We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

Gasthaus zum Domnapf
Ranked #8 of 154 Restaurants in Speyer
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The menu is good with wide selection of German, local and wider dished. Schnitzels, bratverst great. The Argentinian steaks wonderfull. Local beer. Staff very attentive and service ok. The resteraunt is very very popular and even though it is large a seat can not be guaranteed if you havent booked in advance.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Maybe the menu is just too diverse to really shine in one of the many food categories, maybe it is because the location just makes this a "tourist place". Domnapf - based on reviews and hearsay - was only choice five for dinner, but since all the good restaurants in Speyer are closed on a Sunday night, we gave it a try and receives friendly service (however not wanting to let us pay by credit card), huge portions and value for quantity was sure right. If you don't know what the local specialty should look and taste like, it would be fine, but maybe here less choices and a clear focus on one type of cuisine would be better! Won't return.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank MyTraveliciousLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We had been on a short notice hunt for a German dinner and "stumbled" across this Restaurant. From the outside and a quick glimpse inside we thought it to be a German style place but once we were seated and the menu on our lap we figured that it is actually German - Greek style. Since the service was friendly, and they had a English menu right on hand we decided to give it a try.
We ordered farmer's salad without Tomatoes (and got offered green bell pepper instead) and a Wiener Schnitzel + beer and got served very fast (OK the place was literally empty). The Schnitzel was good average (size and taste) nothing wrong with it and so was the little side salad. The farmers salad was huge but consisted mostly of cucumbers and green peppers with a few black olives, green mild chilies and feta cheese on it. So a large portion with a little to it.

If you are super hungry and not too picky on your food it is a decent place right in the front of the Dom in Speyer.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FRuudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Lovely meal here last night. Plenty of food and salad........so much so that we couldn't have dessert. Friendly staff, free ouzo too.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alicenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2015

An overcrowded Greek eatery with a ridicously rude service. Pity for a distinguished town as Speyer.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GiorgioB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gasthaus zum Domnapf also viewed

Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Gasthaus zum Domnapf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.