We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The location of this hotel has to be one of the best in Germany with its outlook over the Lake and the Austrian Hills. The welcome reception was first class and our room, a little small, had a wonderful view as noted above. The room was clean, tidy and well equipped with a nice little balcony. The breakfast room had a similar outlook and breakfast was of good quality.

While somewhat expensive the evening meal was well presented and of excellent quality although the wait staff were a little tardy.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bayerischer Hof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

The Hotel exists there since 1850 and has been renovated and expande a few times. The staff is very friendly and very competent. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with all you need. The lake side bar is a perfect place to enjoy a cool beer with an absolut scenic view of the Austrian and Swiss alps.
The gym is very small and not equipped well, so don't expect to much. The pool outside is O.K. It's always worthwhile staying in this hotel and enjoy walks in the old town for shopping or good food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Lindau is a charming town, with great character. Its old buildings are well-preserved, and much of the town is pedestrianised to make walking and sight-seeing easier. It is a great base for exploring the Bodensee (Lake Constance) area. It is also makes a great base for visiting the Bregenz festival which is held each July/August.

We stayed at the Hotel Bayersische Hof in August 2011 to see the opera Andre Chenier on the floating stage at Bregenz. The hotel offers an opera goers' package: an early dinner at the hotel before the opera, return boat trip across the lake from Lindau to Bregenz (including a glass of sekt en route), opera tickets, and a generous midnight "cheeze snack" in the hotel on return.

The Bayerische Hof is in an elegant building which stands in a first-class location on the lake front, with excellent views out over the harbour. It is only a few yards from the point of embarcation for the ferries around and across the lake, and only a short walk from the train station. It (with its adjoining sister hotels, the Reutermann and the Seegarten) is probably the best hotel in Lindau, and the surrounding area.

Our room overlooked the pool and the harbour, and had a fine view. It was nicely furnished, and had a pleasant balcony for reading in the sun and people-watching. The hotel staff were very helpful, gave good recommendations for eating and drinking outside the hotel, and all spoke excellent English. The food in the restauarant was of a very high standard, and the breakfast buffet was generous. Parking - which can sometimes be a problem in Lindau - was easy in the hotel's nearby car-park. The hotel's own cafe shuts early (they would not serve us with food after 21.30): but the central location means that many other later-opening bars and cafes are within very easy walking distance.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only problem was that it was exceptionally warm, and our room was not air conditioned. There is a program to fit air conditioning in the rooms, a few at a time: but the building is an old one, the process is disruptive, and only about a third of the hotel's rooms currently have it. The hotel provided a fan: but it (and we) struggled with the heat.

Room Tip: In high summer, ask for a room with air conditioning - and a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Brief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Fantastic Hotel direct on the Lindau Lake. I use this hotel everytime I can during my trip to Germany. Atmosphere really soft and nice, very warm welcome at the reception. I ask for a room with a nice view on the Lake to shoot some photos, and they gave me an upper room which was little bit more costly at no charge.
Food and wine service are just excellent, the restaurant offer several options, all aboslutely of top quality, breakfast also absolutely good and lot of options. Every single thing offered is top quality.Room service very quickly and perfect. I pay like 140 Euro with breakfast, which I think is a honest rate for theservices offered !
Really recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IK1TTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Hotel Bayerischer Hof has a fantastic location with great views of the harbour but is unfortunately a little tired and frequented by an older generation.

We had a spacious balcony room which had more great views. The room is let down by very dated decoration, dated fittings and a lack of dusting - See my photos.

Be warned, the wifi is not free. Its provided by T-mobile so may be OK for German users but for international travellers without international wifi roaming it'll cost 5 euros for 60 mins or 20 euros for 600 mins. Frankly too expensive for what is really a standard feature, especially for a hotel of this standard. Very disappointing!

Pros:
- Air con!
- Good breakfast
- Safe underground parking
- Balcony rooms

Cons:
- Parking costs
- Dated decoration
- Costly wifi

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuzzyfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed for one night and really enjoyed it! The hotel is just by the Bodensee promenade, it's a beautiful building, with spacious rooms and all the amenities needed. Parking is additionally paid but it's really needed if you want to park in this town! Wellness centre and pool is great! Though we were surprised by the lack of jaccuzzi. Breakfast is wonderful - much to choose from, the restaurant has a great view over the pier and water. Staff is great - helpful, friendly, smiling. One minus: internet is not free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group attending a company conference in the city around late May. The room which was assigned to me was on the fourth floor and had a balcony with partial lake view. The room, like the rest of the hotel, was spotlessly clean, really spacious with separate seating and storage area and was nicely furnished. Room facilities included mini bar, safe box, slippers, bathrobes and flat screen TV. Even though the room faced the railway station, with the balcony door closed, not much noise came inside the room. The attached bathroom was big, clean and bright with separate shower and bath. The room furniture looked slightly dated but well maintained though changing some of the glass tables may not be a bad idea.
I did not have any food at the hotel except breakfast which was ok and was served at a lake facing room. All the staffs I came to contact with were friendly and efficient and the service was always prompt.
Overall I have no complain of any kind and if you are looking forward to stay in Lindau in a prime lake front location which is next door to the rail and boat station and you do not mind paying a price for the same then you can not go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake on the fourth floor
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#7 of 36 in Lindau
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
0.1 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#32 of 36 in Lindau
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Address: Bahnhofplatz 2, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range: £152 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 5-star Hotel Bayerischer Hof on the Isle of Lindau. Since 1854 travelers from all over the world have come to enjoy this unmatched view of Lake Constance to the Swiss and Austrian Alps. With 97 elegantly and individually furnished rooms and suites, Bayerischer Hof offers all conveniences of a modern first-class-hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing