We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but a little pricey”
Review of Hotel Ebertor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ebertor
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent location but a little pricey”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Have stayed here twice, both times in the motel type rooms in the annexe that surrounds the car park. These rooms are on two floors and offer everything that you need but are on the small size, particularly the bathrooms. Arriving on a motorcycle means you cannot use the designated parking places and you are put into any available space that can be found - you are still charged for this privilege although at a reduced rate. Breakfast is superb and served in a range of rooms that seem to go on forever. The staff are very friendly and helpful, making you feel welcome. Wi-fi is a problem as it only works in the public areas.

The hotel is situated on the main street overlooking the Rhine, a great location. As Boppard is a popular tourist area prices are high for what you get, just be prepared to pay.

Room Tip: Go for the expensive rooms in the main building rather than the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    95
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
107
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

!st class hotel with lovely views overlooking the Rhine, staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Hotel had a lovely covered bar area outside where we could have a drink and watch the cruise boats on the Rhine. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay in Boppard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bike320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I really don't know why this hotel is not 4 star. The hotel is located on the southern banks of the Rhine in Boppard. Staff were very friendly, food was excellently prepared and presented and very pleasing to the taste. The terraced garden/restaurant area overlooked the river and allows access to very attractive riverside walks.

Rooms are pleasingly furnished, beds are very comfortable ensuring a good nights rest. The rooms are spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, large and bright The bathroom is a good size, with towels etc changed daily.

The only things that I would suggest to improve the accommodation is the installation of air conditioning or at the very least, a fan for use during the summer months.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Post S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Ebertor sits on the south bank of the Rhine with the accommodation leading out to a terraced restaurant overlooking the water and giving access to very attractive riverside walks. The original main building is built in typical, handsome, Rhineland style. Adjacent to this and on two sides of the car park are later cottage-style apartments.
We found the staff at all levels to be polite, friendly and helpful with the possible exception of the Tunisian waiter who has a style that some might call eccentric and others would respond less well to.
We stayed for two nights spaced a week apart: the first night in the main building and the second in an external room.
The room in the main building overlooked the side and was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, large and bright. I have slept in smaller hotel rooms than the bathroom which had everything one might ask. Outside the double-glazed windows were fitted large wooden louvres whose use I only tumbled to as sound deflectors when I was reminded that a railway line runs along both banks of the Rhine and one of those was only about 50 yards away. The trains ran all night and frequently, making sleep very difficult. Thus, although the room itself was superb, the noise makes earplugs a necessity. If staying in the main building, I strongly recommend a riverside-facing room where train noise should not be a problem.
On the second stay, we slept in one of the annexe rooms. A very clean apartment but not reaching the same standard for size and oufitting as the previous room. Nevertheless, it was entirely satisfactory for a short stay and, best of all, we couldn't hear the trains and had a much better sleep.
The breakfast provided a very wide range of hot and cold food and anybody who left unsatisfied would have to be very picky indeed. Tea drinkers note: a hot water boiler is provided rather than a thermos of hot-ish water as usually found outside the UK
Dinner in the outside terraced restaurant provided an excellent location and the food was both good and moderate in price.
In summary, if it were not for the train noise, my ratings would all have been higher. I would be happy to stay again but I would take steps to be assured of a good night's sleep before I booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteamingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Breakfast was fine, looked nice, and lots to choose. it's ok stay, I wouldn't go again but I know some people don't care so it's fine to give recommendation...if you don't mind strange staff and surroundings...

No air conditioning when it's like burning hot outside, no fridge; shower bigger than the whole bathroom, doors almost touching the sink when opening closing, looks a bit old so need new refurbishment and the rooms are separate from the reception so very inconvenient if you wanna go and ask for something... strange place, smells of oldness and I hate that smell...oh and photos? nothing like we stayed in our room! total disaster!

Room Tip: Well they are all separate from the hotel!! so just ask for a river view at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This little place was recommended to us by the company we went to see. It was a quiet little place but the food was marvelous. The breakfast was like nothing in the US and all of the people were friendly with our non german speaking group.

Room Tip: If you ask you can get a view of the Rhine River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geof H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just left Boppard and the beautiful Hotel Ebertor. Wonderful people and so welcoming. Room was so comfortable and clean. Food was excellent, sitting overlooking the Rhine, watching the cargoes and hotel boats go by.The Proprietor Vera was so lovely, and we cannot wait to visit again. Boppard is also a very pretty interesting town, with everything going for it.Very clean and tidy.Beautiful flowers every where. Wow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne611949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boppard hotels
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#1 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rheinhotel Lilie
Rheinhotel Lilie
#3 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
#4 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
#11 of 19 in Boppard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel Bad Salzig
Park Hotel Bad Salzig
#6 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#15 of 19 in Boppard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ebertor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ebertor

Property: Hotel Ebertor
Address: Heerstr. 172, 56154 Boppard, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Boppard
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ebertor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ebertor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebertor Hotel Boppard
Hotel Ebertor Boppard, Germany, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing