We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bottom Line: Stay Here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bottom Line: Stay Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and wish we'd stayed another two. In Lindau, there is no better location than this hotel. The outdoor cafe with street and harbor views is incredible. Across from the rail station, it's the perfect spot for early morning coffee or drinks and snacks anytime of the day. Food excellent, staff helpful and friendly, rooms spacious and other amenities are A+. This is simply a wonderful place to stay for a Lake Constance holiday.

Room Tip: Get an air conditioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lion1854, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Bayerischer Hof, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest!

It was a delight to read your praise which is highly appreciated. We are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay, service and all the amenities. We do hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards

The hotelmanagement - Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    85
    44
    17
    8
See reviews for
55
137
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family of two adults and two young children stayed in the hotel for only one night but wished it could be more. The staff were wonderful, room with a view to die for and the breakfast/ dinner downstairs was superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lion1854, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Bayerischer Hof, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Paul!

It was a delight to read your praise which is highly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at our hotel with tripadvisor readers. We are thrilled to learn that we fulfilled our aim to anticipate your needs and that you esteemed our amenities, staff and thoughtful details. We do hope, that you have a chance to visit us again, as we would love to pamper you and your family once more!

Best regards,

The Hotelmanagement - Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile


Lindau am Bodensee, July 3rd 2014

Dear Mr. Stolze good morning!

I decided to spend one night in Lindau to relax myself during my day off. I  checked-in few minutes ago and the first impression, honestly speaking, has not been one of the best. When I arrived to the Hotel one of the receptionist (he didn't have any written name) with which I checked in, the first thing he asked me was a credit card to guarantee.........I am as in the hotel business as well and for a 5 stars hotel I would have expected a different "welcome". I made a reservation through booking.com and I reserved a double room for single use with lake view and in the comments I wrote in german language:- "Bitte, die Kreditkarte von der Firma nicht belasten oder keine Autorisierung anfragen, da Ich bar oder mit Maestro Karte zahlen will'. The first thing who the receptionist asked me when I entered to the Hotel was to pay the room in advance (as if I were a thief or a cheater) because the hotel tried to ask an authorization on the company creditcard.....Oh my God!! After that I asked where the steam room was located and the same receptionist told me that at the moment is switched off cause the warm wheater. Last but not least, I asked (by paying) for a late check-out until 15.00 and the same receptionist told me you are already fully booked. It's a little bit strange. I checked right now on booking.com and in other hotel reservation website and you have still availability.........(stop making fun of me!!!).Is this a 5 stars Hotel or what? Do your employers know what does it mean high hospitality? I don't think so..... For € 183,00 I would expected something else.

Best Regards,
Dr. Domenico Maio
Room 233

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Domenico1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lion1854, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Bayerischer Hof, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Domenico,

Thank you for taking the trouble to share your observations on tripadvisor and other hotel evaluation portals following your recent visit to our hotel.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in some areas. Particularly we are surprised to hear that you were taken aback by the “welcome” at our Front Office desk. Being a receptionist from the popular tourist destination Lech yourself, you should be aware, that a standard international procedure of any reservation department is checking the given credit card for validity/authorization before arrival, especially when the booking comes via a booking portal. Moreover, as in your case, where your private credit card was declined, the next step to guarantee the stay with its occurring costs, is asking for a down payment at check-in.

Thus, despite being fully booked during an annual convention, our Front Office team did grant you a late check-out without any further costs. Again, as a receptionist you should know that booking portals sometimes still have remaining rooms in their agreed contingent, which the hotel cannot access until these are cancelled.

However, we regret to learn that there was a misunderstanding about our sauna and steam room. Although it is a fact, that during the warm summer season our sauna is only switched on in the afternoon, you can definitely use these facilities earlier on request.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you, and be assured, that it is always our genuine commitment to provide the highest level of service to our guests.

Best regards

The Hotelmanagement - Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flobecq, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel sits on the side of the harbor of lindau. We had a nice terrace with view on the harbor and the lake.
The room was very good, excellent beds.
It is in the traditional style and has a bit of an outdated atmosphere, but it fits in the setting of this little town.
The spa is very good, clean, spacious and quiet.
Breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ofabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lion1854, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Bayerischer Hof, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast!

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Es freut uns, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohlgefühlt und sowohl Zimmer, Frühstück als auch Aussicht genossen haben.
Wir freuen uns schon sehr, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus Lindau

Ihre Hoteldirektion - Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a 'superior' room on the first floor which had a balcony overlooking the harbour. That, in itself, made the stay very enjoyable. The weather was very good so to sit on the balcony amidst the hustle and bustle but apart from it was excellent. The breakfast buffet was very comprehensive and it seemed that anything that was not immediately available would be acquired and served very quickly.

Our only criticism is that the a la carte menu was only available on request with the table d'hote menu being the only one available in public areas. As a result we did not eat in the restaurant and perhaps missed out on an otherwise excellent stay.

Room Tip: Superior room on the front with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lion1854, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Bayerischer Hof, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest!

It was a pleasure reading your kind comments on the occasion of your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our location, the amenities and our high service standards. We are sorry to learn that there was a slight misunderstanding about the a la carte menu and we do hope that we can welcome you back again soon to pamper you in our restaurant(s) as well!

Best regards

The Hotelmanagement - Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Bayerischer Hof the first week of March this year on a business trip. This was my first ever visit to this part of Germany, it was stunningly beautiful. I look forward to a return to Lake Constance someday. It is too bad the weather wasn't better so we could see the Alps and surrounding country better.

The location of the hotel was excellent being as it fronts the little harbor in the old part of the city. Very convenient for walking around or going to restaurants on foot. Parking was just around the corner in an underground garage and was simple enough.

The hotel is certainly of a classic style and era and they clearly work hard to maintain this. It makes for a unique experience compared to your typical hotel, especially for business travel.

The breakfast was of a very high quality with good variety. I would love to eat breakfast like this everyday!

I had no problems as an English speaker operating here and would gladly recommend this hotel to other first time visitors to Monday.

I look forward to my next trip and plan on staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lion1854, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Bayerischer Hof, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jon,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for sharing such fantastic comments! Your praise is well received. It is a pleasure to satisfy or even succeed the expectations of our valued guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future. Thank you for being such a wonderful and supportive "fan"!

Best regards,

The Hotelmanagement - Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel room was very nice according to our expectation. We booked a junior suite with lake view for 4 persons incl. a child. The room was clean and spacious, bath room with many towels and sufficient supplements. The WiFi in the room was excellent and appreciated by our teenage son. The view was excellent. The check-in procedure was efficient. We used the wellness facility in the hotel, which was good but very crowded, due to the extremely cold weather that day, when it was in the middle of the Easter holiday.
The breakfast, which was included in our room price, was excellent with fresh bread, fruits, cheese and many other nice foods. In particular, the service from the waitress, Karin?, was excellent. She was efficient, very friendly and service minded. It was such a contrast to our poor experience in the same restaurant the evening before.
We booked half-pension. After we settled us at the table with our name, we waited 15-20 minutes without anyone in the restaurant paying attention to us, despite the fact that there were at least 5 service staff in the restaurant. We called the head waiter and asked for a children´s menu and someone to take our order, nothing happened in a long time. Suddenly we were asked by another person if we had the reservation! After explaining to her that we indeed had the reservation and we were sitting at the table with our name, we were able to give our order of the drink and given a Children´s menu. To end this good story, we have to wait another 20 minutes before we were able to order our food and notify a third service person, who took our order for the drinks that she forgot our wine. The soup and the main dish were poorly cooked.
My rating of 4 was based on the hotel, not influenced by our poor experience with the dinner there.

Room Tip: room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lion1854, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Bayerischer Hof, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you for having taken the time to post your observations on the occasion of your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you were impressed by most of the aspects of your stay, in particular the warm hospitality displayed by our frontoffice-team and Karin! However we are sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations with your dinner experience. This is certainly not our standard and we would like to apologize for any shortcomings, as our goal is to provide you with an overall excellent experience throughout your stay.
Once again, we want to thank you for our honest comments, and we hope that this incident has not tarnished your image of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof and we do look forward welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards

The Hotelmanagement - Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.3 mi away
Boutique - Hotel Adara
Boutique - Hotel Adara
#2 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#3 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#9 of 36 in Lindau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindauer Hof
Lindauer Hof
#26 of 36 in Lindau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
0.0 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#18 of 36 in Lindau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Property: Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Address: Bahnhofplatz 2 (Seepromenade), 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 5-star Hotel Bayerischer Hof on the Isle of Lindau. Since 1854 travelers from all over the world have come to enjoy this unmatched view of Lake Constance to the Swiss and Austrian Alps. With 97 elegantly and individually furnished rooms and suites, Bayerischer Hof offers all conveniences of a modern first-class-hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing