We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully unique hotel!”
Review of Marchenhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marchenhotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Bernkastel-Kues
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully unique hotel!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice, first on a last minute mini-honeymoon, and again on our one year anniversary. We ate at the hotel restaurant (Anno 1640) both times, see my review on that for more.
We booked the 2 night package both times. Each room is unique so we picked a different one each time. The rooms are very quaint but comfortable and are decorated to match each fairytale they are named after. The package comes with a private bath for two, and private session in the hot-tub with champagne. The bath is incredibly relaxing, they put a bit of lavender in the water and you could easily fall asleep in the massive tub. The hot tub experience is very nice and private, and you would not expect such a nice setup in such a small hotel. The package also comes with breakfast in bed for two days which was incredible, and a 3 course meal one night at the restaurant, which I gave 5 stars to in my separate review.
The service for the hotel was perfect, everything we asked for we got immediately. Caeser and Patrick were very accommodating in particular and let my wife and I stay late in the cigar lounge (which was another nice surprise) and have a few late night drinks.
I can't say enough good things about this place. Its supposedly been open for over 10 generations and it shows. They really take pride in their hotel and their service.
The location is perfect as well, walking distance to everything you want to see in town.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel website and look at pictures of each room before you pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weinstube, Owner at Marchenhotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Russell,

your extremely satisfied comments and your friendly words let us feel more than happy.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for the second time and for the celebration of your one year anniversary.

We are delighted to hear that the services and facilities of our hotel have met again all your expectations. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. We will share your kind feedback with our staff and would be very pleased to prove our hospitality for a third during your a next stay.

We wish you happy Easter and send our warmest regards from the „fairytale“ Märchenhotel!

Sincerely
Stefan Krebs and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    59
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
210
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Small family owned hotel (for the past 10th generation according to the hotel pamphlet) in a real timbered house right in the middle of the old town centre. Our room was quite small but clean. Breakfast was fine. Service was excellent and very friendly. Meals were above standard with fresh produce from the region and with the appropriate wine for each course. I have absolutely no complaint. But my spouse did make a remark that there shouild have been a full size mirror in the room ! We did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clearsea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weinstube, Inhaber at Marchenhotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to learn about your excellent experience with us and that you enjoyed the holiday in our fairytale hotel.

Our hotel is family owned for more than three hundred years now and it was always our utmost aim to offer our guests a wonderful time. We feel honored that you liked the familiar and cozy atmosphere and the warm and personal service. For the next stay we recommend to ask for the different features of our rooms. They are all very individual, we also find one with a full size mirror!

We enjoyed looking after you and we hope, to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Sincerely
Stefan Krebs und das Team vom Märchenhotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice and authentic hotel and a friendly service. Nice rooms and very clean! Breakfast is very good! Hotel is located in the middle of the old city and a private parkingplace for the Märchenhotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I think we must have had the last room. It was small and dark green. Very old fashioned. Noise from toilet all night. Food very expensive and couldn't quite understand the fairy tale link. Member of staff and management very good and helpful especially Liam from Wales. We took our owe fan as there was no air conditioning and was a god send. Breakfast no variety and expensive for what you got. Only stayed 1 night. The car had to be parked a mile away as the hotel in right in the centre of town which is pretty much for pedestrians only. The town itself was lovely, but in the evening a lack of places to eat. Prices very expensive and not value for money.

Room Tip: If turning up on spec make sure you see the room first. If not ask for the largest room they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weinstube, Manager at Marchenhotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks for your criticism, which we are always happy to answer to. We are very happy that our service was to your liking. You booked on of the standard rooms, so they are of course not comparable to our romantic rooms. Breakfast is priced at €7,50 per person which we find is very reasonable. Because we are located in a historic town, parking spaces are difficult to come by and impossible to build so it is unfortunately the case that some parking spaces are not located directly next to the hotel. But we checked the distance you said and google maps says the distance is 550m from parking space to hotel. There are over 25 restaurants in the town, including our hotel restaurant. Ofcourse we will happily provide fans to our guests should they request one.

Greeting from the Mosel,

Stefan Krebs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We checked trip advisor and decided to try Marchen hotel. We stayed there for three days. The location of the hotel is very good at a quite cobbled street. Our room was big, but without air-condition. It was very warm but we had the door open. The breakfast buffet was very good, they even had German champagne.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vestfolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A.
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while in Bernkastel. This is a very nice boutique location and my room was very nice and comfortable. Did not have a view but no complaints. Breakfast is splendid with everything to choose from. Staff are excellent and pay attention to details. I even tried their pizza one afternoon with a glass of Reisling and it was delicious. I would stay here again, no question.

Room Tip: ask for a view room if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-JL.a.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTWERPEN
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We again enjoyed our second stay in this very nice and cosy hotel. Last time it was in the room "Träume Der Nacht" and now in "Schneeköningin". Again the diner and breakfast was very good + the staff are so friendly.

We shall certainly be back.

Little remark for the kitchen ; wait a little bit longer between courses when serving dinner so that food can be enjoyed even more.

Room Tip: The Romantic zimmer are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANNY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bernkastel-Kues hotels
1.5 mi away
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfuersten
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfue...
#1 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burgblick Hotel
Burgblick Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben
Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstub...
#3 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Christiana's WeinArtHotel
Christiana's WeinArtHotel
#5 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#8 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moselhotel Leyendecker
Moselhotel Leyendecker
#15 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marchenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchenhotel

Property: Marchenhotel
Address: Kallenfelsstr. 25 - 27, 54470 Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bernkastel-Kues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Bernkastel-Kues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marchenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marchenhotel and Restaurant anno 1640 - Bernkastel-Kues, Mosel So, you'd like to spend more time with your loved-one, shortly forget your day-to-day life and stress? How about a trip to cozy Bernkastel-Kues? This romatic city on the Moselle river is perfect for a romatic get-away!Nestled between unending vineyards you can find the historic city-center of Bernkastel-Kues. With its winding roads, small shops and beautiful wood-timbered houses, this is a perfect opportunity for extensive shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marchenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing