We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moselromantik-Hotel Weissmuhle
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is beautifully situated in a quiet valley away from the town centre, yet the town is easily walkable or there is a convenient bus service. Our room was pleasant with a balcony overlooking the restaurant and kitchen roofs. There was a fast-running stream adjacent to the hotel which was audible, although it didn't disturb us. Wi-fi is only accessible in the reception area. Much of the decor is dated, not in a classic or traditional way, and would benefit from a makeover.

The restaurant, however, is outstanding: two of the best dinners we had during the holiday.

Breakfast was somewhat different, sadly. It was held in what appears to be a function room. Compared to what we have seen elsewhere the quality was not the finest and, as has been commented on previously, it was not replenished, so late arrivals might find choices limited. In what became a running joke for the remainder of the holiday we were subjected to a Basil Fawlty moment when the two of us made the mistake of trying to sit at a table laid for three: the supervising lady made it quite clear in a loud voice in front of other guests that we were NOT to sit there and we had to move to a table laid for two! Paying guests should not upset her arrangements, clearly.

Overall, not a bad stay. The restaurant was the highlight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Located deep in a canyon, providing a great romantic atmosphere. Comfortable rooms and beds. Beginning to get a little worn though.. Very popular for fit seniors as environment provides excellent opportunities for pleasant walks. Friendly and service minded Personal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We usually like to stay in town, but this peaceful hotel just outside town turned out to be a good choice. It is in a scenic valley out in the country but only a 5-minute drive to town. The friendly front desk staff showed us on the map where to park in town, and we had no problems. We had dinner both nights at the hotel and were pleased with the food and drink.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while touring in steam cars. Very quiet position just outside Cocham. We were going to eat in the town in the evenings but the food was so good in the hotel that we ate in every night. The room was a good size and comfortable and we did have a view.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the back did not have a very good outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 50crocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is an absolute gem! Located on a stream a couple of km from the town, nestled into the forest. My room (a single) was clean, spacious, well-appointed, and quiet. It overlooked the stream with a view of a forested hill. No air-con, but even during a heat-wave (35C!) it was pleasant and the room never got over-hot. The breakfasts were the best I had in Germany, with a very wide selection of breads, pastries, meats, fruit, and deli items. You can even make yourself a bad lunch (only 5 euro) if you want, perfect for a picnic while walking in the forest. There's a trail beside the hotel that goes on for many km alongside the stream, very pleasant. The only inconvenience for a traveller without a car is that the hotel is a 30-min walk uphill from town. A taxi ride is about 8 euro, or else you can take a bus, which runs downtown every hour.

The restaurant was excellent. I normally find hotel restaurants are nothing to write home about, but not in this case---it was good enough that I had two dinners here during a 3-day stay. The fish was as good as everyone says. The "menu of the month" was also excellent. The wine list had a good selection of wines, with many fine local vintages.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mtwoodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel is outside Cochem, surrounded by trees. Not a sound at night. Hotel bedroom and shower room were fine, but the restaurant was outstanding. We chose the three course menu of the month, which was explained to us in excellent English. It came preceded by an 'amuse bouche' and the following three courses were superb, by far the best we've had in the three weeks we've been travelling. Presentation was excellent and the whole meal was served in a totally professional and friendly manner. Unfortunately, after that, breakfast was a disappointment. We arrived about 45 minutes before the end of service and found lots of items had been finished and not replaced, until we asked. It was difficult to relate the superb dinner with the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: Nothing to say, they're all quiet. But, if you want a room with a balcony, specify when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greens222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just returned from staying at this hotel for four nights. Hard to think of anything amiss. Outstanding food with superb service, lovely setting, clean and well serviced room and generally a excellent hotel. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed drinks and meals on the lovely patio area next to the stream. Cochem town is a good mile or so down the valley and well worth spending time in. A beautiful area!! A good tip is to park in the station car park which charges only 2.50 euros per day. Also you can park free on the promenade road after 18.00.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hood1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochem hotels
2.5 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
2.5 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Kessler-Meyer
1.6 mi away
Hotel Traumblick
Hotel Traumblick
#8 of 42 in Cochem
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Karl Muller
Hotel Karl Muller
#5 of 42 in Cochem
156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Moselromantik-Hotel THUL
Moselromantik-Hotel THUL
#32 of 42 in Cochem
61 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parkhotel Cochem
Parkhotel Cochem
#4 of 42 in Cochem
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moselromantik-Hotel Weissmuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moselromantik-Hotel Weissmuhle

Address: Im Enderttal, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range: £73 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moselromantik-Hotel Weissmuhle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Moselromantik-Hotel Weissmuhle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing