We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite decent location, however, bad condition like from the 50ies”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Drei Konige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Drei Konige
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Bernkastel-Kues
Basel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quite decent location, however, bad condition like from the 50ies”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

location is quite good but if you book via booking.com don't get too impressed by the pictures.. however, the condition/style is depending on one's taste but still they def. would have to do some renovations.
Besides, they offer breakfast which is reasonable but not super only from 8-10h which if you call yourself 'romantic' isn't not so romantic at all if you know what I mean.
Hence I suggest, that the very high pricing is not okay!
During our stay we've found some few very nice little hotels/inns which seem to be much more cozy and such - I suggest go there and also have their nice food in the evening (Flammkuchen with some White Wine)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, room was adequate, but the location and view made up for the price for one night, extremely close to the st. Nikolaus mosel wine cellar, two minute walk. The view from this side of the river is way better than staying "in town" and it took us less than five minutes to walk to restaurants, shopping etc. our room had a balcony and we could lay in bed and see the castle! Not sure if all rooms have a balcony and view but ours was great!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The old hotel was once gorgeous but it is having trouble living up to its Hotels.com's 3star rating. Clean and comfortable but in need of some major updating. We enjoyed the great view of the Mosel and the castle. Since there wasn't a restaurant we were unable to peruse the great wine cellar. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Get the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were three persons staying in room 54 which was spacious and clean and had a stunning view of the Mosel river and the hills and the castle on the other side of the river. The beds were clean and comfortable but there were spots on the carpet and the bathroom was a bit outdated. Our friends stayed in room 52 and the view from their room was just as fantastic.

Thanks to our very early arrival we were able to to get two of the very few parking places so if you come by car you had better arrive before noon.

The breakfast was excellent and it was served in a beautiful breakfast room.

This was a perfect place to stay for our short visit to Bernkastel-Kues.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Old German style building, perfectly located for great views watching the barges plying the river Mosel. Clean, comfortable bed, roomy with balcony. Nice bathroom, bath & shower, plenty of hot water and towels. Reception staff friendly, lift available and excellent breakfast. Wi-fi good and overall pleasant stay though cost for room was high. Lovely restaurants throughout Bernkastel and despite the large number of tourists the town had a nice feel about it. Plenty to see and do in the region with vineyards, castles or travelling on the river.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river for the view but can be hot in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is the second time to stay at this hotel on both occasions i found the hotel to be clean and comfortable.the breakfast was ample with lovely fresh bread cheese and ham and all the rest.the one problem is the internet is only available at the reception and on the stairs,amd i read from a previous review in 2011 an amplifier was to be installed but my experience this has not been done.wifi access is imperative for the modern day traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We enjoyed the traditional, old German style, Hotel Drei Konige. It is located on the river, with wonderful views. We had a large corner room with charming dormer windows. There was some traffic noise but it didn't bother us. The hotel is in easy walking distance to everything, including old town. Bargain priced. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bernkastel-Kues hotels
0.3 mi away
Marchenhotel
Marchenhotel
#3 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#8 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burgblick Hotel
Burgblick Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sankt Maximilian
Hotel Sankt Maximilian
#7 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstuben
Hotel Restaurant Doctor Weinstub...
#4 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Christiana's WeinArtHotel
Christiana's WeinArtHotel
#6 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drei Konige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Konige

Property: Hotel Drei Konige
Address: Bahnhofstr. 1, 54470 Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bernkastel-Kues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Bernkastel-Kues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Drei Konige 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Drei Konige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing