We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest internal smoking-area, I've ever experienced in a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The whole staff was very friendly and made a good Job. Breakfast and meals were delicious. The room was a little bit "old-fashioned" but "cosy". As a smoker, I liked the Palmengarten best - least nothing, perhaps the fact, that we had kind of a "glass-wall" over the door, where the floorlight was to be seen whole night through - nothing for People, who Need a dark room at night ;).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Hans-werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Director of Sales at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Hans-Werner,

thank you very much for your response.

We are very glad you had a nice stay and liked our staff as well as our meals.

We are indeed not a modern and designed, but very traditional hotel with many individually furnished rooms. Some of them have glass-walls, but there are nearly always alternative rooms available.

Since we still have a lot of smoking guests, we offer several areas for them for smoking. We are glad, that this was convenient for you.

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel. It woulb be nice to welcome you again.

Your Anker-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

On a tour last summer, my wife and I dropped anchor at this charming little hotel in Southwest Germany, on the recommendation of friends, and it proved to be a great weekend getaway for us. Bad Neuenahr is an old spa town on the Ahr River, with many exclusive shops clustering around the major hotel. The "Golden Anchor" is on a little side street a couple of blocks from that property, but virtually everything in the town is within a short walk of everything else. We were never more than 5-10 minutes away from a coffee shop, and they all had both fresh brew and wonderful pastries. In the local spa park, concerts are held weekly and feature well-known German musical and other talent. Our hotel was well staffed and equipped, and everyone was uniformly gracious and courteous. Our room was thoroughly modern and all the amenities worked as they should--the room was actually spotless, and linens were exchanged daily. There was a hot towel rack as well. We took daily breakfast at the Ankener, and the array of foods was staggering: all sorts of fresh fruit, muesli and other dry cereal and juices, cured meats and local cheeses, crusty German breads, and delicious coffee (and this listing only scratches the surface). Good restaurants are near the hotel, so variety of comestibles is not a problem. You will enjoy the architecture of Bad Neuenahr and the "gemutlich" good cheer of the local people, who went out of their way to welcome us for our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbonejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Director of Sales at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Tbonejim,

we would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing your recommendation. We are very glad you had a nice stay and liked Bad Neuenahr in Southwest Germany.

Our house is in the middle of the "Kurzone", very near by the city center with many shops and restaurants.

The friendliness of our staff is very important for us and it is nice to hear you experienced that. Our rooms are very differently furnished, but all in a German 4 star level equipped. Thanky for your detailed listings that may be very helpful for other guests.

In Germany breakfast is the most important meal, so we focus specially on a great variety and good offer on our breakfast-buffet. We appreciate your praise very much.

Perhapy you will make another trip to Germany - we would be glad to welcome you again!

Your Anker-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

As the town is not very big you will not be very far away from anything so this is a plus.
The staff was friendly and helpful all over this is the second big plus.
The conference room was well attended and had a very nice view. third plus.

The rooms are not too big but in general would be ok for one or two nights (you have a shower, tv, minibar, all amenities and they are clean) but as usual bad slepp quality will downgrade the experience and if you have a room to the front street... the windows are hardly insulated so the sleep quality is terrific. Get a room in the newer building.

What brought this hotel down to its knees was the restaurant. This is the first time I write an "avoid at all costs review" but the food was overcooked, bland, and took hours (literally) to arrive. I cannot think of any worse restaurant meal I have had in a couple of years. They do cater mostly to large groups of senior people and the chefs must be thinking that any salt (as in 1ppm) will be immediately toxic and the same holds true for whatever over spice you can name. Spagheti cooked totally through without any salt.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Awful hotel, management feels that they have still 4 stars, but this is at least 20 years not truth. Small bathroom, combinated with WC. Noise comming from corridor toward room. Realy old fassion hotel with very old furniture. During night suddenly radio has been automatically switched on, withou possibility to switch it off, terrible experience. So called conference facility is not usable for that kind of activity we had there. My recommendation toward management of that hotel is to start rebuilding of that hotel, or to close it. Unfortunatly price was on the level of 4 stars hotel. If I could select, never will go there.

Room Tip: No chance to select good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0zefL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This hotel believes to have 4 stars. It might have had 4 stars some 30 years ago. Very small bathroom, no aircon, basic small room with view on noisy street. Quite good central location, food has poor quality.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x_____Honza_____x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 305 312 313
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterweyermanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr
#1 of 30 in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
1,547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr
Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr
#10 of 30 in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
SETA Hotel
SETA Hotel
#9 of 30 in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Zum-Sanger
Hotel-Restaurant Zum-Sanger
#18 of 30 in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ahrbella
Hotel Ahrbella
#12 of 30 in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krupp Hotel
Krupp Hotel
#19 of 30 in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker

Address: Mittelstr. 14, 53474 Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
#8 Spa Hotel in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
Price Range: £100 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker is located in the Ahr-Valley, a great German red wine area, at the edge of the Eifel. The hotel is in the middle of the "Kurzone" in Bad Neuenaher-Ahrweiler, where you find the big SPA with thermal sources, the park and the casino. The city center with a lot of cafes and shops is in walking distance (5 minutes).Our hotel offers 4 star standard and has 82 individually furnished and located rooms. It is a very traditional hotel, familiy onwned since 1869, with a lot of annexes to the original building. It has a restaurant, a bar, a wine-tasting-room, a summer-terrace as well as great spa and wellness-center with indoor-pool, whirlpool, sauna, steambath, and many other attractions. The beauty farm which is directly connected to the hotel and its wellness-area offers a wide variety of different applications and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker Germany/Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing