We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Anker(Lindau)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$469
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Medusa Hotel(Lindau)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$513
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
199
112
58
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
112
58
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake constancetrain stationdining roomsbed was exceptionally comfortablehot summer daynice pool areaan early dinnerlake viewold schoolperfect locationnice hotelair conditioningluxury hotelnice breakfast buffetwater frontfine viewopera tickets
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Absolutely wonderful, great staff very friendly and a wonderful scenery for everyone, great location for drinking and eating in the heart of a beautiful city. Very impressed with all of the staff especially front desk

Room Tip: Open rooms great views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

I selected Hotel Bayerische Hof to celebrate our 2-year anniversary. I must admit that we landed here primarily because Hotel Helvetia was booked. However, we were not disappointed with our stay. Albeit a bit pricey, we opted for a Suite w/ unrestricted lake view. Suite #134 had a large living area, extra large semi-private balcony, 1.5 bathrooms, two mini bars, separate bath and shower, separate coat closet, comfortable king-sized bed, dual desks, and complimentary Wi-Fi for up to three devices. The only drawback was that the bedroom wall is paper thin and apparently the bed in suite #134 shares the bedroom wall with the adjacent wall. This would not be a good room if you have children, unless you would like to explain the sounds that our neighbors were making last night to them.... The heritage furniture exceeded my expectations of comfort. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Sheets, pillows, comforter, and turndown service were excellent! The ample wardrobe included a digital safe for valuables.

Hotel Restaurant (pricey) - Nice ambiance! Our reservations were listed and we were immediately seated upon arrival at a table w/ lake view as promised. We had the same table for dinner all four nights. Restaurant offered an English menu. The cream of garlic w/ asparagus soup was unbelievable. The aroma immediately put my salivary glands into overdrive and the first spoonful definitely lived up to the billing! I really wanted to take the bowl in my hands and slurp it down!! The slices of asparagus were simply the best asparagus I have ever tasted. One delicious entree during our stay was the Tagliatelle. The portion was more than ample, pasta was cooked perfectly as was the wild red shrimp. My spouse opted for the lamb medallions, which was also cooked perfectly and gave me a new appreciation for lamb. Dessert was another delight, the creme brûlée w/a scoop of mango sorbet was outstanding. The burnt sugar on to was thick and crunchy; the custard was smooth, silky, and not too sweet.The first night I found the waiter a bit "abrupt" for the price tag attached to the experience. However, Georg was professional and very competent, but he seemed rushed and rather impatient. His table-side manner improved during the course of the evening. He visibly showed his frustration when HE mistakenly put in an order to the chef for a dessert that I did not request, but he apologized when he returned to the table and we would welcome the opportunity to have Georg as our waiter in the future. The remaining evenings we had a different person of the wait-staff team and she was professional, extremely competent, and personable from the outset! Breakfast buffet hours were great, 0700 - 1030, nice variety of foods and beverages. The Salmon was very fresh and lemons were available on the buffet. The cappuccinos and latte macchiatos were delicious; the tea offerings were plentiful and hot!

The spa left a lot to be desired. The spa technician was competent, but the facilities were lacking. (Especially for the price of the services and the stay at this hotel). We later realize why this hotel had spa openings on such short notice, all of the other clients visiting Lindau patronized the Hotel Helvetia Spa! Additionally, the Sauna, nicely appointed, but had strange hours, 1600 - 2100. However, you could request at the front desk open the sauna at your convenience. The other reason that this was odd was because I only learn of this privilege via a hotel worker. If you stay here, you definitely want to take advantage of using the sauna because all guests are charged 10 Euro per day for the sauna. I found this very interesting and did not see this information on the website before making our reservation. the indoor pool was very nice and clean.

This stay was very nice, but we would select one of the less expensive hotels with a superior spa the next time that we're in Lindau.

Room Tip: Lake view is best. If you have children remember the shared walls are very thin.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We were on a last minute, unplanned, off season visit to Lindau and my wife had this place on the list. Went in and you know that this is a classy place - nice chairs in the lobby, very welcoming and professional staff to help you. Got a nice deal on a lakeview room with a patio (unusable in February but still nice). The hotel has a nice old-style intimate bar, a swimming pool, a gym, and a sauna/spa. The sauna area is a real spa area, not just a steam room. There are steam and dry heat rooms, rest rooms, quiet rooms, etc. Don't be surprised if everyone else is naked though, as this is a traditional spa - didn't see any other swimwear so I ditched mine too. Nice restaurant and also a great breakfast in the morning. Very extensive selection. The location couldn't be better either, right on the promenade and the city is made for walking. Really a special place. Can't recommend highly enough. This is not some old unimproved creaky floor hotel - this is a modern hotel in a classic location.

Room Tip: Request lake view room
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the beginning of March, on arrival the hotel is very impressive. Room was an excellent size, although I was put off with all the gold everywhere. Room was not overly well equipped, no kettle or coffee making facilities, again quite annoying when there is no bar or cafe in to he hotel and the restaurant does not open until 7pm.
Small moan, but the hotel is lovely and in a very special location

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Like in September we decided to pass through Lindau and stay a night to rest for our travels. Hotel Seegarten (where we stayed in Sep) was closed for the winter, the hotel chain offered us to stay in their other neighbouring hotel Bayer Hof.

Pro:
- Breakfast at portside with a rising sun (amazing view).
- Friendly staff (multi language)
- Multi level pool and spa center (indoor for winter)
- Indoor car garage across of the hotel
- Clean rooms and quiet atmosphere

Con:
- 5mb download limit on Internet - very frustrating if you want to watch some YouTube in the evening. Videos start buffering every 5 mins. Which is annoying after the third time switching the connection on/off to continue. If we had stayed longer, this would have costed them a star.
- No sparkling water available in the room... We only noticed this when dressed for bed. So it was annoying as we don't drink water on gas... Again, if we would have stayed long, we would have given the front desk a comment about this.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews