We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, nice pool and terrace - but poor rooms”
Review of Hotel Bad Schachen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bad Schachen
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The location makes this hotel truly unique. It situated in beautiful park with many old trees directly on the lakeshore, with a view of the entire Lindau peninsula. You can also enjoy this from a nice large terrace and from the pool/beach. The pool/beach is a separate property, nicely renovated, with its own bar/café. It can also be accessed by non-hotel guests for a small fee. The restaurant of the hotel is good, but service tends to be a bit sluggish and the food is presented nicely but not really exciting. But the worst part are clearly the rooms. My first room had a very old carpet with some mould in the corner ... I was readily given a different room, which was indeed renovated, but now facing the parking lot. The bed in both rooms was very small (6ft by 3ft - I'm 6ft 5') - that's why I slept very little.

Room Tip: insist on a renovated room - and don't be tall ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swiss_global_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

It was our second stay at the Hotel Bad Schachen. We like the great location directly at the bodensee lake surrounded by a park. Every year, there's some renovation. But the hotel is still old fashioned and the focus is on elderly people. The spa is an exception, modern and of good quality. Staff is friendly. Our disappointment was the price value. As a sample, we paid EUR 48.00 per person for buffet dinner. This was definetely overpriced considering of the food quality and the varieties. Overall, we didn't feel they pamper also younger guests. If you are 55+ and easy with expenses, Hotel Bad Schachen is the right hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights as we had tickets for the opera on the lake in Bregenz. First night, there was a delightful barbecue out in the lakeside garden, perfect for a warm summer evening. It rained the next day but there was a ship to Bregenz that picked us up from the hotel landing stage and delivered us to the opera landing stage in Bregenz. The evening was very well planned by the hotel: there was an early evening Festival dinner, a sparkling wine welcome drink on the ship and then Kartoffelsuppe and wine for our late night snack when we returned to the hotel!
Bad Schachen may be a bit sedate for some but perfect in its serenity for others. Staff were unfailingly helpful and efficient in a wonderful setting so you really can experience gracious lakeside living. Lindau is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywhite33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We celebrated our wedding in this amazing place... We cannot imagine a more beautiful, sophisticated, peaceful setting for one of the most important days of our lives! It is not just the grandeur and old world charm of the rooms, the wonderful views, or the perfect weather... It is the charm and commitment to quality service, the attention to detail, the excellent food, and the kindness of all hotel staff. We truly felt at home.
The hotel staff is extraordinary. Everybody made it so easy to plan the event, the accommodations for all family members and guests, and they helped us with all details (like finding the right car to take us to the church, selecting the flowers, printing the programs for the ceremony, arranging for babysitters, organizing activities for the guests, making hair appointments etc).
It seemed all the staff knew it was our wedding and did everything in their power to make it perfect and stress-free.
The execution was flawless: everything was perfect. We had two receptions and a dinner banquet - the food was excellent, the service first class, and needless to say, the setting was magnificent (both outdoors by the lake and indoors).
Our guests loved every aspect of it, and most of us staid for a few days. The delicious breakfast, having lunch on the terrace, the outdoor pool, listening to the pianist in the evening and a peaceful afternoon at the spa were big favourites.
It’s an experience. We would recommend this hotel to everybody, not just for a celebration like ours, but for a perfect vacation or a fun weekend away from it all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecarrillo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

It looked good in the ad, but when you arrive at a 5***** hotel in over 30 grades celcius you really expect air condition.
It was however possible to use outdoor window covers but this we had to find out by ourselves.
The location is great (near the beautiful town of Lindau) and the hotel restaurant is excellent. The staff in restaurant are very friendly and helpful as well.
The breakfast buffet is really worthy a 5 star hotel, with excellent selections.

Unfortuneately, the ads don't tells you that most of its guest have stiff upper lips and seems to be from another time area, It's no international feel about it, since all guest seems to be locals (i.e. germans).
If you love being in a silent hotel where most of the guest is over 50, this is the hotel for you. If not, leave it to the german aristocracy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Locationwise this hotel is in a great area right infront of the lake Constance.
But servicewise the staffs are slow, unfriendly or inexperienced whether in the restaurant or reception..
You would hardly see anyone working here having a smile on their face, except 2 ladies at the reception.
I travel a lot for work or leisure and stayed in a lot of top hotels around the globe and on top I studied tourism management which help me to judge the place I stayed in.

Very much dissapointed with the following

1. my room, tiny like for dwarf without any AC when it is 36 degrees in summer

2. The shower, here they seem to use really cheap materials. Shower hose is so cheap made in plastic and when taking a shower in the quite small shower cabin, you cant avoid your body or long hair from touching it.

3. While taking a shower water is running hot and cold instant of a constant temperature.Complained 3 times and was finally told on Friday although I mentioned it 2 days beforehand, that it can only be repaired on Monday, but I am leaving on that day.
So the solution suggested by the reception was to go and take my shower in the spa area. How great is that. Was also told that only 2 rooms have this problems, 106 and 206 but when talking to some people, someone told me that he is in 407 and got the same problem too.

4. Room is facing the front side and could hear early mornings around 7 am the delivery lorries.

No way I am coming back to this place next time and would definitely not rate this hotel 4 stars superior.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lalibelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

superb location on the shores of lake Constance with view of the Austrian Alps. The hotel shows its age but has been kept up well. Brand new wellness and lovely, old-fashioned outdoor pool. Very formal atmosphere during dinner time, Germans love their ties.... Friendly staff, very attentive. Food was fine, not truly innovative but decent quality-price.
If you like a bit of old-fashiodness in a splendid setting, it's a go.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlybrown65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 36 in Lindau
377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
1.2 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Star Hotel Lindau
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lindauer Hof
Hotel Lindauer Hof
#19 of 36 in Lindau
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bad Schachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bad Schachen

Address: Bad Schachen 1, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lindau
Price Range: £187 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bad Schachen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1752 and still owned and managed by the same family, the beautiful Hotel Bad Schachen was painstakingly rebuilt in 1906, faithfully embracing the Belle Epoque style. The hotel is idyllically situated in its own park, which leads directly to the shores of Lake Constance. Stunning views across the lake to the medieval island town of Lindau are afforded. An attractive outdoor pool on the lakefront and the new spa are the perfect places for recreation and wellbeeing. Indeed, the entire region's exceptional beauty and supreme tranquility make this a uniquely charming Bavarian summer retreat.125 guestrooms including 4 suites, in elegant and comfortable surroundings, mostly with balconies, thoughtful touches throughout, and every modern convenience. Most rooms face the lake, with glorious views across the water to the Swiss and Austrian Alps beyond.Spa and wellness center with beauty treatments, massage, fitness gym, saunas and steambath. 1920s-style outdoor pool, 2 clay tennis courts, a host of water sports on the lake (boat rentals, sailing and windsurfing), 2 beautiful nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bad Schachen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Schachen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing