We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keep driving”
Review of Eucla Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eucla Motor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just keep driving”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This place was horrible. We arrived tired, like most people and went straight to the front desk and was checked in by a guy who clearly didnt want to be there, let alone welcome us. We were told that the restaurant would be opening at about 5 pm for the evening meal. We opened the door to a dirty looking room. The crockery was chipped, the window was so grotty you could hardly see out and some of the applainces didnt work. We decided to go and get tea and discovered that the restaurant was closed due to the public holiday. So we paid a wapping $40.00 for some fish and chips. I climbed into the single bed and climbed straight back out, it had a bow in it like a hammock, it stank, I dont think the linen had been changed for months, so I slept on top of it and my nose ran all night probably due to the amount of bed bugs and dust. We paid $125.00 for the night. Maybe they should demolish this Motel and start again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirrilee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    139
    123
    41
    46
See reviews for
85
186
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed overnight at this motel on our return trip across Australia. The bathroom was filthy, the ventilation screen was so filthy that no air could pass through it, the shower was full of horrible mould, and the smoke detector was missing. The room itself was barely adequate. The price was an unbelievable $125/night and was easily the worst place I have ever stayed at. In the middle of nowhere, they have you at their mercy.

My recommendation is stay at Border Village only a few Kms further east. It couldn't be worse than this.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 17larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

So you are not exactly spoiled with choice here - you are in the middle of nowhere and I'm reliably informed that Border Village is way-worse. I could forgive most of the things that made this place unpleasant but the saggy-wrapped-in-plastic matress: sorry, no can do.

For $70 you can't really complain, but what they lose in swings they gain in roundabouts. The pretty average meal cost an arm and a leg but the beer was cold - and I was thankful for that.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argonaut64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Reasonable motel room with a squint view of the sea. Lovely gardens, surprise in the middle of the deert to see fish ponds. Pool empty. Restaurant excellent, staff friendly and charming - flower on the table for my wife because it was Valentines day. We would go back.

Room Tip: smile nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The roadhouse budget rooms are $70 and provide a bed and a towel but nothing else- no ensuite, no kettle, no fridge, no TV. The shower block is clean but costs another $1 for 5 mins of hot water. The BBQ area smelled bad & looked gross. Best to order a steak sandwich at the bar which was great value for less than $10.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here while crossing the Nullarboar for 1 night. I didnt expect the Ritz but the room could have been clean !!
The window sill was full of dead flies, the mould and filth in the shower was a health hazard. The floor was just awful and the door rattled all night even with a chair pushed against it. The playground was fun for the kids and the garden was nice to look around, The food was nice and the Beer was cold.
The bar lady was very friendly and gave the kids pencils and books to colour in. There was however a woman who was so rude and as foul as the room which was dissapointing. I must say as foul as it was at least it wasnt as bad as the hotel we stayed in on the return leg.
It's dissapointing as i said you dont expect a 5 star hotel however a clean room would be great considering your exhausted and need a good sleep after so much travelling. Im buying a van next time i have to do the Nullarboar !!

Room Tip: Buy a Van and bypass all the filthy hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parham
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Eucla Amber hotel compared to Border village is the ritz!! Not queit... but it was nice, clean and staff were great! Check out the garden behind the servo a bit of hidden jewel. The pool was empty. BBQ's and camp kitchen down a path from motel rooms in the caravan park which was so much nicer and alot better than the dodgy border village!!! Gas bbq'sin park and an electric plate itn the camp kitchen.

Take the time to see the telegraph ruins and the jetty! Dont lose the track on the way back from the jetty you'll have to climb a huge dune to get back on track!! Hubby was in a bit of a panic as I'd taken a little longer to return!! OOps !! Worth a look nice walk from the ruins to the jetty, pretty cool looking east to the cliffs of the great Aussie bight!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eucla Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eucla Motor Hotel

Property: Eucla Motor Hotel
Address: Eyre Hwy, Eucla, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Eucla
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Eucla Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing