We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay”

Gastehaus Ohlberger-Heib
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gastehaus Ohlberger-Heib
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved Our Stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a lovely stay in this perfect little Guesthouse! This is the perfect side to stay for Cochem its a short walk across the bridge to the town center and at night you have a perfect view of the castle... We were a mother and 2 daughters and had a room on the top floor with 2 bedrooms - the small one perfect for my mom. The Breakfast was great!! If we ever come back we will know where to stay :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miki_loveafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights this time. The gastehaus has improved dramatically over the 9 years we have been going. Over the 9 years, Monika and her family have turned it into a lovely place. Breakfast is traditional German and plentiful. Rooms are modern and the front rooms have a great view.

Short walk into town or a 2 euro ferry ride over the river.

The Weinhexen Keller Hotel was a find this trip, offering relatively cheap meals and free entertainment on some nights. Had a brilliant time there - great staff and beer. They even gave us 2 free glasses... Located next to the bridge on the way into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gerry_Jill_504201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We've just returned to the UK after a fabulous stay at the Gastehaus Ohlberger Heib. Monika is a brilliant host and so friendly and cheerful. The location was perfect for us - opposite the castle (with a great view from our room) and the busy part of Cochem but only a flat 10 minute or so walk into the centre with several hotels/bars/restaurants along the way. We loved the décor - it's what I'd call a a typical old German house, squeaky clean and the décor is bright and cheerful. Our room was large with a separate seating area and loads of storage space. There's a huge garage for motorbikes and cycles and a lovely garden which guests can use (weather permitting!). The breakfasts are superb - everything you could want and either boiled or scrambled eggs every day. There's also an honesty bar in the breakfast troom - you can make hot drinks or get beer, wine, water or juice from the fridge, keep a note of the cost and pay on departure. A big 'Thank You' to Monika for a brilliant holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house should have a view of the Moselle and the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Win1fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I used the rooms at number 3, top of stairs, two rooms and one bathroom operating as a four bed apartment. The rooms were immaculate and modern despite the old house. Views were of the highest order across the Mosel River directly onto the castle at Cochem. There will not be many places with this vista in Cochem. The walk into the town is about 10 mins slowly into Cochem centre. Flat and very pleasant walk.
We used the garage to park three large motorcyles which was worth a lot in terms of security and cover overnight.
Breakfast was great considering this is not a hotel. Hot egg option available with a wide array of bread, cheeses, jams, fruit cereals - I could go on. Top notch.

Room Tip: Higher the rooms better the view - of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PunchyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We came to Cochem to stay with our family from New Zealand to show the area around the Mosel valley as well as the Eifel region. Our rooms were lovely and nicely decorated with view over the river towards the castle. At breakfast there were more than enough choices and the service was prompt and friendly. Overall the landlady was friendly and welcoming and always happy to stop for a little chat. English and German spoken. We would highly recommend this guesthouse for anyone visiting the region..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank womblefromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

We stayed here based on a recommendation from the Tourist Information bureau. The quoted price was very good, and in retrospect lower than the advertised rate. The Ohlberger-Heib turned out to be a wonderful place, perhaps the best value of the trip. Our family of 5 had two rooms, one room with a portable bed. The rooms were neat and quite, and the breakfast quite good. The proprietor was also very friendly.

Cochem itself turned out to be one of our favorite towns. The Mosel river area is wonderful, quiet and peaceful (that is when the tour boats don’t disgorge their load of gray haired tourists). We found prices to be less expensive than some other regions. The downtown area didn’t seem that historic, but was wonderful to walk through, with many stores and restaurants. It seemed very easy to get around. We took the ski-lift up the hills north of town, and after visiting the overlook, hiked back down through the vineyards. Based on a bottle of wine from dinner one night, we visited the Weingut Herbert Pies. The wines were excellent and quite cheap (p.s. don’t presume that all Rieslings are sweet, they aren’t). We also took a bike ride along the Mosel. It was very nice although too many stretches were along the road (separate lane) than I would have preferred. I would also recommend Berg Eltz, a charming castle just a short drive down river.

Gastehaus Ohlberger-Heib – Cochem Germany
[-]

  • Liked — Unexpected value in great town
  • Disliked — We didn't stay longer
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KittyCat202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochem hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Tummelchen
Villa Tummelchen
#18 of 42 in Cochem
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anita Siweris
Anita Siweris
#29 of 42 in Cochem
6 reviews
2.6 mi away
Altes Pfarrhaus
Altes Pfarrhaus
#2 of 4 in Ernst
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traumblick
Hotel Traumblick
#12 of 42 in Cochem
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Ohlberger-Heib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Ohlberger-Heib

Property: Gastehaus Ohlberger-Heib
Address: Kaasstrasse 5, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gastehaus Ohlberger-Heib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing