We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brogsitter s Sanct Peter

Brogsitter s Sanct Peter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zürich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a good one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

It is an excellent restaurant for an extensive dinner. Nothing for busy schedules. Once there one should plan for about 2-3 hours. Start with an aperitive and greetings from the chef. Moderate breaks between courses allow for a good conversation.
Special recommendation would be the trilogy from the goose liver, always a house favorite.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    42
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
229 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“New cuisine with classic serevice and ambiance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

How we got to Brogsitter Sanct Peter is as interesting as the rating of the restaurant itself. We were sitting NYC eating breakfast one Sunday morning and talking about our planned trip to Europe when a young woman sitting at the next table mentioned she was from Germany and recommended this restaurant as one of her all time favorites. On a lark we made a reservation which required traveling about two hours from the Mosel and staying over in Bad Neuenahr to avoid the ride back late at night. The city itself turns out to be a spa resort where many disabled go to recover and take the waters. In the morning it looks as if there was a war with all the people on crutches and walkers. The restaurant is a little out of the center of the town and one of the oldest in the country. It is set in a beautiful old building which has been lovingly maintained. I can not say too much about the quality of the staff. At every level they were welcoming and attentive. We decided to have one of the fixed menus and the quality of the food equaled the level of the service. It was a pleasant change from some of the heavier local German food we had been eating but did reflect the German sensibility. I would definitely go back again even if it took me a little out of the way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank napman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Modern German Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

St Peter's is one of Germany's oldest restaurants, dating back to the 13th century. And that's exactly the ambience of the building and hotel: historical luxury, very classy. There are actually 4 restaurant choices: high end in the Gourmet, slightly less so in the Weinkirche, leisurely on the Garden Patio (wonderful on a balmy summer evening) and modern eclectic in the Lounge. This time we went to the Weinkirche which is a large medieval common room with big fire place and balcony seating on the 2nd floor. We sat on the balcony and enjoyed people watching. We chose the 2 fixed price menus (monthly with 4 courses, daily with 3 courses). The food was wonderful, everything was seasonal, perfectly flavored and balanced (e.g. the artichoke soup or the chanterelle soup). My companion declared it the best meal in a week of German food. The Brogsitter wine of course paired perfectly and was excellent (we bought 3 bottles, as much as we could get into the US legally...). Service was fantastic, with attention to detail. At the end of the meal, we were treated to a glass of Brogsitter sparkling wine (which I had to leave behind, as the driver...). Will go there again, next time in the Ahr/ Rhein area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McAenki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent fine dining in wonderful building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

excellent fine dining in wonderful building. There are various rooms to eat in - an elegant formal paneled room; a historic but very comfortable double height dining room and a lovely garden terrace with fountain.
The food was elegant and regional with good choice of wines from the locality. It is not the most inventive menu but a good quality.
I started with delicious broth with tiny delicate dumplings, then veal cutlets with polenta and provencal vegetables, and a wonderful apricot dessert.
We enjoyed ourselves, though rather amazed at how early everybody went to eat. The hotel had booked a table for 7pm, which is very early for most europeans.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LCram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“cool old winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Step back in time in visit to low key vineyard. Great wines for purchase at good prices. Building is from 1200, tucked away in the mountains. It is near a trail that runs along the river that makes for a nice walk.

Helpful?
Thank emilydavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brogsitter s Sanct Peter also viewed

Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Brogsitter s Sanct Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing