We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views and good location.”
Review of Hotel Karl Muller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Karl Muller
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here (for the second time) in September. Arrived at a busy time and parking was difficult to drop off luggage. There are also some steep steps up to the reception area before you reach the lift.
We had a corner room (54) with windows on two sides, and had lovely views across and up the river and also up to the castle which is close by. Room was very clean and comfortable.
Only ate in the restaurant one night but the meal was very good. It is also nice to eat on the verandah overlooking the river. Good choice for breakfast.
Only down side if you come by car is the parking.

Room Tip: Room 54 has goods views on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel is situated on river front. Lovely view, though traffic quite busy and lots of church bells close by to wake you!
Worth paying the small extra charge for a river view room - we stayed on second floor with balcony. Compact clean bathroom, quality bedding and comfortable bed. Small wardrobe.
Breakfast was very nice.
There is indoor parking available - this is offsite and there is a substantial charge which we were only told about at check-out (daily charge of €14 for our motorbike).
Sauna on site but not seen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here i july, a very busy time in Cochem, and i was quite hard to find a hotel in this small beautiful town if you don't reserve in advance. In spite of the busy time, we were met by a smiling and serviceminded lady at the front desk. The hotel is very nice, with a rich breakfast, and the room was large and comfy. Only one downside, no aircondition, which is a must in the heat in Mosel in july. However, all the hotels there are old, so I think aircondition is lakking in most of them, if not all. The hotel is 3* superior, and it is well erned. Location is great, by the river, and close to everything. Can absoluely recomende this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Rooms adequate and tidy, but if you go during a hot period know there is no air-conditioning or fans. Great location to explore the quaint town. Parking is a walk from the hotel but it is easy to drop off luggage and bikes. You don't need your car in this area. They have a garage for our bikes which was handy. Breakfast was nice and typical and the view from restaurant is amazing. My sister and I spent the weekend here, really recommend it but plan accordingly if it is a hot weekend.

Room Tip: room with view of old town for us meant we looked at old roofs but wasn't awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

fantastic hotel would recommend it to any one. We paid the extra parking charge which was 50 euro for 4 days but it was for our motorbike and it was safe there. there are some steps to go up. buffet breakfast was very good we had 2 evening meals in the hotel steak was very good most of the staff could speak English. we had a room over looking the mosel river with a balcony room was very nice just been re-carpeted and new patio door put in

Room Tip: pay the extra for the balcony its well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

If you have accessibility challenges, beware that the entry to the hotel requires a pretty large flight of stairs. Also, no overnight parking is available directly adjacent to the hotel. A pricy garage is within easy walking distance (300m) if it's available, other options are further. On my arrival, a hotel employee rode with me to the garage but the key wouldn't work. Ultimately, returned to the hotel and had to leave my car to be parked later (midnight+) by an owner of the hotel who had another key to the garage. As it was a rental, this was very risky, but there was no viable option. All was well, but if there had been any damage to the vehicle . . . As I had no plans to move my vehicle until departing (two-night stay), this was not a major problem. For anyone who plans to use their car for day-trips, this would not be a good hotel choice.

The hotel is centrally located on the Moselpromenade, directly across from the boat docks. I enjoyed a nice short cruise through a neably lock-and-dam and explored Cochem on foot. My room was on the Mosel side with a balcony, as requested. The view was quite nice, especially when I was greeted with unanticipated fireworks shortly after my arrival (luckily happened to stay during a local festival). The staff were all very helpful. I was usually unable to access the Internet from my room, however, although I had no problem doing so from the restaurant. The restaurant was fine, although nothing special. They do offer a terrace with Mosel views and the river can also be seen from inside the adjacent restaurant.

Room Tip: Request a Mosel view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Congenuity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The Mosel river valley sells itself. This is a nice property with a nice breakfast buffet. It is well located to walk through the old city and along the Mosel. The rooms facing the Mosel have balcony's.

Big drawback in the modern world: They charge $10/hour for internet Wi-Fi. Almost every hotel I stayed at this trip provided it for free. When most cafe's in Germany offer free Wi-Fi, it is stunning that such a fee is being charged.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mosel-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HornsAndTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochem hotels
0.9 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Kessler-Meyer
0.9 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
2.2 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cochemer Jung
Hotel Cochemer Jung
#16 of 42 in Cochem
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Traumblick
Hotel Traumblick
#10 of 42 in Cochem
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moselstern Hotel Brixiade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karl Muller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karl Muller

Address: Moselpromenade 9, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range: £100 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karl Muller 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star superior hotel Karl Müller is located in Cochem, directly on the Moselle promenade and thus in the middle of the old town. The 44 double rooms have a television with satellite reception, a telephone and a minibar. The bathrooms are equipped with shower and WC as well as a hairdryer. In addition, some rooms have a desk or a seating area. The rooms have either a view of the old town or the Moselle valley. In the hotel restaurant with an outdoor terrace you will be offered regional cuisine, which you can enjoy within the half-board as a three-course meal or à la carte. Take a walk through the Moselle Valley and visit, for example, the Kapuzinerberg, where a former monastery with the monastery church from the 16th century stands! Also, the Reichsburg, the landmark of Cochem village, is worth a visit. The mighty structure is more than 100 meters above the river. For an additional fee, the Hotel Carl Müller provides an outdoor parking space or places in a parking garage about 500 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Karl Muller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing