We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Domhof Hotel in Speyer Germany”
Review of Hotel Domhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domhof
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Speyer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This family run hotel is just around the corner from the famous Speyer Cathedral and many years ago was a school. The historical charm is captivating and the room I had was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast room reminded me of a medieval knights hall and the food was fine. Next door is the Hausbrauerei, a brewry and restaurant that is associated with the hotel. As a beer fan, I found the house beer wonderful and the food very authentic. This is a great place to experience something of the real Germany, especially as most of hotel guests and restaurant guests were Germans. If you need all the amenities of a 5 star hotel, this may not be the place for you, but if you want to know you are really in one of Germany's most historic locations, nothing could be better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

The location is great, not even one minute to walk to the cathedral and the shoping street; but still at a very calm place (back yard).
Nice rooms (no a/c), great restaurant beer garden, good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: If they have an event at the beer garden, ask for a room to the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This hotel is in a great position for the town. Nice, clean and warm throughout. Good buffet breakfast and service with a smile. Excellent food and beer in the adjacent restaurant. Wonderful nativity scene in the foyer. Would have liked a couple of bottles of water in our room but overall a lovely stay and will return.

Room Tip: The Dom 's bells are load early morning, ask for a central room not facing the Dom to reduce noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hotel Domhof is a beautiful old building with a nice courtyard. We had a comfort double room and it was very big and overlooking the courtyard, with good facilities. Breakfast was very good, staff was friendly.
Hotel has an excellent location, central in Speyer, next to the Speyer Dom and the main shopping street.
The brewery next door is great to get some food and drink, and if you want something else most restaurants and bars are a few minutes by foot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here last week for a series of meetings in Speyer. The hotel is conveniently located to the Cathedral, shopping, restaurants and other sites, which was perfect because I did not have a car. The look and feel of the hotel and the surrounding area is traditional German. The room was comfortable for one person. The bed was large. It had a desk and plenty of closet space. The TV was a flat screen with a couple of English channels (CCN and BBC World). I purchased internet access, which worked fine, but only permitted one device per username and password. The bathrom is tiny and would have been inconvenient for two. Be forewarned, only one small bottle of generic "soap" and hand soap is provided, no shampoo or conditioner or lotion or anything else. In my experience, this is not unusual in Germany, but I wish I had brought my own. Breakfast was included and was a typical German breakfast buffet (eggs, sausage, cold meats, fruit, juice, lots of breads, yogurt, cereals, coffee, etc.) (I love the breakfast buffets in Germany.) I arrived before check-in and they accommodated my request to check-in early. I rate the service high because they delivered on every request. One last warning, you can hear the bells in the Cathedral chime at all hours of the day. I enjoyed the sound, but some may have trouble sleeping as a result.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the Cathedral bells, ask for a room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The hotel's biggest assets are the perfect location next to the famous Speyer Dom (Cathedral) and the fact that it has its own brewery including a fantastic beer garden.

What I also liked was the breakfast, which was tasty, fresh, prepared with attention to detail and featuring a lot of different varieties of food.

Yet the price of the rooms is a bit of the high side, given that for the same price you can get a very solid business hotel in Mannheim. The rooms are quite old fashioned and are more like a nice type of German guesthouse (Pension) than a hotel.

The biggest problem was that the rooms do not have any airconditioning, which would have made sleeping very hard if not for those refreshing domhof beers.

Still, I give the hotel 4 stars, mainly on the account of the fantastic location and the great beergarden with own brewery. There is a possibility to get a small tour of the brewery by the very friendly brewmaster - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Hotel building is a quiet and nice set of buildings. Peaceful environment. Room was quite large and very comfortable. Breakfast was very correct. It is located very close to the cathedral and commercial area of Speyer, near to the river and with some interesting places in the area. Also nice biergarden & restaurant at 2 minutes walking distance. One point to mention is that all information in the room and night reception staff are only-german spoken.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordi_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Speyer hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Am Wartturm
Hotel Am Wartturm
#1 of 15 in Speyer
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Loewengarten
Hotel Loewengarten
#4 of 15 in Speyer
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Speyer
Ibis Styles Speyer
#2 of 15 in Speyer
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residenz am Koenigsplatz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldener Engel
Hotel Goldener Engel
#5 of 15 in Speyer
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 1735
Hotel 1735
#7 of 15 in Speyer
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domhof

Address: Bauhof 3, 67346 Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Speyer
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Speyer
Price Range: £75 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domhof 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Domhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domhof Hotel Speyer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing