We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't last more than 3 hours”
Review of Hotel Holl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Holl
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Reviewed 26 August 2013

No elevators in the building??? After traveling half way across the world, we had to DRAG our luggage up the stairs to level 3?! Our room that was SUPPOSED to fit 3 people was only comfortable for 2. Where was our luggage supposed to go if not on the floor beside our beds? What makes a hotel reputable is the SERVICE that they provide. Hotel Holl's reception desk was UNATTENDED half the time! From 3pm, the lights in the dining room are switched off and it is incredibly eerie! In order to contact "hotel" staff, we needed to phone a mobile number. What if you aren't equipped with a German sim card? Do they know how expensive it is to call a number just to get simple service? What if there is an emergency? By the way, the front door to the hotel (separate from reception building) is unlocked so ANYBODY could just walk in at any time. Oh did I mention that clean towels aren't available every day? There is a ridiculous price of 2.50 EUROS to get a fresh towel.

We checked in at 3 pm and checked out 3 hours later. We didn't stay the night yet we were asked to pay for TWO weeks UP FRONT. Although other hotels in Cochem informed us that it was illegal to be charged at immediate check out, Hotel Holl insisted that we pay up. Owners were very rude and treated us very poorly.

My friends and I felt very unsafe and offended after being treated so badly by staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank p T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Twin rooms very small (room 16)
booked 3 twins confirmed but only one available on arrival, actually the non twins were bigger (6 blokes so doubles were in fact like 2 singles)
No bar available after 6 pm
Cash only payment created a problem (when booking said cc and debit accepted)
No reception after 6pm had to phone owner if needed, would have been nice to know these things on booking
BUT Olga was as good as circumstances would allow cant credit her enough
Breakfast good
So for €144 each for 4 nights was a reasonable budget hotel with hot showers, for 6 blokes on biker holiday was fine

Room Tip: Avoid room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinO884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

"Our room was next to a very very busy public highway, thoroughfare day & night no rest/sleep possible. Also the walls are apparently made of paper Mache, you’ll hear everything inside the hotel or room next door.
No Toilets in reception/breakfast room.
No elevators in this Hotel.
No own parking lot available – parking only possible in a far off park house – 16 Euro a day!
Reception not open till 3 pm.
Hotel Management very unfriendly!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Hotel Holl was a great place to stay for the one night we were in Cochem. The hotel owners of managers were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great even though it was just a continental breakfast the variety of the breads, meads and cheeses were plentiful and fresh.

The bedrooms were comfortable and specious… so would we stay there again… yes we would.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcapulcoFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We initially chose to stay at Hotel Holl because of the price, and we were pleasently surprised at the value for the money. The rooms as clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. A nice little breakfast was included in the price of the room as well, although they only serve it from 0800-1000. There is a parking garage about 200 yards down from the hotel where we paid about 10 Euros to park overnight. The heart of the city is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and the castle is about a 15 minute walk away (but it's an adventurous little walk and we enjoyed it!).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danilangefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer bei Onkel Willi sind die besten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SJP281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochem hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zehnthof
Hotel Zehnthof
#3 of 42 in Cochem
149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Moselromantik-Hotel Weissmuhle
0.5 mi away
Moselromantik-Hotel THUL
Moselromantik-Hotel THUL
#32 of 42 in Cochem
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karl Muller
Hotel Karl Muller
#5 of 42 in Cochem
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weinhof
Hotel Weinhof
#36 of 42 in Cochem
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weinhaus Grafen
Weinhaus Grafen
#11 of 42 in Cochem
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holl

Address: Endertstr. 54, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range: £57 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holl 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Holl in Cochem on the Mosel !!! The family-run hotel in the Moselle wine region is only 2 minutes walk from the old town Cochem on the Moselle and offers a plentiful, freshly cooked breakfast in the stylish ambience of the newly renovated breakfast restaurants. Hotel Holl offer a choice between single rooms, double, triple, quadruple and twin and family rooms. All rooms are Non smoking rooms. Each room has an own bathroom with shower / toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror and free toiletries. All rooms have their own sitting area and new flat screen TVs. A DVD playback control is integrated in each TV. The family rooms are partly. With connecting door. Extra beds and travel cots are available on request. Silk 2016 you can choose between standard rooms and comfort rooms. Comfort rooms offer additional amenities such as a balcony, electric shutters and built-in USB charging stations ... Free parking is available near the hotel. Hotel Holl provides for direct booking via a large garage for motorcycles and bicycles( Reservation required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Holl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing