We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”

Gasthaus zum Domnapf
Ranked #11 of 132 Restaurants in Speyer
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
England UK
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were staying at the Ibis Hotel but they sent us here for dinner and what a very pleasant surprise it was too. Split-level restaurant with a bar area on the upper section. Right opposite the cathedral in the older part of town. Although it was quite busy they coped very well with our party and we didn't wait for our meal or drinks (nice litre of Bischoff beer). Soup; salad course; grilled chicken dish and an ice cream/chocolate sauce to finish with. All well cooked and well presented.
We would recommend this restaurant to ayone visiting Speyer. Try also the home-brew pub next door (DomHof Hausbraurie)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    51
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, England
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good group meal”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Dined with a group of 26 and the set menu food was delicious, especially the mezze starter. We arrived later than reservation (thanks to German railways) and were 4 people more than expected, but they took that in their stride. Would love to go back when not so tired from long day's travel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jantoby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Good service and good food. The gasthaus even has a few senior dishes. So if you do not want those huge wiener schnitzels this is a nice alternative. Card in English available and staff speaks English as well. Moderate prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JJN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The 2 of us shared half a liter of non alcoholic beer, aparently elected the best in the world.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeertVdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELLEVUE
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food with great service”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We ate lunch at the Gasthof zum Domnapf. The decor is light and airy, while still paying homage to the half timbered heritage of the building. The menu features local German specialties along with Greek cuisine. My daughter had the shashlik, my wife the braised lamb shank while I had the saumagen and leberknodel. All were excellent with good portion size.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gozer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthaus zum Domnapf also viewed

Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Gasthaus zum Domnapf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing