We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Central Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Speyer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Goldener Engel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Central Location”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions and have never been disappointed. I was surprised to see on my last visit that they now have a bar that serves execellent beer and coffee, alongside a nice lobby area to relax in. Rooms are always clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast is excellent with lashings of gret coffee. Great location within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: They have some good apartment type rooms. Worth asking for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingdinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
13
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently located near the cathedral. All of the old town is within easy walking distance. It was surprisingly quiet. The place is unremarkable however good for a stay. I had a single room which was nicely sized, sparingly decorated and had a good bed. It was clean. The quality meets the price. Staff was very friendly. My bike could go under a roof behind a locked gate however there was some construction work going on. WiFi is available but for pay. Breakfast was from the buffet, with a good selection. I found it a good place for the night, however there is not anything special about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby, n yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

As our other choices of hotel were full we thought the Engel should have a reasonable standard. Of 2 entrances one was through a mass of building materials. Noisy banging and drilling started at 8 am . The street is very noisy - as it was hot we had to have the windows open. There is air con in the hall but not in rooms ! The worst thing was the bedding - stained towelling sheets on our beds !!! Throw them out !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goathlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Hotel Goldener Engel is an easy 10-minute walk from the train station, located on a fairly quiet street just outside the former city walls. It's a somewhat traditional German hotel, dating probably from the 1960s, and the hallways and carpets could stand some attention, but my room was clean, quiet, and spacious; reception was friendly-to-exuberant; the breakfast spread was generous (and included home-made breads and pastries), and the attached cellar restaurant (same management? = "Zum Alten Engel") was especially good (but popular - make reservation), with various regional specialties

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

This hotel is situated close to the high street of Speyer - only a 5-7 minutes walk from the Cathedral (the main sight). Der Goldener Engel seems a bit shoddy, but the room was ok and quiet. Breakfast was nice and the staff helpful and lively.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Goldener Engel is centrally located and offers clean and comfortable accommodation.
We stayed in a suite with a spacious sitting room with sofa, armchairs and a writing desk , there was plenty of cupboard space next to the bedroom and the beds were comfortable apart from 'towel like' sheets.

Breakfast was served in a bright, clean white dining room with a very reasonable choice of food including some home made bread and home made pastries, the coffee was also strong and good.

The staff were pleasant and helpful both at the reception desk and at breakfast.

On the negative side, the Goldener Engel is rather bland if not a little ugly and somewhat short on atmosphere.


Speyer is a pretty town with an imposing cathedral and some excellent museums. There are plenty of good eating places and bars, we tried and liked the Dombrauerei, the Kutscherhaus and the Ratskeller.
Heidelberg is in easy driving distance and makes for a very rewarding and enjoyable couple of days visiting .

  • Liked — clean, central
  • Disliked — bland
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

We enjoyed the Goldener Engel. We had a large corner room, with several chairs and a couch. The room had air conditioning, but we didn't use it because it was chilly. The room was huge, so it didn’t really matter that it lacked charm. Breakfast was good.

The hotel is close to the old city, and we walked to the Dom in 5 minutes. Speyer is a great town. The bath was adequate and clean.

  • Liked — Our large corner room, hotel's location
  • Disliked — The room, though large, was a bit dreary.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Speyer hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Speyer
Ibis Styles Speyer
#1 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Domhof
Hotel Domhof
#3 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenz am Koenigsplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Loewengarten
Hotel Loewengarten
#4 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Am Wartturm
Hotel Am Wartturm
#2 of 16 in Speyer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1735
Hotel 1735
#8 of 16 in Speyer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Engel

Property: Hotel Goldener Engel
Address: Muehlturmstrasse 5-7, 67346 Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Speyer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1857 the “Goldener Engel” (translated as “golden angel”) represents one of the most historic hotels in the center of Speyer. A complete renovation resulted in 46 individually designed rooms and facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goldener Engel Speyer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing