We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel with perfekt location when exploring Lake Constance (Bodensee).”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Bayrischer Hof Lindau is located by the waterfront on the beautiful island of Lindau which is a great base for exploring the area around Lake Constance (Bodensee).

We stayed there for 3 nights in a room with view over the garden (pool area) and the promenade. You could see Lake Constance from the balcony.

Room was very clean and spacious. Interior was a little bit dated but elegant. The room had a separate hall with three closets. The room had a minibar, internet connection and a flat screen tv. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was nice.

The breakfast at the hotel was excellent, had a large variety and a very courteous staff.
Breakfast room was very elegant and with views facing the lake.

The hotel had a outside pool (not heated) which is great in summer.
Adjacent to the hotel lies the Hotel Seegarten and the Hotel Reutemann. They are located in the buildings just next door from the Hotel Bayrischer Hof Lindau and shares the garden/pool area.

Not every room in the hotel has air-conditioning so be sure to ask for a room with air-conditioning in the summer.

The lobby and other public areas was elegant. Reception staff was courteous.

The hotel had it´s own parking just behind the hotel. You could choose either to park in the garage or outdoor. Very convenient.

The hotel has one or more restaurants but we never tried them out.

The location of the hotel is great with shopping and restaruants just around the corner.
Just in front of the hotel you could find ferry connections to all the popular towns/places around Lake Constance.

I think island of Lindau is one of the best places to stay when exploring the area aorund Lake Constance. If I ever go back I would definitley stay there again at the Bayrischer Hof Lindau or at the adjacent Hotel Seegarten or Hotel Reutemann.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geooagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

Hotel Bayerishcher Hof certainly deserves to be rated Number One in Lindau.

We chose Lindau-im-Bodensee as a two night stop on our way down to the Italian Lakes and the suite we chose which overlooked the harbour and included a balcony was excellent in every aspect.

The service was excellent and the cleanliness was of the highest order.

I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel for a longer stay in this charming town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExecD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Yesterday we returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Bayerischer Hof in Lindau. I have stayed at some lovely (highly rated) hotels in the UK and across Europe. It does not compare to any hotel that I have stayed in before. The service was friendly and everyone was very helpful and although it was outstanding service from housekeeping and reception through to waiting staff there was no arrogance to the service. Yet your every need and request was met. Our junior suite was very large and looked straight out onto the harbour. It was a beautiful room and spotlessly clean. Our bedlinen was changed everyday and it was a pleasure to relax in the room. The hotel is furbished beautifully and although the hotel has been family run for the past 140 years it is decorated in a modern but sympathetic manner. The food was absolutely delicious. Everything was incredibly fresh and cooked to perfection. We had not intended to eat in every night, but couldn't have found better anywhere else! The choice at breakfast was excellent and waiting staff constantly replinished the buffet. This was the best hotel break I have had and I certainly hope to go back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifestooshortnottoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We loved the Bayerisher Hof. Booked a jnr suite for 5 nights for a splurge and were not disappointed. Huge room was spotlessly presented with great amenities and a to die for view over the harbour and lake. Extended and spent a 6th night in a smaller lake view view which was equally well presented & comfortable.

Service was friendly and sophisticated and everything just happened with no fuss. Breakfast selection was fresh and extensive, view from the breakfast room was gorgeous, meals from the hotel corner cafe were good, drinks were generous and parking was 1 minute away.

The hotel is not cheap, it is not Asian 5 star glitz but it is elegant without being pretentious and we found it and Lindau Insel to be a thoroughly delightful experience and a terrific base for exploring the region by bike and car.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

This hotel is in a prime location on the seafront. Our room was a little on the dated side, but large and comfortable. It was air conditioned since we requested it at booking. The bathroom was average. The breakfast buffet was pretty good with incredible views from the restaurant onto the lake. The internet was outrageously expensive, so we didn't use it. I am not sure it deserves a 5 star rating, but it is a decent hotel. It is the most expensive hotel on the island and could use some updating to justify the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Blondii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

- It took 2 days until we received the confirmation of our reservation
- Very expensive
- We didn't have AC in the room
- Floors smelled bad, room smelled like airfreshener
- Breakfast was included but not very good. Big variety of things but some looked like they have been from the last day and that disgusted me a little.
- Staff was okay but not too friendly, you expect more in a 5! star hotel.
- No ice machines, if you ask for ice they are unfriendly and just bring a little bit and of course want tip for that.
- Food in restaurant wasn't good, very expensive, small portions and it was cold when they brought it to us. When we complained they weren't too friendly. We got an Espresso for free which didn't help heating up our supper.
- Certainly not a 5 star hotel, we had better 2-3 star hotels.

Don't go there, it is not comparable to the Bayerische Hof Munich!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sabrina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

We stayed at the Bayerischer Hof for four nights in junior suite 129. The room was very nice with a great view of the harbor. There were minor dawbacks (dirty windows, dirty upholstery, poor concierage assistance, inappropriate lingerie exhibit in hall, restaurant food only fair, etc.) and the hotel definitely should be rated at four stars, at best, not five. A major problem occured while we were checking out. My expensive binocular was stolen from an unlocked bag in the short time between when we left our room and when the porter brought the bags down to the lobby. We did not discover the loss until mid-day and thus were unable to do anything. Phone calls back to the hotel yielded nothing, as expected. A letter written after our return home, informing management of the theft by one of their employees, resulted (after an entire month) in a form letter thanking me for my "most generous remarks about the service and comfort at our hotel".

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1 of 36 in Lindau
370 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adara Boutique  Hotel
Adara Boutique Hotel
#3 of 36 in Lindau
140 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Star Hotel Lindau
0.1 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Address: Bahnhofplatz 2, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range: £148 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 5-star Hotel Bayerischer Hof on the Isle of Lindau. Since 1854 travelers from all over the world have come to enjoy this unmatched view of Lake Constance to the Swiss and Austrian Alps. With 97 elegantly and individually furnished rooms and suites, Bayerischer Hof offers all conveniences of a modern first-class-hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing