We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Villa Tummelchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Tummelchen
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location on the hillside between the river and the castle. Far enough away from the busy highway to be quite yet an easy walk down to the city center. The hotel parking lot is a 5 minute hike up the hill. Good breakfast with eggs cooked to your liking. The terrace is nice with views down to the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this nicely positioned pension. It has wonderful views of the Castle and Moselle. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely furnished. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, served by lovely staff. We ate on the terrace on our last night, which was very enjoyable and very reasonable. Just a few minutes walk down into Cochem town centre
where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. Would certainly stay again if ever back in this region.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor overlooking the Castle are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pemjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel pension is situated at the top of a hill, overlooking the town and is almost opposite the entrance to the Reichsburg Castle. The castle is an absolute must! The hotel rooms are clean, spacious and nicely furnished. Our room had a superb view of the pretty town below and the Mosel river. The cosy breakfast room has a view of the castle which is almost a stone throw away. The breakfast is excellent with a fine selection of bread, cheese and cold meats. I will never forget the aroma of freshly brewed coffee whilst gazing upon the castle almost next door to us. Although it is a steep walk down hill into the beautiful medieval town, it only takes about 2-3 minutes and you have reached the town square. The evening walk along the river is absolutely beautiful. The hotel also has secure parking further up the hill. Not so easy to find but once your car is parked, there are steps down to the hotel entrance. Overall, a truly lovely spot with romantic views of the Mosel river and valley. Just wish I could live there forever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mosel river or the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waveracercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

After reading the previous reviews we were a bit worried about finding this hotel! But the hotel website provided an excellant map to find our way to it using their special "biker" route. The route up to the hotel through the tiny main streets of Cochem is quite short and the biker route, coming in from above, a lot longer. But all is revealed when you finally reach the hotel as the angle of the road coming up is quite steep and seemingly quite a few bikes have been dropped trying to gain access to the steep drive of the hotel. but coming in from above is a lot easier, even if at times you feel you are driving along pedestrian only routes!
There are two garages for bikes and before we had taken our jackets of the staff had already provided our beers! Very welcome indeed.
The rooms were spotless and large, the views excellant. The breakfast on the terrace of the hotel was wonderful and my hubby thoroughly enjoyed his two fried eggs!
It is an expensive hotel to stay in but to be honest it is well worth it. The hotel is only a short walk from the main streets yet feels as though it is well away from the crowds.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniesCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Not an easy city to navigate by day, I can only imagine what it might be like trying to locate this hotel after dark. But your reward is a pleasant stay with an exquisite view of the Mosel River.

My husband and I requested and received a river-view room (Pinnerkreuz) with a very small but adequate bathroom for 96 euro per night. Breakfast was great, as well as the discounted happy hour Bitburgers out on their patio. Staff happily answered all our random questions, from where to rent bikes (go to Radsport Schrauth, up Endertstrasse by the Sesselbahn - see photo) to where we could have a fabulous last-night-there dinner.

Would recommend this to friends, and would seriously consider staying here again next time. Indeed.

  • Liked — Felt like staying with friends; great quiet location.
  • Disliked — Hard to find.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Loves-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in Oct. 05. We arrived at night and the hotel was quite hard to find. It's off the main river road, up a tiny pedestrian filled street with a big curve. Driving a full size van up to the hotel was quite a challenge. Later we learned that parking is available past the hotel. In the future I would approach from that direction and simply cart my luggage down rather than try to drive up to the hotel again. Anyway, the hotel was out of quad rooms the first night so we made do with a triple. We moved to a quad room (large apartment) the next night. The view from the apt. was amazing (castle view) as was the view from the breakfast room. Breakfast was very good with eggs, breads, cereal, etc. Because the hotel is not on the 'main drag' it it is quite a peaceful and quiet location. We were never disturbed by any noise. Bathrooms are small but sufficient. I would stay here again if I return to Cochem.

  • Liked — Location, view, breakfast
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david9498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

My wife works on the internet and we booked to stay at this pricey hotel on the implicit understanding that wireless LAN would be available. AFTER checking in we were told there was a problem and it was out of order.

Despite attempts to fix it we could not get access and had to stay in alternative accommoation. We did not use the room and informed the staff immediately that we would be leaving. I was locked into the premises because we did not want to pay because the service was not what was agreed. I was eventually released after I threated to call the police on my mobile and offered to pay a third of the agreed room rental of 100 Euros.

The place has a cold atmosphere and given the huge range of free accommodation (even in the peak season) I would recommend not booking anything in advance unless you need to.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 2journalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochem hotels
2.2 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traumblick
Hotel Traumblick
#16 of 42 in Cochem
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cochemer Jung
Hotel Cochemer Jung
#13 of 42 in Cochem
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zehnthof
Hotel Zehnthof
#2 of 42 in Cochem
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noss
Hotel Noss
#7 of 42 in Cochem
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tummelchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tummelchen

Property: Villa Tummelchen
Address: Schlossstr. 22, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Tummelchen 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa Tummelchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing