We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Domhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Domhof
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here last week for a series of meetings in Speyer. The hotel is conveniently located to the Cathedral, shopping, restaurants and other sites, which was perfect because I did not have a car. The look and feel of the hotel and the surrounding area is traditional German. The room was comfortable for one person. The bed was large. It had a desk and plenty of closet space. The TV was a flat screen with a couple of English channels (CCN and BBC World). I purchased internet access, which worked fine, but only permitted one device per username and password. The bathrom is tiny and would have been inconvenient for two. Be forewarned, only one small bottle of generic "soap" and hand soap is provided, no shampoo or conditioner or lotion or anything else. In my experience, this is not unusual in Germany, but I wish I had brought my own. Breakfast was included and was a typical German breakfast buffet (eggs, sausage, cold meats, fruit, juice, lots of breads, yogurt, cereals, coffee, etc.) (I love the breakfast buffets in Germany.) I arrived before check-in and they accommodated my request to check-in early. I rate the service high because they delivered on every request. One last warning, you can hear the bells in the Cathedral chime at all hours of the day. I enjoyed the sound, but some may have trouble sleeping as a result.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the Cathedral bells, ask for a room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    78
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
62
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The hotel's biggest assets are the perfect location next to the famous Speyer Dom (Cathedral) and the fact that it has its own brewery including a fantastic beer garden.

What I also liked was the breakfast, which was tasty, fresh, prepared with attention to detail and featuring a lot of different varieties of food.

Yet the price of the rooms is a bit of the high side, given that for the same price you can get a very solid business hotel in Mannheim. The rooms are quite old fashioned and are more like a nice type of German guesthouse (Pension) than a hotel.

The biggest problem was that the rooms do not have any airconditioning, which would have made sleeping very hard if not for those refreshing domhof beers.

Still, I give the hotel 4 stars, mainly on the account of the fantastic location and the great beergarden with own brewery. There is a possibility to get a small tour of the brewery by the very friendly brewmaster - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Hotel building is a quiet and nice set of buildings. Peaceful environment. Room was quite large and very comfortable. Breakfast was very correct. It is located very close to the cathedral and commercial area of Speyer, near to the river and with some interesting places in the area. Also nice biergarden & restaurant at 2 minutes walking distance. One point to mention is that all information in the room and night reception staff are only-german spoken.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordi_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is in the innner city of Speyer. Within walking distance you will find the Dom church and restaurants and shops. The hotel has a few parking places in the underground parking. Reservation is not possible. The rooms are large with good bathroom facilities. Negative: Internet only at cost available. TV channels in English available. Breakfast is excellent and includes warm dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

This is a very charming, typically German inn. My family stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The location was fabulous, steps away from the main street with it pedestrian thoroughfare and many cafes. It is right next to the Dom and the bells just added to its ambiance. The breakfast, included in the room price, was outstanding;and I'm a foodie!!!! My family loved Speyer and the surrounding area and staying at this inn only enhanced our visit. The only problem we had was in finding it that first day. It is right off the Dom's square. I would recommend GPS or google maps prior to going , but once you find it , it's worth it!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkmom3957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
216 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Its an old hotel rooms are extremely old. But location is super. Is right in the heart of the small village spayer right next to the cathedral and the main shopping street. Spayer is a very small city south of Frankfurt, but it's a beautiful small village, close to Heidelberg as well right on the river Rhine. You can walk all around from the hotel and even take a river cruise. Beds are old linen is old hotel is old

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destelbergen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a classic, very nice hotel.
Fantastic bed to sleep in (nice fluffy bedcover perhaps a little to the small size)
Clean room right in the center of the city, very close to the Dom. You can hear the Dom all night long, but it does not really disturbe the good night sleep.
Breakfast room has everything, but a bit to the small size. (it can be crowded)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derooverstof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Speyer hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Speyer
Ibis Styles Speyer
#1 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residenz am Koenigsplatz
1.5 mi away
Hotel Am Wartturm
Hotel Am Wartturm
#2 of 16 in Speyer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Loewengarten
Hotel Loewengarten
#4 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trutzpfaff Hotel
Trutzpfaff Hotel
#11 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 1735
Hotel 1735
#8 of 16 in Speyer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domhof

Property: Hotel Domhof
Address: Bauhof 3, 67346 Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Speyer
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domhof 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Domhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domhof Hotel Speyer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing