We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Loewengarten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Loewengarten
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The name, the lion at the door and the front of the hotel might give a different impression, but this is a first class hotel!
The rooms are exceptionally spacious (especially taking their price into account), the airco is fast but silent and the beds are really comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fresh, nicely presented with a vast choice of ... well virtually everything that you can think of at that time of day.
I'm a fairly demanding traveller, but this was one of the very best business hotels I've ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Don't remember my room number, but even at the street side you'll have a good sleep as revol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
11
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Given my past experiences with German hotels I would say this is one of the better Hotels that I have stayed in. The rooms were well appointed, a good spacious bathroom with a good size and functioning shower. I cannot speak from a tourism perspective but for business it was perfect. There is a selection of pillows, which, in my past experiences is not often a choice in Germany.
Staff speak English and were more than willing to help when required. The breakfast was good too.
The only thing that I found a little strange when I finally returned to my room to sleep was that there were no curtains on the window, only net curtains. I slept well so cannot complain but I did have to have a quite laugh to myself before turning in for the night.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel Lowengarten is located about 10 minutes by foot to the towncenter of Speyer.
It's a modern building, recently renovated.
Unfortunately it is right at a pretty busy street, so if you like to have your windows cracked for the night, you might as for a room to the backside, or to the side street.
The rooms are modern furnitured, nice washrooms. Spotless clean.
Breakfast buffet was ok, it feartured everything I needed for a good start.
The room rates are not cheap, so I guess we expected a bit more outstanding rooms.

The restaurant is a bit pricy, althoughthe offer good food.

We pretty much enjoyed our stay at Speyer, as it is a nice old town, huge cathedral, and alot shopping options and restaurants downtown.
We liked the food at as small restaurant called "schwarzamsel"...hard to find, but it was worth to search for. They had good German food & wine.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back or to the side road, as the main road upfront is pretty busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
243 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

its not a 5 star hotel, but its modern and it is very clean. the rooms are very clean everything is new and also somwhat spacious. the lobby is small but adequate, we had to leave early but the breakfast room was open and the breakfast was much better than most german 4 star hotels. also its a 10 min walk to the city center where all the restaurants are. free wifi and i believe free parking as well. i will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
181 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

I very much enjoyed the two weeks I sent with my family at the Lowengarten in Speyer. Our room was spacious and comfortable (except for the small shower, but hey, this is Europe). It was spotlessly clean with amazingly comfortable beds. The lobby is modern and simple. The bar area fun. Breakfasts are generous and delightfully varied. I have never eaten better croissants, fresh fruit, cereals and bacon (!!!) in any other hotel. Delicious! The staff is patient, kind, friendly and efficient. I felt very welcome and valued. Plus, I love the Gummi Bears they leave on the beds every day. A nice, sweet touch. And the location is awesome. It is very easy to get to from the highway and is less than a 10 minute walk to the Alt Portal and all the Speyer restaurants. We will stay there again!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mielmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

NIce hotel in a great location. Lovely walk to the center of Speyer. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louishar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Speyer hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Speyer
Ibis Styles Speyer
#1 of 16 in Speyer
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Domhof
Hotel Domhof
#3 of 16 in Speyer
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residenz am Koenigsplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Am Wartturm
Hotel Am Wartturm
#2 of 16 in Speyer
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 1735
Hotel 1735
#6 of 16 in Speyer
42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sperling
Hotel Sperling
#11 of 16 in Speyer
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loewengarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loewengarten

Property: Hotel Loewengarten
Address: Schwerdstr. 14, 67346 Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Speyer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Loewengarten 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Loewengarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing