We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful "Ristorante Pizzeria" Italian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alla Fontana

Alla Fontana
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Sankt Goar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful "Ristorante Pizzeria" Italian Restaurant!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stumbled upon this charming little restaurant with a grapevine covered patio and luckily there was a free table. We thought to chance it and boy are we glad we did! The pasta was delicious! We did not feel that we needed to know German to order our food as someone posted here, the service was great and the inside of the restaurant looked wonderful as well if there's no room outside. The meal did not seem to cost more than any other average restaurant, really a wonderful value for the quality of food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FunintheSun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Genuinely Good Italian Food and Pizza”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Four New Yorkers agreed that the pizza at Alla Fontana was every bit as good as on the East Coast. The pasta dishes are also very good - would highly recommend the tortellini Gorgonzola. The restaurant is small with 4-5 tables on the terrace and a half dozen more inside. You may be disappointed if you are there in the high season and don't make a reservation. The staff speak German and French but the menu is easy to understand if English is your only language. Most dishes are ala carte but a few entree's do come with a salad. Like everywhere in Germany, you are never rushed and a meal can be enjoyed at a pleasant pace.

Ala Fontana is child-friendly. We also had a handicapped member in our group and the 2 stairs into the main restaurant were not too difficult to negotiate. However, the rest rooms are located down a flight of stairs and were not accessible to this member of our party.

I would definitely recommend Alla Fontana as they deliver good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
379 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Meal”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We found this place while wandering the small streets/alleys that sprout from the main drag. It had a cosy interior and an appealing menu so we chose to have a glass of wine, and following that, dinner. Both were very good and the restaurant was a welcome option to some of the more touristy choices opposite the Rhine River.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make a Reservation”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great food but make a res and speak german - OR ELSE!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snartie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
708 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Still outstanding restaurant”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We spent another night in Sankt Goar and ate at Alla Fontana yet again. Why mess with success? Gil, at Rhein Hotel, called and booked an outdoor table for us. The table was waiting for us upon arrival at 2000. All the food at the restaurant is outstanding and quite reasonably priced. My only complaint, and it was satisfied by drinking vino instead, is they serve bitburger, instead of a quality bier. I forgive them for this tragic oversight. My wife and I shared a capri-like salad for two, tortellini al forno, and pizza Caprissio. All were wonderful. Thanks to my Tripadvisor fellow travelers for originally turning us on to this outstanding restaurant. We'll be back upon our next stay in Sankt Goar.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alla Fontana also viewed

Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Alla Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing