We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family owned hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldener Engel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Speyer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goldener Engel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent family owned hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night here with a friend. We were travelling by car from Swizerland. There was a car parking station just up the road which charged 2 Euros for 24 hours which is remarkable value.

We arrived very late without a booking on a Friday night. The hotel was busy, as was the connected restaurant. My friend's dog was made very welcome at both facilities and our room was very pleasant, a good size, very clean and fresh with a big well appointed attractive bathroom. It was on the first floor which is accessed by either a very old lift with a manually operated first door or by a good sized staircase.

We neede to exercise the dog and stretch our legs so our first priority was a walk to town. Despite it being very late, in fact right on closing time when we returned the restaurant which is internally connected to the hotel were prepared to offer us a meal and deal with special dietary requirements. They were very busy and very courteous and helpful.

In the morning the breakfast included in the rate was generous and offered something for everyone. I like family hotels and this was one of the best.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
11
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions and have never been disappointed. I was surprised to see on my last visit that they now have a bar that serves execellent beer and coffee, alongside a nice lobby area to relax in. Rooms are always clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast is excellent with lashings of gret coffee. Great location within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: They have some good apartment type rooms. Worth asking for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingdinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently located near the cathedral. All of the old town is within easy walking distance. It was surprisingly quiet. The place is unremarkable however good for a stay. I had a single room which was nicely sized, sparingly decorated and had a good bed. It was clean. The quality meets the price. Staff was very friendly. My bike could go under a roof behind a locked gate however there was some construction work going on. WiFi is available but for pay. Breakfast was from the buffet, with a good selection. I found it a good place for the night, however there is not anything special about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby, n yorks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

As our other choices of hotel were full we thought the Engel should have a reasonable standard. Of 2 entrances one was through a mass of building materials. Noisy banging and drilling started at 8 am . The street is very noisy - as it was hot we had to have the windows open. There is air con in the hall but not in rooms ! The worst thing was the bedding - stained towelling sheets on our beds !!! Throw them out !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goathlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Speyer hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Hotel Goldener Engel is an easy 10-minute walk from the train station, located on a fairly quiet street just outside the former city walls. It's a somewhat traditional German hotel, dating probably from the 1960s, and the hallways and carpets could stand some attention, but my room was clean, quiet, and spacious; reception was friendly-to-exuberant; the breakfast spread was generous (and included home-made breads and pastries), and the attached cellar restaurant (same management? = "Zum Alten Engel") was especially good (but popular - make reservation), with various regional specialties

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

This hotel is situated close to the high street of Speyer - only a 5-7 minutes walk from the Cathedral (the main sight). Der Goldener Engel seems a bit shoddy, but the room was ok and quiet. Breakfast was nice and the staff helpful and lively.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Goldener Engel is centrally located and offers clean and comfortable accommodation.
We stayed in a suite with a spacious sitting room with sofa, armchairs and a writing desk , there was plenty of cupboard space next to the bedroom and the beds were comfortable apart from 'towel like' sheets.

Breakfast was served in a bright, clean white dining room with a very reasonable choice of food including some home made bread and home made pastries, the coffee was also strong and good.

The staff were pleasant and helpful both at the reception desk and at breakfast.

On the negative side, the Goldener Engel is rather bland if not a little ugly and somewhat short on atmosphere.


Speyer is a pretty town with an imposing cathedral and some excellent museums. There are plenty of good eating places and bars, we tried and liked the Dombrauerei, the Kutscherhaus and the Ratskeller.
Heidelberg is in easy driving distance and makes for a very rewarding and enjoyable couple of days visiting .

  • Liked — clean, central
  • Disliked — bland
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Speyer hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Speyer
Ibis Styles Speyer
#1 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenz am Koenigsplatz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Domhof
Hotel Domhof
#2 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1735
Hotel 1735
#11 of 16 in Speyer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Am Wartturm
Hotel Am Wartturm
#3 of 16 in Speyer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Loewengarten
Hotel Loewengarten
#4 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldener Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldener Engel

Property: Goldener Engel
Address: Muhlturmstrasse 5-7, 67346 Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Speyer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Goldener Engel Speyer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing