We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small, friendly hotel - and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Certificate of Excellence
rpm1604
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“small, friendly hotel - and good value”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We only stopped one night en-route between the ferry in Rotterdam, and our next stop in Switzerland, so only needed somewhere convenient, clean - and preferably cheap. This hotel certainly ticks all those boxes, and adds friendly service to the list too.
John, the owner, even emailed us the day before our arrival (when we were en-route to the ferry from Hull) to let us know that the main road between Koblenz to the north and Bingen to the south were going to be closed to cars on Sunday (when we were arriving), but we'd be able to get to Boppard from the motorway anyway. A nice helpful touch!
The hotel is not on the river side, but is further into the town, nearer the railway line, and is in an almost pedestrianized zone, so I was a little concerned about where to park the car, but we were able to drive up to the hotel, unload our luggage, and then drive a couple of hundred metres away across the railway line to a free car park which was a 5 minute walk away. So no problem there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpm1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I had booked this property for three nights and within 10 minutes of arrival had extended it to 4 nights! John, his lovely wife and the premises had made us feel welcomed and at home within that time.

Having come from Paris we were blown away by the size of our spacious room.

John is a natural entertainer, tour guide and cannot stop giving each customer his full attention when asked for. He put us onto cheap train tickets, castle visits, great restaurants, local itinerary and cycle tours.

Breakfast time was a time of chatting to the other guests while John and his lovely wife delivered great food with smiles and chattiness. Guests felt comfortable talking to each other in this environment and it felt like a family gathering before the days activities.

This was the best place we stayed in on our 6-week holiday.

Oh... and if you ever have a couple of dead batteries lying around, don't throw them out, give them to John as he is sure to find a use for them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Laurene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was going to give 5 stars, but we had some shower problems in our room and a great shower is always one of my personal necessities for a hotel room. The shower would alternate between scalding hot and freezing cold. That aside, see below for all the things we loved.

We had a room on the second floor (3rd. Floor in the USA). Arrived early and they held our bags and brought them to the room for us. Room was spacious with good storage options. TV was very small and no English channels. Bathroom was decent size. Shower had a folding door that blocked out the light. There was also a fan in the floor for warm days.

Slept ok. Trains go by frequently, but I slept through them. Woke up one night to hear two guys downstairs yelling and screaming. Nothing the second night.

Breakfast was a nice setup and very tasty.

As everyone else said, what really makes this place so great is the owners. John went to the train station to get train tickets for us and lent us an umbrella. Karen was so helpful for driving directions to the ferry and parking lot.

It was a fabulous value and we would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I am not sure what I can add to the other glowing reviews except that we stayed in the newly renovated apartment number 5 which was very nice. There is a loft with two single beds in addition to the larger bed on the main floor. The apartment has a small refrigerator and extra sink in the living area, which is helpful when four people are trying to get ready in the morning. John is every bit as nice and helpful as everyone else has said, and it was nice to hear some fluent English after a week in Germany. He had our teens enthralled with his sense of humor and friendly personality right away. On our last morning, a very enthusiastic local festival took place in front of the hotel that involved raising a huge tree to a vertical position accompanied by a parading band and a beer cart. Kind of crazy but culturally interesting. Hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanibelrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I chose this hotel based on all the fantastic reviews. I agree, the city is enchanting and this hotel is charming, nice and clean. We spent three nights here.

The room number 2 was very spacious, the bed sheets embroidered with the hotel's name added to the charm. We did not sleep very well though. Not sure if it was because the mattress was too soft, or if it was because the bed squeaked when we moved.

The room and bathroom were ok lit. There was plenty of shelf-room to place the toiletries.
We had problems adjusting the temperature of the shower. At times the water would be burning hot and then suddenly change to ice cold.

There was ok silence during the night eventhought the hotel is located very near the train tracks. One could hear the trains passing from time to time during the night, but the windows did a good job keeping most of the noise out.

Wifi connection in the room worked very well, so did the television.

The breakfast was fantastic. It seemed that during the weekend the breakfast was brunch style with beans, bacon, scrambled eggs (btw, the scrambled eggs they served was superb!)

It looked like the hotel is a seven minutes walk from the train station. Coming by car, the parking lot is on the other side of the train tracks. It was free of charge to park there and it takes three to four minutes to walk back to the hotel from the parking lot.

All in all it is a very good hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrisSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We spent three days here (lucky us) Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The decor is quite dated but that really adds to the charm. The breakfast was fab with a great continental choice. You can sit outside on a warm night with a drink and chat to the locals. But what makes this hotel stand out is the proprietors. John is a wealth of knowledge and is never too busy to share it with you. He is happy to help with anything. He enjoys a bit of banter but is never intrusive. Karen is lovely and very attentive? I slept like a log it may have been the beer but I rather think it was because I felt so at ease and relaxed here. Thank you both very much I hope to return......soon

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We live in Darmstadt so Boppard is not too far away and we enjoy spending weekends there when we get the chance. The first time we went to Boppard we stayed at the Ohm Patt and we have stayed there every time since. If you like Hiltons, Sheretons and Inter Continentals this is not the hotel for you. If you like individual family run hotels don't look anywhere else. John and Karen have also recently got a house a few doors away from the hotel and created some lovely holiday apartments.
Visit Boppard stay at the Ohm Patt, enjoy the magic of the middle Rhine the fine wines and the many small excellent restaurents.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boppard hotels
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#2 of 19 in Boppard
530 reviews
3.1 mi away
Landgasthof Eiserner Ritter
0.2 mi away
Rheinhotel Lilie
Rheinhotel Lilie
#6 of 19 in Boppard
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
#11 of 19 in Boppard
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Guenther
Hotel Garni Guenther
#9 of 19 in Boppard
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#15 of 19 in Boppard
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt

Property: Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
Address: Steinstr. 30, 56154 Boppard, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Boppard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boppard is set in the heart of the Rhine valley, now a Unesco World heritage site with the longest span of Vineyards in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt Germany, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing