We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ehhh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Domhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Domhof
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ehhh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

There are certainly better hotels in Speyer. I've been staying in the city for the entire summer and have fallen in love with the Domhof biergarten. So when my mom decided to come visit I really wanted her to stay at the Domhof hotel. The first night she was in town it wasn't available so she got a room at the Lowengarten (which was awesome). Finally I was able to get her a reservation for the Domhof hotel and I was really excited. At the time I thought I'd be working and wouldn't get to stay with her. Then I found out I'd have the night off and I thought I'd try to spend it with her. When we checked into the hotel the lady said she had us for a single bed, which I knew I had booked, but asked if we could get a double room. The lady was extremely rude and got out a notebook to confirm that we had booked a single room. Obviously I knew what I had booked but our plans had changed and we just wanted to see if something else was available. Since she was so rude and unwilling to help, we didn't want to push it so we stuck with what we originally booked. The hotel only has Internet for €5 for 24 hrs which isn't too bad except you can only use it for one device. There are much better hotels throughout Speyer and I'm glad my mom only had to stay at this one for one night

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kafreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    78
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
60
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed over only one night at this great hotel for business and had 2 rooms there. This hotel is worth at least 4 or even 5 stars ! We surely will come back here; Superb rooms, a great atmosphere with the brewery next door and an ideal location. Friendly staff and excellent service as the pearl on the crown ! Highly to be recommended !

Room Tip: take a comfort room, just a little extra money for great space and luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for one night but wish it was for more. Booked this at short notice and it was our first time in Speyer. Arrived late afternoon and was pleasantly surprised as we pulled up to the hotel. The hotel is clean, quaint and was a pleasure to stay in. The breakfast room was very grand, with a great choice for breakfast. The hotel has its own brewery and beer garden that was nice to sit in and enjoy their own beer, a great atmosphere that everyone should experience!

The only downside was the cathedral bells charming every 15 mins - even through the night!!.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ride4change
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This family run hotel is just around the corner from the famous Speyer Cathedral and many years ago was a school. The historical charm is captivating and the room I had was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast room reminded me of a medieval knights hall and the food was fine. Next door is the Hausbrauerei, a brewry and restaurant that is associated with the hotel. As a beer fan, I found the house beer wonderful and the food very authentic. This is a great place to experience something of the real Germany, especially as most of hotel guests and restaurant guests were Germans. If you need all the amenities of a 5 star hotel, this may not be the place for you, but if you want to know you are really in one of Germany's most historic locations, nothing could be better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

The location is great, not even one minute to walk to the cathedral and the shoping street; but still at a very calm place (back yard).
Nice rooms (no a/c), great restaurant beer garden, good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: If they have an event at the beer garden, ask for a room to the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

This hotel is in a great position for the town. Nice, clean and warm throughout. Good buffet breakfast and service with a smile. Excellent food and beer in the adjacent restaurant. Wonderful nativity scene in the foyer. Would have liked a couple of bottles of water in our room but overall a lovely stay and will return.

Room Tip: The Dom 's bells are load early morning, ask for a central room not facing the Dom to reduce noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hotel Domhof is a beautiful old building with a nice courtyard. We had a comfort double room and it was very big and overlooking the courtyard, with good facilities. Breakfast was very good, staff was friendly.
Hotel has an excellent location, central in Speyer, next to the Speyer Dom and the main shopping street.
The brewery next door is great to get some food and drink, and if you want something else most restaurants and bars are a few minutes by foot.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Speyer hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Speyer
Ibis Styles Speyer
#1 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residenz am Koenigsplatz
1.5 mi away
Hotel Am Wartturm
Hotel Am Wartturm
#3 of 16 in Speyer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trutzpfaff Hotel
Trutzpfaff Hotel
#10 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 1735
Hotel 1735
#11 of 16 in Speyer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Loewengarten
Hotel Loewengarten
#4 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domhof

Property: Hotel Domhof
Address: Bauhof 3, 67346 Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Speyer
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domhof 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Domhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domhof Hotel Speyer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing