great view of the Rhine and the surrounding countryside is perfect for walking or cycling. Breakfast offered everything we required and the spa is great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsnotpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel has lovely views of the Rhine and down to Boppard. It is about 6 kilometres out of Boppard on narrow windy roads so not really very good for going out at night if you wanted to do that.
The reception area is good and very efficient. Meals in the restaurant are OK but overpriced. If you can get a table overlooking the Rhine the view is fantastic. We later found out that you can have meals in the bar which are much cheaper and looked very nice. Breakfast choice was fine. There was someone cooking hot food but we did not see any menu or signs for what was available.
Rooms are nice and comfortable with a seating area and good bathroom. Plenty of free Haribo sweets everywhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a River view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling to Germany for many years now and make every effort to speak German where possible and it is safe to say this place provided us with the least respect and courtesy than any other we have visited. We booked 3 rooms, 2 doubles and a single. When we checked in, the single was in the attic and the doubles were at the farthest point possible in the basement. We politely (in German) requested a replacement single, or the possibility of relocating (upgrading if necessary) the rooms, so that we could be closer together and were practically told (with a smile) to get lost. After much arguing and deliberation, it turned out there was a vacant single room literally 12 doors from us. We enjoyed lunch at the Golf club, where the service was better. Some of our party then proceeded to enjoy the swimming pool etc. in the evening, we enjoyed a refreshing beer in the courtyard, whilst requesting a table in the restaurant. We were informed that the only table available was overlooking the courtyard and that it was not possible for a table at the window enjoying the (stunning) view down the Rhein. We didn't object and took the available table, only to find that the window seats with the view remained unoccupied for the duration of our being in the restaurant. The head waiter made no attempt to accommodate us, as in fact did the remainder of the German staff, in fact the best service came from a Polish waiter. Food was (just) acceptable, both in the evening and for breakfast, where we were put as far away from the buffet as possible, in one of the annex rooms. On the whole, this visit was spoilt by the staff and should have been so much better, given its price and the fact that it was owned by the owner of Haribo confectionery, free sweets did nothing to sweeten the experience. Got to be better available out there than this for the price (if you are from the UK).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceejmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha K, Manager at Jakobsberg Hotel- & Golfresort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Ceejmeister ,
Thank you very much that you have taken the time to share your experiences during your stay. It is always very important for us to get guest voices, be they positive or a reference to any failings or weaknesses, because just known mistakes can be eliminated. We apologize that your stay did not proceed satisfactorily.

Unfortunately, you have forgotten to mention some important points in your report.

The two double rooms have been reserved in a different room than the single room. Based on the room description that is shown during the reservation, it can be seen that the rooms are located in different parts of the building. Furthermore, the double rooms were not in the basement, rather on the ground floor and had a terrace with direct access to the garden.

Since our hotel was almost fully booked this weekend, unfortunately there was no way to change the single room to the same category than the two double rooms were booked. To ease the situation for you at least something, our colleague at the reception upgraded the single room for free to a higher category, so it is just "12 Doors" away and not another part of the building. The room rate difference of 30,00 Euro she waived to your favor.

Since in our restaurant is only a limited number of tables in the front window to the Rhine available, these have been reserved very early. Unfortunately, not in every case we know an exact time for the guest arrival, so it`s possible that these tables are occupied only later in the evening. In the breakfast area, all our guests have free seating choice. During peak times, it is possible that there are no seats in the main restaurant available for a short time. To avoid delays, we offer our guests more places in two adjoining rooms.

Thank you again for your comment and we would be happy if, if we could welcome you again at the Jakobsberg.

Horst Riese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Atop the hill overlooking the Rhine River Valley, the location is stunning. It's a 20-euro cab ride into Boppard, so not ideal if you're doing a lot of back-and-forth travel. For a spa escape, the location would be great. The facilities are incredible.

Downside: We made a reservation for the on-site restaurant and it took us 30 minutes to even get a menu. The poor restaurant service continued throughout our meal, and when we complained all we were told was that they had an off-night. No apologies or ways of improving over the rest of our two-night stay.

The rooms lack air conditioning but are spacious, the spa is wonderful, but the people don't quite live up to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent our anniversary weekend at the hotel and it was brilliant. The hotel is undergoing a phased refurbishment but doesn't effect the experience. The hotel has a facinating heritage of being a former monestry and the redevelopment has been done well. The half board package is great value and the cuisine is first class. The spa treatments are perfect with excellent leisure facilities the golf course is breathtakingly memorable with views of castles along with the river Rhein. The added bonus is the hotel's connection with Haribo which is evident with free bowls of Haribo all over the hotel :-) can't wait to book my next break!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TamTamJ-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews