We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, budget, value for money and a friendly owner”
Review of Hotel an der Fahre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel an der Fahre
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Location: The hotel just opposite the ferry crossing between St. Goar and St. Goarshausen (also the boarding/disembarking point for KD) and a minute walk down from the railway station. Close to nice restaurants, and two fast-food joints (one German and one Asian, towards the left when you get out of the hotel). Easy access to the hiking trails.

Rooms: The check-in is a bit early (12:00) compared to the rest of the hotels (usually from 14:00). The hotel is tastefully decorated. The rooms are a bit small, and squeaky but generally clean. I guess some rooms do have private washrooms but we stayed in a room with shared washroom. On the top floor, one washroom was shared with other two double rooms. The washrooms were clean.

The rooms with a view to the river are excellent. You can see the castle Katz just across the river. There is a main road right outside the hotel but we didn't find it noisy at night (we stayed on the top floor) even after leaving the windows open. Also the trains didn't disturb us at night.

Facilities: There was free wifi available throughout the hotel but it didn't work for us the last day. The breakfast consisted of coffee/tea, juice, breads, cheese, salami, jam, butter and a boiled egg. I guess you can keep your bike in the small backyard of the hotel.

Staff: The owner runs the hotel and he was very accommodating and friendly. Upon arrival he gave us a guide book marked with important sights around St. Goar and gave a few tips about the sight seeing. He was kind enough to lend his bikes for us to visit Oberwesel and take a bath in the Rhein (There is a small sandy beach just before the railway tunnel when you drive/bike towards Oberwesel) in the evening. He made sure we enjoyed our stay. Very caring and friendly man.

In short, we are satisfied with the value for money factor (40EUR while the next cheapest hotel charged 75EUR) and the pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DANZ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Hotel an der Fahre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Very friendly staff and great location right next to the river and car ferry. Very clean bedroom and ensuite. Interesting decor and a huge typical German breakfast of eggs, meats, cheese, breads, spreads, juice and tea/coffee served to your table in the dining room.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river - not always possible but well worth the ask!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Evan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for one night. It was 40 Euro a night, and you get what you pay for. The owner is so nice and very accommodating, he prepared a really nice traditional German breakfast for us in the morning.

The hotel itself is old and not the cleanest, but when your paying 40 Euro for a double room per night - you can’t expect 5 star quality.

If we were in St. Goar again, looking for a cheap place to stay - I’d go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a B&B place in St. Goar, walking distance from the tiny train station, nice view of Rheinfels castle but the hotel itself is old, creepy and old bed sheets. Armin is nice and very helpful in taking our luggage to the 3rd floor and tried to prepare a good breakfast but all in all his accommodation is poor based on average tourist standards. For the price of 50 euro per night, we got our money's worth.

Room Tip: It is an old hotel that needs a lot of improvement.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ebuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

stayed one night and what a really nice room big bed very nice view of river good breakfast helpful owner would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakedTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank fmjbrinkmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sankt Goar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rheinfels
Hotel Rheinfels
#3 of 14 in Sankt Goar
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
181 reviews
1.9 mi away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
#4 of 14 in Sankt Goar
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Loreleyblick
Hotel Loreleyblick
#7 of 14 in Sankt Goar
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Fahre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Fahre

Address: Heerstr. 47, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Price Range: £38 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel an der Fahre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel An Der Fahre Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing