We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but so noisy!”
Review of Hotel Zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bernkastel-Kues
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location but so noisy!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Zur Post is a nice hotel with a great location to the old city. Our room was very clean, and had enough space for our baggage. The bathroom was a bit small, but nothing terrible. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We found the Zur Post in one of our guidebooks for the Mosel region and we were able to make a same-day reservation and the price was affordable. But, unfortunately, our room was right off the main road and I cannot stress how loud it was around 5-6 in the morning with all of the big trucks speeding through the buildings and coming to a halt at the bottom of the hill, which meant even more noise. There was really nothing we could do about it because we were visiting in the heart of the hot summer. If you are a sound sleeper, this is the place for you. My husband was able to sleep through the noise, but I was not. If we visit Bernkastel again, I do not think this would be at the top of our list for accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited Bernkastel last December for the Christmas markets and decided to see what it was like in the Summer and we had a wonderful time. The Hotel is superb, the staff friendly the food and drink excellent.

I see the comments about noise but that is a very subjective view it didn't bother us and we were at the front facing the road

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firebobby999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Zur Post is an excellent hotel for tourists who want to have quality accomadations in a great location that allows easy access for touring the Mosel Valley area by either road or by the river itself. Although slightly dated the rooms are large, clean and comfortable, and the service is excellent. We arrived in Bernkastle Kues sufferring from jet lag and badly overslept the next morning, the hotel staff realizing this not only made every effort to ensure we were not disturbed, but kept a hot breakfast for us two hours past the normal breakfast hours! Two of the staff in particular, Lara and Jenn, constantly went out of their way to provide us with local information and to make us feel at home. Thankyou, we will return to enjoy your hospitality again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonC404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is easy to find, on the main road on the edge of town very close to the river so ideally located for visiting the area. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and breakfast was good. Staff were helpful and friendly. The wifi was however a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our room was pleasant and very clean, and breakfast was good, but that's about it. The hotel is (unsurprisingly!) on the main road through Bernkastel and because of the proximity of buildings, is extremely noisy as traffic noise seems to echo around the courtyard, becoming amplified as it does so. We couldn't close the windows because we were there during a heatwave, and there is no air conditioning. Our room (no 21) was situated immediately above the rear entrance so that as well as traffic noise we were regaled with the sound of drunken gentlemen returning from their revelries in the early hours of the morning, and with the smell of their cigarettes drifting in through our open windows. Not conducive to a good night's sleep! Don't bother with the restaurant for evening meal - the menu is very limited and so dull that although we had booked a table we left in order to find something nicer to eat - there are plenty of good eating establishments elsewhere in the town. A useful base if you have to travel through, but not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay during hot weather - no air conditioning and noisy if windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeDaviesBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telemark County, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is easy to access if you are arriving with boat, as me. I had a large room in 2th floor, at the backside. Absolutely no view, but in a hot summer I think this must have been one of the best places in the hotel, no problem to get sleep even with 29 degree Celsius outside. Very few small hotels at the countryside have air condition. Check in was efficient, pleasant room and clean bath. Only shower, but that’s ok for a night or two. They had heavy winter quilt (duvet) in July, to hot to be used. Internet connection are slow, but it might be better in reception area.
The breakfast room is ok, a bit small selection of salami, ham and cheese (no bacon), but you survive. After breakfast I stayed in the room a while before going out. The cleaning staff went straight into the room without knocking on the door while I was doing my stuff in the bathroom, not pleasant. The restaurant close at 21:00, that’s a bit early for most people when you are on holiday.

Room Tip: No point of having room in the front, just noise. Ask for a back side room, no traffic noise and col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramses2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We found this hotel last minute for the Mosel Wine festival. They allowed us to view the room before accepting it. The room was a family room on the fourth floor, very large with a sitting area and a separate room with two twin beds, a queen sized bed in the main room. It was plenty big enough for a family of five. They could not put an extra bed in the room, however one of our children slept on the couch and they did provide extra bedding. The bathroom was very clean and looked recently remodeled. Overall the room was very clean, furniture a bit dated, but didnt take away from the room. Breakfast was included, typical European fare, but very tasty. Friendly staff, spoke English very well and was helpful. Hotel is located just a block or two from the center of town. Beautiful town to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muchtocee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bernkastel-Kues hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#8 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marchenhotel
Marchenhotel
#4 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burgblick Hotel
Burgblick Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sankt Maximilian
Hotel Sankt Maximilian
#6 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben
Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstub...
#3 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roemischer Kaiser
Roemischer Kaiser
#12 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Post

Property: Hotel Zur Post
Address: Gestade 17, 54470 Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bernkastel-Kues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bernkastel-Kues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing