We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Marianne are Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hauser

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sankt Goar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hauser
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
San Jose Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location and Marianne are Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

You can't beat the view. You're right there on the Rhine river looking out across the river, valley and view of castles. Marianne, the owner, is soooo friendly she makes the stay perfect. Food and service is also excellent. We have stayed there 3 times over past years and will be back again in April. Charles and Kim from San Jose, Ca

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roermond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

the owner was very nice, the view was more than fantastic and the food coudn't be better.
the rooms are very old but very clean. we missed a tv because in the evening everything was closed

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside Park, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

My fiance' and I stayed at Hotel Hauser after we stayed three previous nights at an establishment in St. Goar. I truly can't say which was better, because both were so spectacular! When I was setting up my reservation online with Marianne, the owner, she let me know that we didn't have to commit a room with a credit card (we were flying standby, and therefore we were concerned about missing a night or two due to flying issues), and that she would hold the room for us for the dates we needed, she only wanted us to let her know as soon as we firmly knew our plans. This was greatly appreciated by us.

Hotel Hauser is located right on the main strip in St. Goar, literally just a throw from the train station. We were warmly greeted when we walked in and were immediately taken up to our room. Wow! The first thing I noiced were the incredible 10 foot high ceilings that gave the room (which was good sized to begin with) a really charming open feeling.
Plenty of comfortable period furniture filled the whole room. And, to top it off, when we opened our balcony door, WHAT A VIEW!

For the money, this hotel is a wonderful value. Clean, comfortable, perfect location, friendly staff. We would love to stay here on our next trip to Germany.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vangoghlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

The hotel is very well situated on the banks of the Rhine. Right next to it is a car park which always had spaces in high season and which cost €3.50 for a 24 hour ticket. The pier for the boat cruises on the Rhine is within 200 metres and the shuttle train to the castle is even closer.

The staff are very friendly and the proprietor speaks perfect English and is most helpful. The waitress serving breakfast is cheerful but the breakfasts themselves are poor by German standards - some average rolls and a small selection of meat and cheese: with some old-fashioned powder muesli on request.

Try not to be put off by the decor when you are shown to your room: the hallways are reminiscent of a not very nice English seaside B&B from the 1950's. Not all the rooms are ensuite - ours was and the shower worked fine but do note that the "bathroom" is actually one very large moulded plastic cube in the corner of the bedroom.

The bedroom's decor was only a little better than the hallway although it was equipped with a new bed and wardrobe.

Much of the faults were made up for by the small balcony with its beautiful view over the Rhine and by the warmth of the welcome. Sitting out on the balcony sipping the drinks we were given on arrival, was a lovely start and, best of all.......from there, we couldn't see the decor !

I should add that we ate a couple of times at the very pleasant Hotel Zur Loreley just along the road and, based on its clean, bright restaurant, we'd give that a try on a future visit to St Goar

  • Liked — The view from the balcony; the location
  • Disliked — The decor; the plastic cube bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

This was a very charming place but very basic. My sister and I shared a descent size room with a balcony which had a view to die for. The room was very clean, tiny bathroom, and the bed and pillows however made for a not so comfortable sleep. Hard bed and pillows that where very thin and flat. Ms. Velich and staff were nice but I wouldn't say they went above and beyond as other reviews have noted. Over all it was a nice stay the view from our balcony made up for any short comings.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom, bed and pillows
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJKelly1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

After 5 stays at the Hauser in Sankt Goar, this is by far my favorite hotel. It is an EXCELLANT value!

Frau Velich and her staff are just fantastic. They are as helpful to travelers as anybody out there.

The rooms are nice. They are very clean and roomy. And the balcony views of the Rhein from the front rooms just can't be beaten!

The hotel's restaurant cooks up some great German cuisine at affordable prices also. Don't miss the wiener schnitzel and the saurbraten! :-)

The breakfast is a nice mix of luncheon meats, cheese, juice, wonderful coffee, and very good bread.

I'll be leaving for Europe again in 4 days and will be staying at the Hauser twice more during this trip.

I recommend it highly!

  • Liked — The value for your Euro
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bepineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

Although the Hotel Hauser is basic and "well-worn", its helpful, kind staff more than makes up for any renovations the hotel could use. It could best be described as homey, hospitable and clean. The proprietor, Ms. Velich, went above and beyond the call of duty. She even helped us with a load of laundry...a long story, but suffice it to say she saved us a great deal of time, engery, and money. The attached restaurant has good food with a great view of the Rhine. We loved the typical German breakfast that was served. It's a nice location for touring the valley, and the prices were incredible.

  • Liked — cost / views
  • Disliked — a little run down
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sturgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sankt Goar
1.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
0.1 mi away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rheinfels
Hotel Rheinfels
#3 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
1.7 mi away
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
#4 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hauser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hauser

Property: Hotel Hauser
Address: Alte Heerstr. 77, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hauser St Goar
Hotel Hauser Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing