We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job.”
Review of Eucla Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eucla Motor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

$110 for a single. Which is good when on the east/west travels.
Hot shower, comfy bed, door locks.
Restaurant was overpriced with a chicken Parma being $30 but with frozen veg.

All in all a good stop for travelers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank phatsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We left Perth on our cross country journey to Brisbane not knowing what lay ahead. We had conflicting stories with most advice centring around carrying extra petrol and booking accommodation in advance! Both of which were inaccurate. There are plenty of stops and accommodation was available at all stops we chose (although on two occasions arriving late in the evening we snapped up the last available room at that particular hotel/motel). Petrol was also readily available and not as expensive as we had expected.
The roads were good, perfect travelling weather at the beginning of May with light showers, spectacular rainbows and ever changing cloud formations and landscapes!
On arrival at a clean and exceptionally friendly Eucla, we topped up with fuel and ambled into the hotel/motel attached which was bright and friendly!
Here we had the option of the last available room, and how delighted we were to be allocated #10 at the end of the block.
A spacious bedroom with a divinely clean and comfortable queen bed, very basic dining room and kitchenette as well as a huge bathroom with open shower (a little rusty but worked perfectly!) we were guaranteed a great stop over.
The main dining room in the motel was comfortable and service a little slow but the dinner was great! The gardens were lit giving an exciting and vibrant feel for diners.
In the morning before departure we attended the breakfast hall which was extremely basic - but the service was friendly and the breakfast adequate to get the two of us back on the road for the next leg of our spectacular journey! The Great Australian Bight was next .....

Room Tip: Room No. 10 - at the end of the block. It has a little balcony with a beautiful tree and sand dunes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Well ....... I was expecting very little based on the reviews but the room was tidy, although very dated. It looks as though the motel is in the process of renovating as the bathroom which was modern. It was one large room and the motel provided a fold up bed for fourth child (5 yr old). Overall average, clean and warm, also let us use the campers kitchen so we could cook our meal.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank MM_CD_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very poor bathroom. Rusted out shower head. Hot water took minutes to arrive. Minimal water flow. Strong mildew smell throughout room. Bed lumpy but acceptable. Concrete block walls.
Not sure what's up with this motel, but the rooms are pretty ordinary and the bathroom is in pretty bad shape. My wife refused to have a shower, and it was probably a good move. Hot water took so long to arrive I thought there was none and started to have a cold shower. Should have realised this motel was not good when I noticed the room number was scrawled on the door with a biro. Lady at reception looked like she wanted to be some other place. Would have to be in dire need for a room to pay money to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in the budget motel for an overnight stay. First off, the staff were just terrible, have conversations with other staff while in the middle of 'serving' me. The explanations and descriptions of the motel and caravan park was crap. No map was given to find our way to the room in the dark, in the rain. For $70, you'd expect more than just a room with a bed with a a sheet and very very thin blanket - I'm sorry, but in the month of June in the middle of nowhere with no heater, you need a bit more than that for the cold nights. You're better off sleeping in the car. Later down the track of out journey to the east we stayed at places for $85 a night, complete with bathroom, warm bed and with extra blankets provided, heater, fully equipped kitchen, dining and lounge area. Ridiculous. The rooms also state that there is to be no cooking in the room, so we ventured out to find the communal 'kitchen'. Spent 20 minutes walking back and forth the caravan park in the rain and dark due to no map, eventually finding a shed with one stovetop and a sink. No kettle, toaster, microwave or any other basic essentials of a communal kitchen. You pay $1 for less than a 3 minute shower once you adjust the water temperature, and even then, the water suddenly changes from hot to freezing cold with no intention of returning to warm within the time paid for with the $1 (the showers ONLY take one dollar coins, nothing else) The room also only had one PowerPoint, need a few more than that when you accommodate for travellers with multiple electronics and cameras that need charging. The walls are paper thin so be prepared to be woken up by your neighbours farting. You're honestly better off staying at the border village (12kms east) or just tenting it if you have one. The $70 charged was ridiculous for the service and accommodation provided. I will DEFINITELY NOT stay here again or recommend it to anyone I know. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BalranaldFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we stayed one night on our trip to Perth, and although the rooms are old and dark it was better than I expected. The bedding was clean and towels were good. The service in the restaurant was poor, after waiting an hour for entree's we cancelled them, I think they just forgot. The main meal was lovely once it arrived. Office staff were friendly and they do have an interesting museum on the property tat is free to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very ordinary room..Bar and restaurant OK, but the meal was terrible. This is the second time in three years I have stayed there and it has deteriorated. I think it has a very limited maintenance budget.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eucla Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eucla Motor Hotel

Address: Eyre Hwy, Eucla, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Eucla
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Eucla Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing