We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisited again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Revisited again”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

this is our fourth stay at Stumbergers, it is a great base for exploring the Mosel and visit after visit the standards are always maintained.The owner and his wife seem to work tirelessly keeping everything perfect. food was excellent whether a main meal or breakfast. We will return agian in the future for certain.
The only slight murmur i would have would be the limited WiFi facility which used to be free and now it is through some kind of supplier who limits you to 30 minutes free per day and then commences to charge a fee.
in our room the signal was not so good so any item took too long to view eating up valuable time.

Room Tip: Room 3 has best view but room 1 has best space and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlairgowrieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were greeted personally by Hrr Stumberger who spoke excellent English and our spacious double room was spotlessly clean. We overlooked the river and the castle (and the road which caused no issues). The balcony is very spacious and to be recommended in the summer as a good place to sunbathe. All the staff were very friendly. The food is very good whilst not gourmet and is an eclectic mix of German, Mexican and East European. We chose to eat here both nights of our stay. The hotel is about 30 minute / 1 mile walk outside Cochem or a 5 minute drive. Lots of parking at the hotel with some under cover. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a family run Hotel & they were extremely friendly.
Our room was ok..small & extremely tiny bathroom. But it was clean & our room had a balcony which of course has the most wonderful view of Mosel River.
About a 25 minute walk into town which is perfect considering the vista.
We had dinner at the restaurant which was Mexican, nice & tasty.
Breakfast was plentiful, lots of choices=great value.
The only annoying thing was the cleaning women knocked on our door at least 3 times (well before check out) she was keen to clean our room & take our towels !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debswilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were in the area and decided to spend a couple of nights again at Stumbergers. The standard of this family run hotel has never faultered. The owner and staff work with a magical efficiency and you never hear of anyone complaining. Probably add it to our itinerary next year again!

Room Tip: Have a meal in the restaurant, you wont be disappointed. Room 3 has a lovely balcony and view but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlairgowrieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Cochem and we loved this little family run hotel facing the Moselle. The breakfast was excellent, great spread, good coffee. Friendly service. Would recommend and return. Short drive to city centre for meals and shopping.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What was nice about this hotel is that it had a lovely German character. Nice friendly people where you felt wecomed. Free access to WiFi which worked really well. The room was comfortable but it and the bathroom were a little on the small side. Perhaps even a little basic. However, there was an amazingly large balcony with a great view over the Moselle and Cochem. The hotel is on the outskirts of Cochem and its a pleasant walk from the hotel along the river into the town. The hotel is almost on a roundabout and a road separates the hotel from the river. While our room was directly to the front, facing the roundabout and road we were not disturbed by the sound of traffic. Breakfast was good.

If I was going back to Cochem I would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our mid Sep European trip. After spending $300 euros per night in Amsterdam, coming here for $107 euros per night seemed like an amazing bargain. Granted the rooms are small and there is no phone, but actually has better wifi than the Marriott's in Amsterdam and Heidelberg. Wifi here is at no extra charge and for multiple devices. Also there is a decent flat screen TV with the BBC feed of CNN (helps Americans to hear English on TV once in a while)
They also throw in a half decent totally free breakfast.
booked this via booking.com and it was justifiably highly rated.
Also great location, views, parking......gets a 9.9 out of 10.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the river/castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyrider_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochem hotels
1.6 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zehnthof
Hotel Zehnthof
#2 of 42 in Cochem
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Karl Muller
Hotel Karl Muller
#4 of 42 in Cochem
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Germania
Hotel Germania
#7 of 42 in Cochem
102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moselromantik-Hotel Weissmuhle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers
Address: Sehler Anlagen 29, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing