We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely valley for a day outing”
Review of Mosel Valley

Mosel Valley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The beautiful rolling hills situated along the Mosel River make for one of Europe's great wine valleys.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely valley for a day outing”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Mosel Valley is very pretty, and it is a delightful day outing for a drive. Lodging tends to be pricier than the Rhine Valley, but the wonderful castle, Burg Eltz, is close by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidColorado_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    77
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“cycle the Mosel from Trier to Koblenz”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spectacular ride, about 220 km in 4 days. Picturesque scenery the whole way: Roman ruins, medieval castles, quiet stretches along the river, vineyards and more vineyards!
Enjoyed the many small towns, but appreciated the services in larger centres of Bernkastel, Traben & Cochem (supermarkets, tourist centres etc.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JML544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
462 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, picturesque villages, vast vineyards”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We traveled on the Mosel River for several days. I never got tired of watching the scenery or visiting some of the towns. Being on the Mosel was the highlight of our cruise though five countries on the Rhine and the Mosel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travel7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were lucky enough to have a rental car and drove this entire area to show our son and his friend. There are plenty of parkplatz to stop at and take pictures.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Springtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs-Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Mosel & Bernkasel-Kues”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having read some of the reviews it would appear we are all in agreement, this place is "ACE" !!!
WE have been going to the "Mosel" & Bernkasel-Kues for circa 20 years plus , we never get fed up with anything at all, we have made friends with several weinguts and buy a car load of wine every year !! ( not all for us , the family put there orders in prior to the trip).
This year we are going in early September, however we booked our accommodation in March , as at present (June) many of the gasthauses are full up, however there is sooooo many families offering "zimmer frei" along the banks of the Mosel in all the villages, you will always find something on B&B , which costs circa 50-60 Euros per night.(for 2 persons inc breakfast)

If Bernkasel-Kues is full up simply go up or down the river , I suggest the next village of Braunenberg ( its where The Hairy Bikers - (TV show) made bread with the local baker - "the slow prove"- we bought bread there & its yummy )
Or slightly further up "Zell" - super spot with great wine - " Schwarze Katz"
the black cat is on every wine - comes from the story of an Abbott buying wine from a selection of barrels many years ago. He made his choice & pointed to a particular barrel - the wine maker wasn't quite sure which barrel - then the Abbott pointed to the barrel that happened to have a black cat sitting on it. Some months later he wrote a letter to the wine maker asking to have more wine delivered - (in his letter he said "the wine barrel with the black Cat on it " )Try the Dornfelder Rotwein- a lovely velvety red wine - we just love it circa 6 Euros a bottle
This story soon went around the town & all the wine producers set up labels depicting a black cat in various forms. Enjoy the wine and the views, & eat lots of schnitzels !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mosel Valley also viewed

Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
Wierschem, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Mosel Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing