We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy - floods and all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Whilst we arrived whilst the flood waters were lapping into reception and the dining room, the host could not have been more helpful and apologetic. The room was spotless, spacious and homely. Should the conditions have been different, you could not ask for a better location or outlook. We would not hesitate to stay again. We wish the owners well after the floods.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LSL_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed there beginning of June, but there was no residue of flooding at all. Room was spotless and the restaurant was also clean, no idea that there had been flooding up to the waist 10 days before! We had a one bedroom facing a tiny alley. 3 large windows, so plenty of light. We had booked half board and are very glad we did. Breakfast with excellent rolls, scrambled eggs or hard boiled, cold meats and cheese, home made jams and yoghurt, and fresh fruit, (bananas, apples).
The suppers were really good, 4 courses (soup, salad or cold meat dish, main meal and always excellent dessert).
Helpings were huge, I gained a few pounds just from those meals, because of course I had to finish my plates :-) Very good kitchen.
Also, I had purchased a disposable cell phone while I was in another large town nearby (Sankt Goar is too small). The store gave me a pin number, which I threw out once I got back to the hotel. I don't need a PIN with my canadian cell. Well, once you shut down a european cell, you need a PIN to be able use it....and my PIN was in the garbage!
I called the hotel (they closed on Tuesdays) and Alexandra told me that she would help me find it. So I met her at the large garbage bins and we trolled through the garbage and she found it. So many kudos for her for thinking she could find a piece of cardboard with my PIN and for finding it.

Room Tip: They don't have air conditioning. When we were there is was during a short 3 day heat wave, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryanne466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We arrived in St Goar as flood waters receded in early June 2013. The proprietor, Sebastian Burch, had emailed me a day or two in advance to warn about Rhine flooding (the Elbe and Danube were having historic floods at the same time and we saw nothing in the press about the Rhine). When we called on the day we arrived, he said to come down and meet him; he would be out cleaning up. Driving in though Biebernheim, we literally were the first car past the "high water" sign as they took it down. We found Herr Burch as he said and we also saw the extent of the flood damage. Most of the ground floors of all the buildings on Heerstrasse had been underwater and businesses were slowly reopening. In spite of the mess Herr Burch and his staff had been dealing with, he apologized that we could not stay, but that he had arranged rooms for us at a nearby hotel (which turned out to be very nice). He told us to come back when settled in and he could organize discounts for the boats and Rheinfels Castle. We were moved by his concern for visitors who should have been is guests and his obvious willingness to help in spite of working 24 hours to restore his property. We occasionally experience such generous hospitality and under the circumstances, this was exceptional. I have no reservations--although we did not stay in this property--recommending this hotel and hope we can return one day to stay here. Herr Burch will make a stay in Sankt Goar all the more enjoyable and memorable

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Excellent hotel to use as a base for exploring the Rhine and Moselle. Great value, friendly staff. Included breakfast had good variety and dinner was also good value. Alessandra and Sabrina spoke good english and were very helpful. Great place to stay.,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthCoastAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The gorgeous town on Sankt Goer is on the Rhine and picture perfect - staying at Zur Lorelely just made it that much better!

We stayed in the three HUGE bedroom apartment, which had great beds and was perfectly clean. The hospitality of everyone at Zur Loreley is the reason that the hotel was fully booked when we were there, and the restaurant was completely busy at all times (from people staying as well as tourists). We knew the apartment was a walk up on the third floor , but we needed a little exercise with the delicious breakfasts (included in the price) and dinners we enjoyed there.

The hotel staff help with everything from tours to the castle, cruises on the Rhine and wine purchases (we did them all!). Did I mention what a BARGAIN the hotel is compared to everywhere in Europe....obviously a well kept secret. Thanks Sebastian and team!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luey9189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I and his mother stayed in Sankt Goar at Zur Lorely for a week. The whole experience was lovely. Staying in the top floor apt was perfect lots of space and 2 bathrooms. The food in the restaurant was fanatic, we go back every year now to have dinner and see the wonderful staff.
The proximity to the Rhine, the cruise boats, the train and the castle ruins was perfect also. I recommend this place to any one going to Germany and the Rhine area.

Room Tip: Apt #22 Has it's own roof top belcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Apartment Sonnensite is one of the apartments across from hotel restaurant Zur Lorely. We stayed here roughly half way through an 8 week trip travelling independently by train, mostly staying in hotels, so, it was just what the doctor ordered to at last have an apartment. Amazingly it was cheap too, our cheapest accommodation in Germany at 50 EUR per night for the two of us. We tend to travel off peak (it was October) as the weather is cooler and prices much lower.
We had 5 nights in the apartment which we used as our base for exploring the towns of the upper middle Rhine. Sonnensite is large, light, bright and smack bang in the middle of Sankt Goar, across the road from the restaurant Zur Lorely where the owners live. The meals there by the way were large and very, very tasty. However having our own kitchen meant that it was a novelty to cook again in the adequately equipped kitchen (pretty no frills but all the basics were there). The bathroom is an ok size but certainly looks like an add on or afterthought as it is curiously situated off the kitchen, but hey, it was clean and towels changed every second day.
There were a couple of flights of stairs to go up to get to number 19 and make sure early on that you locate the timed light switches as its quite dark in the hallway and stairwell in the night time. A little noise filtered through from another apartment but nothing disturbing, but honestly, at 50 EUR a night it beats the heck out of most small, cramped hotel rooms. The large bedroom had a Queen bed and a single, which we revelled in spreading out our bags on to repack, instead of trying to do that job on those little bag racks most hotels have. Directly downstairs at street level is the tourist office so, that was handy. We got maps and instructions and did a couple of awesome walks. St Goar to Oberwessel was the best, great scenery and a couple of great places to stop for a drink on the way.
Just across the Rhine within an easy ferry ride, as walk on passengers if like us you don’t have a car, is St Goarshausen, so staying here feels like getting two quaint towns for the price of one.
So, don’t expect fancy and you’ll be very happy here as we were. The apartment had internet, but from memory I think it was plug in.

Room Tip: Apartment # 19 Sonnensite looks over the main, mostly pedestrianised street at the hotel restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sankt Goar hotels
0.1 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rheinfels
Hotel Rheinfels
#3 of 14 in Sankt Goar
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel an der Fahre
Hotel an der Fahre
#7 of 14 in Sankt Goar
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Loewen
Hotel Zum Goldenen Loewen
#6 of 14 in Sankt Goar
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley

Address: Heerstr. 87, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Price Range: £71 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation starts right here The German Rhine river valley with its castles, vineyards, cruise boats, museums and small towns is certainly a unique experience. Our journey takes you through the heart of the valley around the famous Lorelei Roc area Unesco Welterbe Mittelrhein. We have lots of practical tips for you to quickly help you feel "at home" here. Enjoy a comfortable stay *** Choose between holiday flat in our 3-star category, our 2- and 3-room suiten and juniorsuite, rooms with shower and WC, partly with a balcony and all with color cable TV and telephone. Our breakfast buffet in the morning and half-board evening meal with a choice of menu accompanied by a glass of Rhine river wine round off your comfortable stay with us. Wine store in our hotel We look forward to your visit and extend a warm welcome. The Burch Family and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhine Hotel Sankt Goar
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing