We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History in modern style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Bernkastel-Kues
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very romantic place in old german style, but whit very modern and comfort rooms. Every room is diffrent. Felt like in the film Hobit :) so nice.
Some big bathroom (some huge) some small. Good beds, even the single are ok for a couple. Nice personal, not everybody speaking english, but very helpfull. Good breakfast. Clean.

Minus - Wifi doesn´t worked in rooms. Just in lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our visit to Hotel Doctor Weinstuben started with a friendly welcome from the front desk clerk and one of the restaurant waiters. They answered all of our questions and showed us to our rooms which were ready even before the published check-in time. The rooms were very comfortable. Best part is that the hotel is close to the old town in Bernkastel-Kues so it was easy to get around and enjoy the nearby shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, the dining rooms are fascinating and worth exploring and the courtyard is quiet and private. We were upgraded to a newly refurbished suite which was a pleasant surprise, this had a high specification ensuite shower room. Dining is a little expensive compared to the local choice.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bobmk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. The building is one of those very old, yet very beautifully and carefully renovated buildings. It is enjoyable to just walk around the place and discover nooks and crannies with lots of history, and some great views of the surrounding vineyards. Our rooms were on the top floor overlooking the rooftops and vineyards of the town. Despite the ancient, romantic building, the rooms were all newly renovated with top notch, modern interiors. The only downside was the elevator stopping short one floor and you have to take the stairs to the last landing - no issue for us youngsters, but the parents-in-law struggled with the suitcases.

We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs, which is, like the rest of the hotel, ancient-looking and very romantic, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant meals (both dinner and breakfast) and service were hands down some of the best we had on the Mosel. The hotel is located in the heart of Bernkastel-Kues, ideally located to explore the town. I was sad to leave this hotel, and left Bernkastel with a heavy heart, wishing we could sell up and move there :-) Stay at this lovely place if you can to soak up some history and comfort, you will not regret it!!! Best place we stayed at on our 10 day trip on the Mosel and Rhine.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs, ask for a room on a lower level that can be reached by the elevator. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is in an old and rather quaint building, although the rooms are modern and comfortable. The location is excellent in the heart of the old town, although since the area is pedestrianized you have to drag luggage quite a distance from the public car park. We had a real problem finding a parking space when we arrived in the middle of the afternoon - the town doesn't really have enough parking space for visitors and it is even worse on a Wednesday when market traders take over a sizeable chunk of the available river front parking. That aside, the service in the hotel was friendly, and the inclusive breakfast hearty and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hairyscot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Doctor Hotel for 4 nights recently and used Bernkastel-Kues as a base to explore the Moselle Valley and sample the wines. Centrally located along the Moselle River valley of Germany, the city has a nice charm to it, especially with its half-timbered houses. The hotel is old school on the outside but as noted by others has been modernly renovated inside. I had a room facing the inner courtyard but with the weather wet the noise from diners in the garden below was minimal. I ate several times at the restaurant and found the food good, although a little bit pricey (but not too much) and the interior of the dining room is worth the price – huge wood posts and rafters, brick, and country knickknacks decorate the place.

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and can help direct you to activities – biking or hiking being the most popular. There are numerous restaurants and wine bars within short walking distances all around.

Parking can be a challenge - you can either fight for a paid parking spot by the river or pay a couple more €s for secure parking just up the hill from the hotel. I recommend the latter, especially if you've bought a lot of wine.

Overall a very nice stay for a reasonable price in a clean, efficient country-style hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmooveP_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband I visited Bernakastel for the wine festival and decided while we were there it'd be nice if we could find an available room and we got lucky that a couple had to depart early and there was an available room at Doctor Weinstuben. It was the first hotel we checked, was a good price and the location couldn't have been better so we took it and I still can't stop talking about how happy I was with the hotel! The room was a great size with comfy beds and a great bathroom. The staff was very friendly and welcoming and we awoke to a great breakfast. We currently live in Germany and travel as much as we can and this hotel is by far the best we've stayed in!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 110, it is right outside the courtyard so you can hear others while they are enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernkastel-Kues
0.6 mi away
Burgblick Hotel
Burgblick Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moselpark
Moselpark
#10 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marchenhotel
Marchenhotel
#4 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lifestyle Resort zum Kurfursten
Lifestyle Resort zum Kurfursten
#1 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
919 reviews
2.9 mi away
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevue
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevu...
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Christiana's WeinArtHotel
Christiana's WeinArtHotel
#6 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben

Address: Hebegasse 5, 54470 Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bernkastel-Kues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bernkastel-Kues
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bernkastel-Kues
Price Range: £82 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doctor Weinstube Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing